We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Ambiance and Service”

Sol de Mayo Restaurant
Ranked #46 of 637 Restaurants in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: South American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 7 June 2019

Sol de Mayo is a hidden gem of a restaurant in Arequipa - I would have never expected such a nice eatery in the middle of Arequipa. From the moment we had entered the doorway, I was take back to see such a nicely decorated and great atmosphere to this restaurant. The food, the service, the ambiance were all great - see for yourself from the attached photos, this place is different from the normal Peruvian restaurant that we have been to.

My wife and I had a great lunch here consisting of: Appetizers - fried calamari and stuffed hot pepper with potatoes. Entrees - Roast Pork Belly and deep-fried guinea pig. Looks good (see photos) and tastes great!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2019

We were last week in Arequipa for business, and we were recommended to have lunch in this restaurant. Right decision!
As we were with local guys, they told us to choose Camarones Arrebozados, Queso Frito as appetizers, they were fresh and tasty.
As main dish we took a Chupe and some fish , an Adobo, Malaya all of them very nicely done.
As dessert, Queso helado...wonderful.
A regular priced, fine Picanteria

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
Thank FJOJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2019

This is a great restaurant... it's been there for a few decades... and it seems that it gets better every time... love this place and always visit everytime while in Arequipa...

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Estuardo_Santillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2019

My friend and I had lunch in the garden seating, We had a beer and two dishes Beef Chupa and Anticuchos. Both tasted authentic traditional Arequipaian fare.They both were delicious and ample portions. The ambience and the music was great and the service was wonderful. The price was appropriate
I would eat here again.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank ShrinkandShrimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2018

Nice place in Arequipa, beautiful outside grounds where you can eat and enjoy music. staff was great, bathrooms were clean, food was good and fast.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrWinnito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sol de Mayo Restaurant also viewed

 
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 

Been to Sol de Mayo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
New Zealand
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.