We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting”

Sol de Mayo Restaurant
Ranked #46 of 637 Restaurants in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: South American
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 11 May 2020 via mobile

I showed up here with a friend and, although we were quite late for lunch (I had just flown into Arequipa) and only one other table was occupied, we were seated and served quickly. Drinks and food were great, then the waiter invited us into the other room as we could hear a Champions League game on the TV there. We watched the rest of the game and felt no pressure to finish our drinks and leave. Make sure you have a little wander around the place as the gardens, which you can see from the street are very pretty, and setting are very nice indeed and among the best in the city.

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2020

Had muscians serenade us for lunch which was pleasant. The food was manageable with a decent salad but ordered veal and received roast beef. The dessert was a delicious ice cream. The atmoshere was impressive with flowers outside that had hummingbirds around. A cordial place to visit.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jgemza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2019 via mobile

I came here as part of a tour group. Service is horrible. Food is mediocre. I had the fried Guinea pig. It is a very small piece and didn't have any taste.

This restaurant let's some music band perform. After 3 songs, it came to our table to sell CD. If you don't buy, the person insist you give tip for the music. I understand this is a touristy restaurant but it's a bit too much.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Henry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2019 via mobile

The place is beautiful, but the service is really bad, waiting for long time and the food wasnt good.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank yenyrojastu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2019

We ate there for lunch. They have all the Arequipa classics, with generous portions. We tried chincharron and cuy. Both were very good. We had lunch in the garden, which was pleasant.

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank Elodie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sol de Mayo Restaurant also viewed

 
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 

Been to Sol de Mayo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
New Zealand
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.