We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Travelling_Breebree
Toronto, Canada

Oldest motel in Rarotonga

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Jun 2019via mobile
The good: large room, comfy bed, kitchen facilities & ocean view - loved sleeping to the crashing waves.
The bad: dated, had been cleaned but still feels grimy around edges as so old, no aircon.
The worst: no drinkable water in the room, we arrived in middle of night so couldn't buy any.
Being woken up at 10pm the next night and asked to move rooms because the motel had put us in the wrong room and the people that booked our room were mad they didn't get it. I feel sorry for the people and the staff trying to fix the error, but they should have comped the other people not upset us as well.
Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$271
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $271
0.3 km from Kiikii Inn & Suites
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
3.9 km from Kiikii Inn & Suites
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
2.9 km from Kiikii Inn & Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
Villa 4 2 bedroom luxury Villa
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $270
  • Expedia.com
    $304
4.0 km from Kiikii Inn & Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
The beach behind the guesthose
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
6.3 km from Kiikii Inn & Suites
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $288
  • ZenHotels.com
    $273
  • Vio.com
4.6 km from Kiikii Inn & Suites
Free parking
Pool
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
7.4 km from Kiikii Inn & Suites
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
  • eDreams
7.8 km from Kiikii Inn & Suites
Free parking
Pool
Not really swimming beach but great for sunbathing
  • Lol.travel
1.8 km from Kiikii Inn & Suites
Free parking
Beachfront
view from deck
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
5.7 km from Kiikii Inn & Suites
Free parking
Beachfront
View more hotels in Avarua
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
24
29
15
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
24
29
15
8
11
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2019 via mobile

Pool side room was clean, use of cooking equipment etc, the pool was clean & clear, not far from town for transfer ( or bus )
Close walk to servo/ shop and takeaway bar, staff were friendly and welcoming
Stairs down to coast edge too
Would recommend to stay here A+

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank RachieEvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 March 2019 via mobile

I had a problem with my plan to fly and I asked the hotel for cancelation and getting refunded but they rejected then I asked for changing dates but they asked to pay for new reservation. I'm so disappointed with this policy

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank MoSaB A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2019

Kiikii inn & suits is among some of vintage hotel in rarotonga . I arrived early but we could check in right away although we book base categories room but they upgraded us to ocean view by just adding a little amount . Lovely stay with great view.. friendly staff and amazing waves at beach was the highlight of our stay ...
The host was really friendly ..... & supervisor who came to work on her off day just to fix our room issue
Great stay, would definitely come back here!!

Room tip: Ocean view .....
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anshlegacy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2019 via mobile

This place really ruined our trip to Rarotonga. Yes it is cheap but it is still not worth it. There was geekos running the walls in our room. The floor was filthy and covered in ants from the minute we walked in. No air conditioning. The pool was filthy - didn't look like it was ever cleaned.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Lynn199425
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 November 2018

I was allocated a room with a sea view, relaxing to sit and watch the waves crash over the reef, i would advise asking for one of these rooms. The room itself was quite basic, cleaned daily and had all the essentials inc TV, fridge, cooking rings & microwave.

The pool was great with sun loungers and a decking area overlooking the coast, the beach is rock and broken coral, nice to look at but now a beach to sit on.

Staff were very helpful especially getting the islands wifi network to work on my phone. (The WIFI all over the island is terrible and very expensive) You can ask for films at reception they have a small selection which are free, a small library of books and soft drinks can also be bought at reception.

Local shop is a short walk up the road selling essentials and the bus will stop outside the reception that loops around the island. There is no restaurant or bar here but the hotel next door has a swim up bar and serves good food.

Overall its a budget hotel at a competitive price point, I would stay again and be happy to recommend.

Room tip: Sea view room
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Napa N, Manager at Kiikii Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2018

Kia Orana Sean,

We are very glad to hear that you loved your stay with us! As I ca read you made the most of your stay and enjoyed all the details that we've been putting in place for our guests to enjoy their holiday with us.

This hotel is the oldest private accommodation on the island and it still needs some work to bring it up to date. We are improving every day so next time you will have a even more enjoyable holiday in Rarotonga!

Kia Manuia (Good luck!) from all of us here at Kiikii Inn & Suites!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews