We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
Trip.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
A_Mac
Sydney, Australia

Perfection

Review of Sunset Resort
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Aug 2019via mobile
We just spent 7 days at the Sunset resort & couldn’t have been happier. We stayed in a beachfront studio - the room was modern, spacious, well maintained & sparkling clean. There were shut out window shades but we loved waking to the sun coming up / roosters / sound of the waves each day. The view was amazing.

The staff all very friendly & accomodating - even down to the great facilities to assist when you’ve got a very late flight out.

The common areas all beautifully kept & maintained. We enjoyed watching the sunsets & spotted quite a few passing whales. It’s a peaceful resort while still having a good amount of friendly chit chat with other guests without feeling like your a cast of thousands.

The light breakfast is sufficient however we made use of the yummy bakery across the road.

We wouldn’t change a thing about Sunset resort & hope to be back again soon.
Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sunset R, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review
Responded 1 Sept 2019
Kia orana

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It sounds like Sunset was the perfect fit for you. Our light breakfast is complimentary and there are cooked options available at an additional cost. I am pleased to read that you discovered and enjoyed the bakery along with may other things the Island has to offer.

We hope to see you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Sunset Resort
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $288
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
3.6 km from Sunset Resort
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
$257
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
7.6 km from Sunset Resort
Free parking
Pool
Villa 4 2 bedroom luxury Villa
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $298
  • Priceline
3.8 km from Sunset Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
view from deck
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
2.5 km from Sunset Resort
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
10.3 km from Sunset Resort
Free parking
Beachfront
Not really swimming beach but great for sunbathing
Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
6.0 km from Sunset Resort
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
$164
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $164
5.4 km from Sunset Resort
Free parking
The beach behind the guesthose
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
11.7 km from Sunset Resort
Free parking
View with ocean to my back
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $170
  • Vio.com
7.8 km from Sunset Resort
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Avarua
Reviews (816)
Filter reviews
816 results
Traveller rating
530
223
43
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
530
223
43
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews anchorage restaurant beach front kikau hut happy hour cook islands poolside room rental car main pool across the road fresh fruit continental breakfast relaxing holiday bus stop cooking facilities laid back island night hammocks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 816 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2019

We really loved our room 4 with an awesome view of the beach. The small kitchen was very useful and the room was well equipped. We loved the fact that there was a sun lounger and a deck chair and a table and chairs for our use, outside our room.

Room tip: rooms 1 - 8
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomtom755
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2019

We had a beachfront room with a lovely patio at the front of it. This was a great place to watch the sunrises and sunsets while in Rarotonga. Our suggestion however would be to replace the broken slats on the shutter window blinds both for light and privacy. The cleaning staff were really friendly and they were a great source of information for the local area. The restaurant was casual but with a good range of food choices. We were there during one of the Sunday night BBQ functions they have; this was a special evening with a lovely trio of singers/musicians. With the size of this resort, more seating is needed around the garden and beach front areas. The beach areas were kept clean as were the resort public areas. The staff in the office were friendly, however the one lady in the bar who made us a cocktail one evening should perhaps smile - it is more inviting for customers to return. We were left wondering if we had done something wrong with the sour service. All in all, a nice place to stay and it is quiet.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kej5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sunset R, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2019

Kia orana

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I wanted to let you know that the replacement slates have finally arrived on the boat from New Zealand. Delivery times can be an issue for an island location. I will hand on all of your feedback to our staff as we always look to improve on our customer experience.

travel safe and we hope to see you return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2019

Overall we were happy with the resort. The beach had good snorkelling. Sunsets were lovely. The two swimming pools were very good, but leaves were only cleaned out every few days which should be done each day and wouldn’t take long. The onsite restaurant The Anchorage had good food when we had dinners there. Food across the island was a good standard. We tried a number of different places. Antipodes which is close by is worth dining at while you are there. The room was large and comfortable and the bed was good. A few slight negatives on the room were the water temperature on the shower was inconsistent at times, the toilet seat was lopsided, and there were several panels of the blinds missing which lightened the room fairly early, but you were probably already awake with the roosters crowing. While there the Wi-fi was down for over 3 days which we were wanting mainly to keep in touch with family back home. When inquiring the lady in the office didn't seem to care that much and each day just said they couldn't do anything about it. As roaming charges are very expensive in Raro it would be good to have a reliable internet service to utilse Wi-fi, after all it was in the package we paid for. We used the happy hour at The Birdcage bar only once as was very slow service. The one barman took about 5 minutes to make each cocktail so was a long wait. They need a second person assisting over that time. In the late afternoon we'd drink our duty free in the room or by the beach.

Date of stay: July 2019
1  Thank CRT1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2019

We had villa #8 which was beachfront, 2 bedrooms and self contained. It was great for 2 couples travelling together.
The staff were very helpful, the gardens and grounds immaculate, food in the restaurant was pretty good.
No complaints at all and we'd be very happy to stay there again.
This resort is primarily child free and didn't see any playground hence my no to the question below.

Room tip: Bakery across the road, a bottle-o up the road, other places to eat out nearby, pretty good snorkelling and great views of the sunset.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffd613
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2019

It seems like every year we stay here, it gets better and better. The staff actually feel like family. The entire resort is very clean, not just the rooms. The sunsets from our lanai are impossible to beat. There is nothing that we would change. Not even the roosters. They are part of the experience. Also, the managers, Tim and Colleen and on top of everything and the warmest, most considerate managers ever. BIG shout out to Kimi, Kaiei, Haley, Manu, and the rest of the staff.

Room tip: All the rooms are "best". However, if you want a great ocean view, get an ocean view room
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tallandcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sunset R, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2019

Kia orana

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It would seem that the Sunset Resort was the perfect fit for you. I will make sure that all of the staff you mention receive your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews