We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A charming place”
other travellers have booked this property
Cobblestone courtyard and garden and studio entrances
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cobblestone courtyard and garden and studio entrances
Stairway to the second floor studios Decorative Spanish-style portal in the courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Cobblestone courtyard and garden and studio entrances
Stairway to the second floor studios
Decorative Spanish-style portal in the courtyard
Part of the courtyard and garden
Loft studio ('Vicuña) and its balcony
Queen-sized bed with two side tables and lamps.
The dinette table
Kitchen, fully equipped with recessed lighting
A view of the studio flat from the dining area
Bathrooms are fully tiled, elegant, all new
The studio flat balcony, looking toward the courtyard entrance
From the studio flat  balcony, looking towards the 'Llama' and 'Guanaco' upstairs studios
Detail
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cuenca, Azuay Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
delpino20...
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A charming place”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

When you open the street door you step into a charming garden courtyard that makes you feel at home right away. Stu and his charming wife Patricia do the same. When we first arrived there were fruits, cheese and a loaf of bread awaiting us. It was nice to come back after a full day in a bustling city and feel as if this was home, down to every detail. The atmosphere is so friendly that other visitors quickly became friends. A perfect home away from home. P.S. Stu is also charming!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conaleeta
Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Apartment! Perfect Host!”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Beautiful, clean, recently remodeled studio apartment in the heart of Cuenca. It is the perfect place to begin your exploration of the city. Virtually everything you need is within walking distance. From restaurants next door, up the street, across the street to the tour company on the corner and the Supermaxi only a few blocks away, this place has it all. And when you come home to your apartment after a busy day you will immediately be transported to beautiful peaceful tranquility in your own gorgeous courtyard. Ah-h-h! And your host, Stuart, is the epitome of helpfulness and useful information, kindness and hospitality! We can highly recommend this property and its host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stuart and the property!
Liked least: Get ready for considerable weekend noise at night but still a great place to stay.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billie B
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This was an Awesome first impression of the hospitality of Cuenca, Ecuador.”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was a first time experience that continued to get better and better. Close to delicious food, local & non local. Highly recommend the rental, as the owner is very gracious...flowers to welcome the guest. Doesn't get any better than that ! TV, fridge, heater to take away the chill, and fridge to keep wine & leftovers. Even tho it was o
In city, it was very secluded, safe & quiet.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwegian...
Trondheim, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location, wonderful apartment, ideal host”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

17 years ago I lived in Cuenca. For the first visit back my wife and I stayed at this studio flat, and we want to return. Stuart is a rare host. Beyond being very friendly and very skilled, he runs an excellent place and knows the city, region and country very well indeed. The place is well designed, aesthetically pleasing and fits well with the style of Cuenca's old town. Four apartments available for rent are placed on two sides of a beautiful, quiet patio. When we arrived we found not only Stuart waiting for us, but the apartment was stocked with fresh fruit and flowers. The location is perfect, in the middle of Cuenca's old town with a large variety of restaurants suiting almost any taste within easy walking distance (starting with two excellent restaurants next door, one Italian and one Colombian)

Being jetlagged from the trip from Europe it was also wonderfully quiet, even when the street outside was busy. The bed was comfortable and beyond what we expected, as illustrated by the blankets: Thick high quality alpaca wool. Warm and not itchy at all. Turns out Stuart also has an alpaca farm/wildlife preserve in the Cañar province, from whence he gets high quality alpaca wool. The beds' blankets are made from this, and we were fortunate enough to get to buy both an alpaca blanket from him as well as alpaca yarn, which my wife Kelly (an avid knitter) praises.
The beds were great, and in addition it is worth mentioning that the showers have hot water on-demand. Therefore you are very unlikely to run out of hot water even if you take long showers. This (good beds and long, hot showers) is something we really appreciated: A true luxury after a long journey.


We look forward to the next opportunity we have to travel back to stay at one of these apartments and meet Stuart with family again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, overall apartment quality and of course the host himself
Liked least: That we could not stay longer (We had prior arrangements limiting our stay)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnahay2...
Warwick, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A piece of heaven”
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This beautiful place in old Cuenca was a perfect location for everything. As soon as my daughter and I stepped inside the charming and beautiful courtyard everything in us completely relaxed. It was that same feeling every time we 'came home' after a day out. We could walk everywhere and there were very good restaurants close by -- I think 8 to 10 on our street alone. It was a stone's throw to the beautiful river and markets. Everyone we met at our rental was kind and accommodating and the apartment we had was quite lovely on the second floor over looking the courtyard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the ambiance
Liked least: liked it all
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing