We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Irenke F

Great place to unwind with everything you need

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Aug 2023
Great adults only resort in a great location not far from Avarua. Not overly crowded. I had a prime poolside room close to everything, including the restaurant and the private beach. The room was large, including the bathroom, couldn't fault anything. Tropical buffet breakfast included with a range of items. Restaurant had a variety of cuisines. Amazing cocktails. Highly recommend this place.
Date of stay: July 2023
Room Tip: Everything was perfect for me. Service exceptional.
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guests Sevices, Guest Services / Front Office at Club Raro Resort - Adults Only, responded to this review
Responded 7 Dec 2023
Kia Orana

Thank you for choosing to stay with Club Raro. We appreciate this awesome feedback, will share this with the wider team.

Knowing your stay was relaxing and the atmosphere, staff & facilities had a positive contribution to your vacation is fantastic!

We strive to create and make all our guest feel the Caring & Loving Spirit of the Cook Islands. Hoping everyone who crosses our path will have the most authentic and memorable stay!

Thank you for recommending Club Raro. We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kia Manuia

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
$288
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $288
  • Vio.com
    $269
  • ZenHotels.com
    $289
4.3 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
Pool
Villa 4 2 bedroom luxury Villa
Trip.com
$347
  • Agoda.com
    $282
  • ZenHotels.com
    $288
  • StayForLong
3.8 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$164
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $164
  • eDreams
    $164
  • Vio.com
    $164
2.2 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
View with ocean to my back
Booking.com
$134
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    $134
  • eDreams
    $134
  • Agoda.com
    $134
0.3 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
Pool
The beach behind the guesthose
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
6.5 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
7.5 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
Pool
view from deck
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
5.4 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
$284
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $284
  • Vio.com
    $243
  • Hotels.com
    $253
0.0 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$323
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $359
  • Vio.com
    $276
  • Hotels.com
    $287
7.9 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
$550
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $518
  • Agoda.com
    $408
  • Booking.com
    $512
8.0 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Avarua
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
108
147
90
42
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
108
147
90
42
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar pool area basic facilities star resort kia orana great cocktails thoroughly enjoyed our stay close to town poolside room cleaned every day cooked breakfast tropical breakfast happy hour tropical island great beach relaxed atmosphere staff were friendly and helpful
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2023

Amazing resort, amazing staff and amazing food and cocktails. Club Raro welcomed us with open arms, the staff were super friendly and the chefs were incredible.
Out time at this resort was the best of all trips to Raro

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Quest67353331867
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guests Sevices, Guest Services / Front Office at Club Raro Resort - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2023

Kia Orana

Thank you for choosing to stay with Club Raro. We appreciate this awesome feedback, will share this with the wider team.

Knowing your stay was relaxing and the atmosphere, staff & facilities had a positive contribution to your vacation is fantastic!

We strive to create and make all our guest feel the Caring & Loving Spirit of the Cook Islands. Hoping everyone who crosses our path will have the most authentic and memorable stay!

Thank you for recommending Club Raro. We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kia Manuia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2023 via mobile

We stayed at Club Raro for the first 3 nights of our holiday, the staff left such an impact on us that we came back to spend the last night of our 2 week holiday there as we had confirmed accomodation elsewhere (we were resort hopping)

We stayed in one of the pool view rooms and it was fantastic. The room was very clean, aircon was great, the free breakfast was an assortment of fruits, pastries and cereal which I loved because it wasn’t too heavy and more than enough to kickstart your day. I had dinner at the restaurant and the food was fantastic. However, the real stars on the show were the staff.
I can’t praise and thank the staff enough for their hospitality, kindness and simply just existing. I had read great reviews about the Club Raro team prior to booking but to experience it was another thing. Donna and Emori at the pool bar, Charles at reception Nane at the restaurant and everyone else we had the pleasure of meeting, thank you!!
I watched Donna address every guest by name with the biggest welcoming smile I’d ever seen including myself. Emori I watched assisting guests with the reef shoes and even running to the back of the bar to grab binoculars so a guest could sit under the hut and whale watch at happy hours (yes happy hourS is 2hours every day). I also loved the fact that the resort was adults only.

Your team is your biggest asset. Meitaki ma’ata for making our trip home an unforgettable one.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank elizabeth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynn Pokura, General Manager at Club Raro Resort - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2023

Kia Orana elizabeth m
Thank you for your review. We will be sure to advise our staff of your great feedback and our staff are our greatest asset, and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us from the food and the swim up pool to the location of the resort and we look forward to welcoming you back to our shores in the very near future.
Meitaki Maata
The Club Raro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2023

As resorts go in Rarotonga, Club Raro is better than average in terms of accommodation and facilities but could not be categorised as "luxury", mainly due to the absence of a good swimming beach. There is no sand, or if there is, it is under a thick layer of broken coral debris which if you walk on with bare feet will cut your feet severely. It is so bad that the resort provides a bin of reef shoes of various sizes for guests to wear as soon as you step on the beach. Compensating for the poor beach, the resort has a wide concrete promenade fronting the beach with many sunlounges and tables and chairs as well as shaded areas under palm trees. It is a nice environment on a sunny calm day but when the prevailing SE wind blows, the resort, which is on the northern side of the island, is not as sheltered from the wind as are resorts on the western side of the island. Their swimming pool (with island bar) is well maintained and sheltered from the wind. It is relatively small for a resort this size though and any more than 6 guests swimming it is crowded.
Generally, service was good but you have to be prepared to be let down: our airport transfer included in our room rate out of the resort was a no-show and we had to pay for a taxi ourselves to rectify the situation. It pays in the Cook Islands to double-check any arrangements just before they are due to ensure they actually occur as scheduled.

Room tip: Beachfront rooms have a good view of the water but lack privacy from the promenade they front between the room and the beach.
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank aussiewanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guests Sevices, Guest Services / Front Office at Club Raro Resort - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2023

Kia Orana

Thank you for choosing to stay with Club Raro. We appreciate this awesome feedback, will share this with the wider team.

Knowing your stay was relaxing and the atmosphere, staff & facilities had a positive contribution to your vacation is fantastic!

We strive to create and make all our guest feel the Caring & Loving Spirit of the Cook Islands. Hoping everyone who crosses our path will have the most authentic and memorable stay!

Thank you for recommending Club Raro. We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kia Manuia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2023

Beautiful resort all staff helpful and big smiles , rooms very clean comfortable beds food very tasty as I am a chef so I no good food ! , cocktails happy hour 4 to 6 half price very delicious 😋, I travelled all around Europe and I must say you are my winner Club Raro, beautiful resort,I recommend club Raro 💯, bus stop across the road, food and gas station walking distance not far at all , very happy hoildayer 🌺thank you , Janette Stefan 🌺

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank janettes937
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guests Sevices, Guest Services / Front Office at Club Raro Resort - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2023

Kia Orana

Thank you for choosing to stay with Club Raro. We appreciate this awesome feedback, will share this with the wider team.

Knowing your stay was relaxing and the atmosphere, staff & facilities had a positive contribution to your vacation is fantastic!

We strive to create and make all our guest feel the Caring & Loving Spirit of the Cook Islands. Hoping everyone who crosses our path will have the most authentic and memorable stay!

Thank you for recommending Club Raro. We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kia Manuia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2023 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We were in a beach view room- comfortable bed, quality linen, spacious shower and a secure safe. 10/10

The staff. 15/10! So friendly, kind, funny and really go above and beyond for their guests. As a coeliac who requires a gluten free diet I was treated with discretion and always served up a quality gluten free dish.

Facilities. 9/10. Beautiful pool, bar, restaurant and reef at the doorstep. Everything you need is onsite, snorkelling etc. Only issue is with the tv- will come to it.

Caveats about staying here.

Isolation- if you don’t have a car/scooter you will be reliant on the bus or taxi. A taxi to Muri beach will cost you $35 each way. Knowing the bus timetable will help avoiding unnecessary taxi trips. Everything you need is on site anyway!

TV- in our room we had a beautiful widescreen smart tv. But these cannot connect to the internet the resort provides! I’m sure this will be amended in time but if you are exhausted and only want room service and to watch a movie in bed, bring your laptop.

All in all, amazing place, amazing people. We saw whales one of our days having a cocktail at 4pm….what more can a person want?!

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Deaglan_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guests Sevices, Guest Services / Front Office at Club Raro Resort - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2023

Kia Orana

Thank you for choosing to stay with Club Raro. We appreciate this awesome feedback, will share this with the wider team.

Knowing your stay was relaxing and the atmosphere, staff & facilities had a positive contribution to your vacation is fantastic!

We strive to create and make all our guest feel the Caring & Loving Spirit of the Cook Islands. Hoping everyone who crosses our path will have the most authentic and memorable stay!

Thank you for recommending Club Raro. We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kia Manuia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews