We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
141
88
13
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
88
13
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel enjoyed our stay buffet breakfast colonial hotel old city aquila heart
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

This hotel is really lovely. Every room from the main courtyard to the lounge and hallways are beautifully restored. The rooms are super clean and very comfortable.

It's about 4 blocks from the main square in a quieter section of town. The Old City is very walkable.

The staff was accommodating. We were there 2 nights and the second night, we were very close to a family with a screaming baby. They kindly moved is to another room.

The only issue we had is that the wifi was spotty. We never got it working in either of our rooms. It worked periodically in the reception or breakfast room.

Highly recommend this place.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016

This hotel near the historical center (7 minutes walk), is beautiful in colonial style. The rooms are big, wooden floors and ceilings, great beds, nice bathroom with shower gel with chocolate smell. the rooms are around a patio. Everything is decorated and furnished with taste and love. Breakfast is okay in a green patio. Staff is really helpful and friendly. Go here....

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drpadron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

There may be some good rooms in this hotel, but we didn't get them. Very near the central Cuenca plaza on a Main Street, there are probably few rooms with views. Our rooms were small, some with no windows and therefore stuffy. The breakfast was basic. The staff was helpful and friendly. Wi-Fi was weak and inconsistent, like most small hotels in Ecuador.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016

It i sin the old town of Cuenca, very old house well maintained, very rustic. Good room, but could be noisy depending on your neighbors. The sound outside the room is easily getting into the room. Well positioned to walk around old Cuenca. We liked it.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank skyzen00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015

Casa del Aguila was beautiful. Our 10 day stay could not have been better. The staff was friendly, helpful and so patient with our Spanish. (Some staff members speak English.) They helped us with tour information and airport transport. The location is excellent and safe, within walking distance to the main areas of Cuenca. The room was beautifully appointed with handcrafted furniture, lovely frescos, beautiful tiles, and a huge bathroom. Bed was excellent and linens were provided daily. Bathroom had shampoo, soap, and lotions. Our room had a nice view over rooftops to the mountains. Their rooftop patio was a great place to relax and read a book in the late afternoon. Breakfast was a full breakfast, which allowed us to stretch into late afternoon for lunch. We really loved the hotel. A slight downside is noise traveled in the hallway, but it didn't bother us too much.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SF55lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews