We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$134
Fully refundable before Sun, 2 Jun
No prepayment needed
Priceline
$134
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
$134
Fully refundable before Sun, 2 Jun
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Sarah L
Melbourne, Australia

Such a lovely introduction to Rarotonga

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Jun 2023
I loved staying at KiiKii Inn. The gardens and views are amazing and the pool is clean and refreshing. Everyone who works at KiiKii was warm, welcoming and helpful.

I could not believe the views - extraordinary mountain ranges on one side and magnificent beach views on the other. I spent a lot of time in the pool bouncing between one view and the other.

KiiKii Inn is right on the beach so we fell asleep to the sound of waves.

The gardens are kept immaculately.

I found that all the pools I swam in were freezing for the first 30-60 seconds and then blissfully refreshing - well worth pushing through the cold.

The units are spacious. We didn't get a unit on the beachfront but I would recommend that - both for the view and better air flow.

The unit we had was near the pool, with lovely gardens outside, but it didn't have brilliant airflow.

There isn't a restaurant operating at the moment but you can get breakfast (muesli, toast, marmalade and fruit) delivered to your room at 8am.

We were lucky enough to have hired a car. There is not a lot open for food close to KiiKii, but the bus is just outside.

KiiKii Inn is incredibly good value.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$284
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $284
  • Vio.com
    $246
  • Hotels.com
    $253
0.3 km from Kiikii Inn & Suites
Free parking
Pool
Villa 4 2 bedroom luxury Villa
Trip.com
$349
  • Agoda.com
    $282
  • ZenHotels.com
    $289
  • StayForLong
4.0 km from Kiikii Inn & Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
$287
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $288
  • Vio.com
    $250
  • ZenHotels.com
    $293
4.6 km from Kiikii Inn & Suites
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$164
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $164
  • eDreams
    $164
  • Vio.com
    $164
2.4 km from Kiikii Inn & Suites
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.9 km from Kiikii Inn & Suites
Free parking
Beachfront
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
  • StayForLong
7.8 km from Kiikii Inn & Suites
Free parking
Pool
The beach behind the guesthose
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
6.3 km from Kiikii Inn & Suites
Free parking
Bungalows at Napa Beachfront Hideaway
eDreams
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Vio.com
    • ZenHotels.com
    Booking.com
    $134
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      $134
    • Vio.com
      $134
    • eDreams
      $134
    0.0 km from Kiikii Inn & Suites
    Free parking
    Pool
    View more hotels in Avarua
    Reviews (87)
    Filter reviews
    87 results
    Traveller rating
    24
    29
    15
    8
    11
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    24
    29
    15
    8
    11
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 87 reviews
    Reviewed 29 September 2021

    I can't fault the motel (as it would be better named) itself; but location makes it difficult. Unless you want to cook for yourself, options in the area are very limited. There is no beach; but a great swimming pool. The location is ocean side except there is no beach.

    This means you had to catch a bus to the beach . Bus service was limited. Reduced from 2 per hour to one per hour. Units were older. Ironically with outdoor wooden chairs inside and cheap plastic chairs outside.

    The cleaners were cheerful and helpful - though not sure why they switched the fridge off one day?

    If you want a beach holiday, better to move further south where both restaurants and beach are in easy walking distance.

    Date of stay: August 2021
    Thank kiwipk
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 8 October 2019

    This place is old and I’m not sure where the good reviews are from. They didn’t supply top sheets for any of the single beds. There was not hot water for a shower, you could get scolded for a minute then it turned cold. There was a big hole in the roof of our bathroom too. And then they have the the nerve to charge $5 a bag if you want them to hold them as you are on a later flight. Look elsewhere.

    Date of stay: September 2019
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank Kim A
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 7 October 2019

    The KiiKii Inn & Suites is a bit old and not much renovation has been done. It is in a good location, facing the KiiKii lagoon, which has corals in it, and a long strip of beach (narrow) to stroll in the evening. It has its population of insects (ants & roaches) and chicken. The room (at least some) are spacious and one can cook a meal, if the old stove works....which, for vegans and vegetarians is convenient as there is not much variety at Restaurants and take away in Avarua. Best is to go to CICT supermarket, which caters for gluten-free, vegans, lactose free and has a good choice of organic food. If, as I am, one is leading a group with diverse dietary requirements, self-cooking consciously is the best option. To date, Kii Kii provides the necessary "tools" to do it: a large kitchen and dining-room with refrigerator, microwave, kettle and toaster.
    One can have breakfast and dinner "on demand", but vegans, lactose end gluten-free etc. may have big issues. Carnivores are, as usual, the most catered for, irrespective of their impact on global warming (my group was a bunch of very conscientious Uni students).
    The price of the rooms we paid was very honest. But I was made aware that things have changed and could be more costly, so, check with your internet browser for the best options.
    Nevertheless, people at reception have been friendly,
    Yet, if you wish for something modern, spot clean, fancy, perhaps you'd better be prepared to spend a lot. Rarotonga has become too packed with tourists wih the pros and cons of tourism. It can be a blessing or a pest. I personally think that tourism is spoiling the magic of the Cook Islands because: 1) things are a lot more expensive; 2) lagoons are packed with irresponsible people standing on corals and oiling the lagoons with sunscreen; 3) tourist boost an economy of stereotype "Island culture", including fish-feeding frenzy ...with fish that eventually bite kids...just to allow westerners to swim with the fish.
    Eventually, even KiiKii is adapting and rising the prices. For me, it is time to change island...or accommodation. I have two options: either a very expensive stay or the backpacker. The in-between is a gamble.
    HAving said that, I do not mind the old fixtures of KiiKii, at least the premise was good enough to allow the students to work, we could give lectures, we could sleep with little noise (apart from the ocean). It is basic and no-nonsense.
    For the internet, you have to buy a bluesky voucher. Then...the hotel has the hotspot.

    Room tip: there are rooms facing the ocean. The 10, 11, 12 are near the swimming pool and spacious.
    Date of stay: October 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank silvia_frisia
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 7 July 2019

    The review rates show Kiikii Inn & Suites have a high rate, but the buget rooms are very poor. The built in the 1960 or 1970s and have had no update since.The bed was not to bad, but the lounge chairs are hard & uncomable. There is long drawers to store clothes in & no where to store suit cases. I had a very friendly welcome, but from then on the ladies in the office (different lady than the arrival one) were very unfriendly.
    There are better places to stay that Kiikii Inn & Suites

    Date of stay: June 2019
    1  Thank algor50
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 8 June 2019 via mobile

    The good: large room, comfy bed, kitchen facilities & ocean view - loved sleeping to the crashing waves.
    The bad: dated, had been cleaned but still feels grimy around edges as so old, no aircon.
    The worst: no drinkable water in the room, we arrived in middle of night so couldn't buy any.
    Being woken up at 10pm the next night and asked to move rooms because the motel had put us in the wrong room and the people that booked our room were mad they didn't get it. I feel sorry for the people and the staff trying to fix the error, but they should have comped the other people not upset us as well.

    Date of stay: June 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Travelling_Breebree
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews