We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lyn C

Yeah...nah

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 May 2023
This hotel was recommended by a friend,as she had stayed at Club Raro on a previous occasion. So we booked Club Raro along with 7 others, so we could all stay together.

At 'booking in' we found that my husband had booked the wrong type room. We usually book a seaview room and he had booked a room that was immediately adjacent to reception. This was totally unacceptable, and a change was made to a poolside room ( no seaview rooms available) So a big thank you to the receptionist who made that possible

Our room was large, had a massive king size bed and a very good air conditioner. The bathroom was below average. The shower head was semi attached to the pipe, the mixer was super sensitive to any demand on water so went hot and cold. The soap, shampoo and conditioner ran out and was not replaced as required. The toilet was not clean ed every day.

The refrigerator froze our water. The TV has only one channel. There is a ceiling gan.

The serving staff in the restaurant were excellent. Special mention to Sue, Donna and the Food and Beverage Mgr. We ate a lot of meals in the restaurant at the hotel and we were never disappointed. The meals were very reasonably priced. The drinks were priced ok.

We enjoyed the pool area but found that there were casual customers allowed to use the pool as long as they purchased food and bev. That is not what the sign says by the pool.. The pool is also a small one and not conducive to the volume of the hotel guests. The pool music was excellent.

The biggest disappointment was when we went to check out. We asked for a late check out but were denied it. I have never been denied it before. The receptionist who was exceptionally rude just said no. We asked could we just have 10 more minutes and she said no. We offered to pay extra and were still denied.

We think that there was an incoming flight at 11.30am but when we went to leave the hotel the cleaning cart was at least 6 rooms away from our room. I think this is not a place I would stay again even though we made the most of what we were presented with.

Your reception is the face of your hotel. I think you should consider having only the best staff in this role and you were let down on this occassion. Kia Orana!!
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guests Sevices, Guest Services / Front Office at Club Raro Resort - Adults Only, responded to this review
Responded 7 Dec 2023
Kia Orana

Thank you for choosing to stay with Club Raro. We appreciate this awesome feedback, will share this with the wider team.

Knowing your stay was relaxing and the atmosphere, staff & facilities had a positive contribution to your vacation is fantastic!

We strive to create and make all our guest feel the Caring & Loving Spirit of the Cook Islands. Hoping everyone who crosses our path will have the most authentic and memorable stay!

Thank you for recommending Club Raro. We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kia Manuia


This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Villa 4 2 bedroom luxury Villa
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
3.8 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
4.3 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
Pool
The beach behind the guesthose
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
6.5 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
view from deck
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
5.4 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
Beachfront
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
7.1 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
2.2 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
7.5 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
Pool
View with ocean to my back
$159
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $159
  • Vio.com
    $159
  • Agoda.com
0.3 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
Pool
$256
  • Expedia.com
    $284
  • Vio.com
    $224
  • Priceline
    $307
0.0 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
Pool
Studio Apartment view
$252
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $252
  • Vio.com
6.9 km from Club Raro Resort - Adults Only
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Avarua
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveller rating
110
147
91
42
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
110
147
91
42
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar pool area basic facilities star resort kia orana great cocktails thoroughly enjoyed our stay close to town poolside room cleaned every day cooked breakfast tropical breakfast happy hour tropical island great beach relaxed atmosphere staff were friendly and helpful
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 422 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2023 via mobile

Kia Orana,

Club Rarotonga exceeded our expectations by far. My husband and I visited Raro for the first time to celebrate our 30th Wedding anniversary. Trish and her staff went over and above to make our stay and special celebration even more memorable. When we returned from our day out our bed was decorated so beautifully wishing us for our anniversary, even the toilet paper had a beautiful handmade flower decoration. They made it even more special by setting up a table for a special romantic dinner for us at the beachfront away from everyone. The view from there was spectacular. They even dedicated one of their staff members to serve us on the night. He did an amazing job and it felt like it was only us on the island. Not to forget about the torches- unfortunately the wind had a way of it's own with them lol.
We have been on a few holidays at different destinations and never felt so connected to staff and the fellow holiday visitors. We have formed special bonds with our newly found friends and already making plans for a reunion in 2 years to visit the amazing Club Rarotonga again.
Thank you again to Tish and all the wonderful staff.
Meitaki
Allan and Helena

Room tip: Grab a scooter to see Rarotonga
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank allann4388
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Club Raro Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Club Raro Resort - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2023

Kia Orana Allann4388
Thank you for your review. We are happy to know your enjoyed your stay with us and Happy 30th Wedding Anniversary to you both. We will be sure to advise our staff of your great feed back and we look forward to welcoming you back to our shores in 2 years time.
Meitaki Maata
The Club Raro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2023 via mobile

Absolutely amazing staff, area was great! Stunning views, clean rooms and helpful staff. Good breakfast , good cocktails in or by the pool. Lucy and Donna (staff members) are the best. Very comfortable spot to stay. Cool space with and away from other guests.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Monique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Club Raro Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Club Raro Resort - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2023

Kia Orana Monique
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us from your room to the views, food and our staff. We will be sure to advise our staff of your great feedback and we hope to welcome you back to our shores in the very near future.
Meitaki Maata
The Club Raro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2023

I would highly recommend the Club Rora Resort to anyone wanting a little bit of paradise . We stayed for a week at the end of December and loved everything about it. The cocktails were the best and on my husbands birthday they named the l cocktail of the day after him Eric's Love..The staff couldn't do enough for us the whole week we were there and made a point of making a fuss of Eric all week. The breakfast was excellent plenty to choose from.The view from our room was just great. Deon on reception was exceptional giving us our own little welcome meeting explaining where to go to see the best shows and where to eat out. We spent a lot of time at the swim up bar talking to other guests and drinking the cocktails. Lovely relaxing holiday, thank you Club Rora Resort

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charlotte123372
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 25 January 2023

Kia Orana

Thank you for choosing to stay with Club Raro. We appreciate this awesome feedback, will share this with the wider team.

Knowing your stay was relaxing and the atmosphere, staff & facilities had a positive contribution to your vacation is fantastic!

We strive to create and make all our guest feel the Caring & Loving Spirit of the Cook Islands. Hoping everyone who crosses our path will have the most authentic and memorable stay!

Thank you for recommending Club Raro. We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kia Manuia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2022

Club Raro offers comfortable accommodation with everything you would need. Add to this the friendly and helpful staff. The amenities and pool area offer great ambience with two happy hours! The meals are tasty and you get to start the day with a satisfying breakfast. The resort is in a central location and easy walking to town. We would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 25 January 2023

Kia Orana

Thank you for choosing to stay with Club Raro. We appreciate this awesome feedback, will share this with the wider team. Knowing your stay was relaxing and the atmosphere, staff & facilities had a positive contribution to your vacation is fantastic!

We strive to create and make all our guest feel the Caring & Loving Spirit of the Cook Islands. Hoping everyone who crosses our path will have the most authentic and memorable stay!

Thank you for recommending Club Raro. We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kia Manuia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2022

Cheaper resort option on a rocky beach, pretty to look at the ocean but rougher waves to swim and/or snorkel. Rooms a bit dated, very small shower space. Basic facilities, nice to have the bar by the pool. Sadly during dinner time staff must been too busy and a bit disorganized and made me pay for an extra cocktail that was already paid for. My friend was a witness and we were 100% sure was paid for. It was not even about the $18 but the atitude from staff dealing with it. If you are after a resort experience wouldn't recommend it, more like a motel with a pool.

Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marina987_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guests Sevices, Guest Services / Front Office at Club Raro Resort - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2023

Kia Orana

Thank you for choosing to stay with Club Raro. We appreciate this feedback, will share this with the wider team.

Knowing your stay was relaxing and the atmosphere, staff & facilities had a positive contribution to your vacation is fantastic!

We strive to create and make all our guest feel the Caring & Loving Spirit of the Cook Islands. Hoping everyone who crosses our path will have the most authentic and memorable stay!

Thank you for recommending Club Raro. We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kia Manuia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews