We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“National Director”
other travellers have booked this property
From the courtyard, loft studio 'Guanaco' is on the right of the balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
From the courtyard, loft studio 'Guanaco' is on the right of the balcony
The living area and kitchen below, the bedroom loft above Beyond the kitchen is the living area with recessed lighting
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
From the courtyard, loft studio 'Guanaco' is on the right of the balcony
The living area and kitchen below, the bedroom loft above
Beyond the kitchen is the living area with recessed lighting
Bathrooms are tiled, new and elegant.
A view from the kitchen towards the courtyard
The bedroom loft has a queen bed, end tables, lamps and an ample closet.
Kitchens are fully equipped.
The cobblestone courtyard is marked by a Spanish motif
Pumamaqui courtyard and garden
The courtyard garden attracts hummingbirds.
An entrance to the art gallery, Pumamaqui Galerías
Niches in Pumamaqui Galerías
Stairs to the upper level of Pumamaqui Galerías
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Cuenca, Azuay Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steven B
Naples
2 reviews
“National Director ”
Reviewed 27 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Excellent accommodations in the heart of "restaurant row". The owners are hospitable and very accommodating. The Courtyard and abundance of beautiful flowers makes it the quintessential Cuenca experience! Would return in a heartbeat!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turbojet1
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“As close to perfect as you can get!”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

While the apt is excellent, as is the location, it is your host, Stuart, that makes this as close to perfect as you can get! His follow-up before and during your arrival makes you feel like he's taking care of a old friend. I cannot thank Stuart and his lovely wife, Patricia, enough. I had almost 15 hours in travel delays arriving, and they kept in touch and ensured I could access the apt well into the evening.

The location is great, about a 7 minute walk from the Parque de Caldiron. I took a cab only once, and that was to go to the Mirador de Turi (3$ each way). I enjoy walking, so to El Centro, the Pumapungo Ruins, the mercardos, etc., were all within 15 minutes at a decent pace. I'd leave by 7 AM just to enjoy taking photos of the excellent old architecture without many people around. Within 10 minutes are some of most beautiful cathedrals you could ever see.

The loft apt suited me perfectly, as I have no difficulties with stairs. If you do, then ask Stuart for one on the lower level. It is well-furnished for simple meals, with a 4-burner gas cooktop, granite countertops, microwave, sink, coffeemaker, and simple cookware, utensils and dishware. When you arrive, don't be surprised if this extremely clean apt has fresh flowers, fresh fruit, bread and cheese waiting on you. It has internet that is reasonably fast, very reliable, but you might have difficulty getting the signal from the loft area - just go downstairs. Direct TV is there when the rain is a little more steady. There is also a washer/drier available downstairs off the courtyard.

The private courtyard is beautiful and a great place to have your morning cup-o-Joe. At 9 AM, walk out the entrance, turn left, and go to Hermano Miguel, turn left again and in 1/2 block on your right you'll find Cafe de Nucallacta. It's a great place to have a cup of coffee and also to buy coffee for use in your room. It is Ecuadorian, freshly ground and bagged for you and is around $5 for a 1 lb bag. Plenty of places to eat within a 5 minute walk.

In the spirit of full disclosure, the one "negative" you will find is the sound from the few bars/clubs nearby will be noticeable beginning around 10 - midnight. This includes a couple of Karaoke bars that prove that MOST people should keep their day jobs. I had the foam earplugs that I travel with, and I sleep well on the very comfortable bed.

Cuenca is a beautiful, historic city. I hope you have the chance to visit one day, and I hope you have the opportunity to stay at Stuart's if you do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: EVerything
Liked least: Nothing
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny R N
1 review
“Excellent time in a very nice accomodation”
Reviewed 26 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We enjoyed our host Stuart and his wife Patricia. They were very helpful in answering questions and showing us sites to see around Cuenca.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby L
Rangely, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were looking for!”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This property is located exactly where we wanted to be in Old Town Cuenca. Short 5 minute walk (or less) from the river, about 10 minutes from the "Centro." Safe streets, friendly people, plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. The property was absolutely beautiful! We were met by one of the owners and her lovely kids on our arrival. They helped to get us settled in. The apartment was just the right size. The kitchen was completely outfitted with silverware, pots, pans, etc. (we never used any of it as there were so many great restaurants nearby). A cozy seating area with flat screen TV and Direct TV programming (again, we only turned it on once to see if it worked - too much other fun stuff to do rather than watch TV). The bed was a queen size and very comfortable. There is a very nice washer and dryer on premises for guest use with no extra charge (not coin-op). There are two options for wifi and both are free, though you should remember that this is Ecuador and not expect the speed and rock solid reliability of the high speed network you have in your office. The owner speaks English and has been very responsive when we've contacted him. We had a fantastic time during our stay and I can happily recommend this place without reservation. We try to visit Cuenca every year and plan to make this our home for all future visits.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The beautiful courtyard
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PariahDog
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The location is ideal, the accommodations impeccably clean and comfortable, and the setting wonderful. We were greeted by Patricia, who met us as we exited our taxi when were arrived at the property. Opening the locked door at the sidewalk entrance revealed an open air, tiled, courtyard with plants, flowers, and a fig tree. Entering our upstairs apartment we found a vase of roses, a loaf of fresh baked bread, and cheese. The apartment was bi-level, with a kitchen, living room, and bathroom downstairs and a bedroom upstairs. We had all we needed to cook for ourselves if we wanted, we usually prepared our own breakfast, but were within walking distance of a variety of different restaurants to satisfy whatever craving you may have. There is a restaurant featuring Carolina barbecue next door, a pizza place just around the corner, Italian, Austrian, and many small local establishments featuring the local fare that dot the area. The neighborhood is safe and was quiet all the while we we there, Sunday through Friday. My wife and I didn't want to leave. We are already planning to return to Cuenca next year and hope we will be able to rent this property again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is honestly difficult to pick any one thing. We loved the kitchen, the hummingbirds that visited the courtyard, the location, the cleanliness.
Liked least: wifi was difficult to maintain a connection to in the apartment. It worked perfectly when we were sitting outside.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing