We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
RachieEvo
Auckland Central, New Zealand

Great place to stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Apr 2019via mobile
Pool side room was clean, use of cooking equipment etc, the pool was clean & clear, not far from town for transfer ( or bus )
Close walk to servo/ shop and takeaway bar, staff were friendly and welcoming
Stairs down to coast edge too
Would recommend to stay here A+
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$272
  • Expedia.com
    $271
  • Agoda.com
    $254
  • Hotels.com
    $271
0.3 km from Kiikii Inn & Suites
Free parking
Pool
Villa 4 2 bedroom luxury Villa
$304
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $304
  • ZenHotels.com
    $270
  • Trip.com
4.0 km from Kiikii Inn & Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
$288
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $288
  • Agoda.com
    $259
  • ZenHotels.com
    $273
4.6 km from Kiikii Inn & Suites
Free parking
Pool
$164
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $164
  • Agoda.com
    $164
  • Vio.com
    $164
2.4 km from Kiikii Inn & Suites
Free parking
The beach behind the guesthose
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
6.3 km from Kiikii Inn & Suites
Free parking
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
7.8 km from Kiikii Inn & Suites
Free parking
Pool
View with ocean to my back
$134
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $134
  • Vio.com
    $134
  • Agoda.com
    $134
0.0 km from Kiikii Inn & Suites
Free parking
Pool
Studio Apartment view
$288
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $288
  • Vio.com
    $288
  • Agoda.com
    $288
7.2 km from Kiikii Inn & Suites
Free parking
Pool
$330
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $294
  • Hotels.com
    $294
  • Tripadvisor
    $294
8.2 km from Kiikii Inn & Suites
Free parking
Pool
$771
  • Expedia.com
    $905
  • Agoda.com
    $650
  • Hotels.com
    $828
8.2 km from Kiikii Inn & Suites
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Avarua
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
24
29
15
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
24
29
15
8
11
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2019 via mobile

I had a problem with my plan to fly and I asked the hotel for cancelation and getting refunded but they rejected then I asked for changing dates but they asked to pay for new reservation. I'm so disappointed with this policy

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank MoSaB A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2019

Kiikii inn & suits is among some of vintage hotel in rarotonga . I arrived early but we could check in right away although we book base categories room but they upgraded us to ocean view by just adding a little amount . Lovely stay with great view.. friendly staff and amazing waves at beach was the highlight of our stay ...
The host was really friendly ..... & supervisor who came to work on her off day just to fix our room issue
Great stay, would definitely come back here!!

Room tip: Ocean view .....
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anshlegacy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2019 via mobile

This place really ruined our trip to Rarotonga. Yes it is cheap but it is still not worth it. There was geekos running the walls in our room. The floor was filthy and covered in ants from the minute we walked in. No air conditioning. The pool was filthy - didn't look like it was ever cleaned.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Lynn199425
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 November 2018

I was allocated a room with a sea view, relaxing to sit and watch the waves crash over the reef, i would advise asking for one of these rooms. The room itself was quite basic, cleaned daily and had all the essentials inc TV, fridge, cooking rings & microwave.

The pool was great with sun loungers and a decking area overlooking the coast, the beach is rock and broken coral, nice to look at but now a beach to sit on.

Staff were very helpful especially getting the islands wifi network to work on my phone. (The WIFI all over the island is terrible and very expensive) You can ask for films at reception they have a small selection which are free, a small library of books and soft drinks can also be bought at reception.

Local shop is a short walk up the road selling essentials and the bus will stop outside the reception that loops around the island. There is no restaurant or bar here but the hotel next door has a swim up bar and serves good food.

Overall its a budget hotel at a competitive price point, I would stay again and be happy to recommend.

Room tip: Sea view room
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Napa N, Manager at Kiikii Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2018

Kia Orana Sean,

We are very glad to hear that you loved your stay with us! As I ca read you made the most of your stay and enjoyed all the details that we've been putting in place for our guests to enjoy their holiday with us.

This hotel is the oldest private accommodation on the island and it still needs some work to bring it up to date. We are improving every day so next time you will have a even more enjoyable holiday in Rarotonga!

Kia Manuia (Good luck!) from all of us here at Kiikii Inn & Suites!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018

We had the unfortunate experience of staying in two different rooms. The first night we were woken by dogs in the rubbish bins located too close to our front door. When we awoke in the morning a rodent had been feasting on a loaf of bread we left on the bench in the kitchen. There was also a dead rat on the ground outside in the morning which staff continued to walk past for several hours. The shower was a trickle of cold water. The place has been painted, but it would appear straight over rotting timber and panels particularly in the bathroom. The TV didn't work. It appears locals may live there and we saw one group taking poolside loungers into the room after dark for extra beds. The second room later in the week was similar and although staff did attempt to fix the cold/boiling hot shower mixer they were unsuccessful and left the room unlocked when they left. The double bed had a strong smell of urine which meant we chose to sleep on the single beds. It was so bad light entertainment was provided watching other guests wandering around with electrical appliances that didn't work, we saw them with lamps and even a microwave.This is budget price but simply unacceptable - never again!

Room tip: Don't go there
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdtravel2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Napa N, Manager at Kiikii Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2018

Kia Orana,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We are very sad to hear that you had an awful experience during your stay here. I wonder if Reception was aware of your poor experience? We could have done many things to improve the conditions of your stay while you were still here!

This hotel is the oldest private accommodation on the island and its buildings were neglected for a long time until 3 years ago when management changed and started the renovations. It is a long term plan and it is slowly coming together, that's why our rates are very affordable in comparison with the average hotel night around Rarotonga, especially for families.

We have maintenance staff on site that are working every day to improve the premises. Our rates are competitive so our calendar is usually full. This is why appliances needs replacing every so often and why you saw staff walking around fixing and replacing faulty appliances. Sometimes guests brings this to our attention and we usually fix it on the spot. We bring all our white ware from New Zealand and we buy quality as well but after so much use they need replacing.

Our TV's are flat screen, brand new as well. We didn't know that your TV wasn't working otherwise we would have fixed or replaced it.

Also, because we are very close to the ocean and our lagoon area is very rocky, rats tend to nest in the rocks and sometimes find their way up to the property. We have a contingency plan in place to deal with this issue but every so often the odd rat can skip this. We apologize for this. We are working on bringing some technology from New Zealand to completely avoid this awful situation.

We have never had a complaint about a smelly mattress before (95% of our beds are brand new) so this is something that we could have fixed for you on the spot if we would have known about this. All our beds have a waterproof mattress protector that is changed after every check out.

Some of our rooms have a solar system for hot water which is, sometimes, hard to regulate. If the problem wasn't fixed then we apologize. If Reception would have known of your bad experience we could have moved you to a different room at no extra cost or compensate somehow.

Regarding your experience with guests dragging sun loungers inside the rooms at night time, it is a surprise for us to hear this because we have never heard of this before! We usually host some locals coming from overseas to visit their families but we make it very clear that no visitors allowed, especially after hours. We do not do long term rentals over here and we have strict regulations for all our guests. We have never heard of this behavior before and we are grateful that you brought it to our attention so we can brief our night staff regarding this issue.

As manager I wasn't aware of your situation and I apologize that I could not do anything to change your experience.

We hope you can give us another chance in the near future so you can have an enjoyable experience with us.

Kia Manuia (Good luck!)



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews