We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sam W

Great Hostel - Good Location

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Dec 2019via mobile
My wife and I stayed at three Happy House Hostel for three nights in a private room. The hostel is in a very neat old building with nice amenities such as the pool, bar, and outdoor lounging area. The folks who work at the hostel were all very nice and accommodating and the guests were friendly as well. Highly recommend this hostel for travelers.
Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review
Responded 13 Dec 2019
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit.

Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Contact accommodation for availability.
2.7 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Contact accommodation for availability.
8.7 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bedroom
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.7 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Contact accommodation for availability.
9.0 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
3.1 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Contact accommodation for availability.
9.3 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Edificio
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $172
  • Booking.com
4.4 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Santiago
Reviews (900)
Filter reviews
900 results
Traveller rating
433
315
92
43
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
433
315
92
43
17
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 900 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2019

Perfect place for a visit of Santiago. Clean rooms. The rooms located to the street are a little loud! The hostal is near located to the center. Very good reachable with the airport bus. A lot of restaurants in the near.

Room tip: Don't choose a room to the street.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank koeberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2019

Dear Koe,

We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit.

Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2019

This hostel was great! The area by the pool was quite nice and relaxing and the staff was very friendly. Nicolás who works at the front desk was extremely helpful and made our stay very easy. Among other things, he helped us book a tour to Cajón del Maipo under very short notice, which was awesome!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Pedro V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2019

Dear Pedro,

We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit.

Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2019

This was a place full of character with nice friendly staff . I felt safe staying here. Downstairs was quiet from traffic but had very squeaky floors and noise from rooms above and the foyer. Upstairs was very loud traffic noise all night.if you're a light sleeper not great to stay. Using laundry was expensive and only one washer and dryer. Breakfast was good with eggs happily provided if you asked. The lighting was very poor and its quite dark in there. Just needs a bit of modernising and brightening up.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Bryony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2019

Dear Bryony,

We have renovated a colonial house from 1910, so some of the characteristics of the building are wooden floors that are not easy to replace and that also give the place charm. Many positive aspects on your comment are also praised by most of our guests and do not deserve an evaluation of only 2 points in our opinion.

Greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2019

I stayed at Happy House on a recent trip, for two stays of two nights each, passing through Santiago. This is an old colonial era converted mansion or embassy, we were so curious what it had been in the past. It is an amazing space, gigantic and with many extra wings. We really liked the back yard patio area although in August everything was closed, which was disappointing, as we thought the bar would be open in winter (clearly the pool was closed). In summer I'm sure those spaces are amazing. They did seem to be doing free walking tours or pub crawls, although I did not go. If that stuff is really important you might want to ask what is open. The staff are beyond helpful and eve went so far as to explain how to use the Santiago metro, which saved me money on cabs plus made getting around easy. I had zero issues with hot water. It is an old building and retains that flavor so if you want super modern you will not be happy. As a colonial building with 12+ foot ceilings it is chilly, but both rooms I had included space heaters, which kept it cozy enough. I stayed in private rooms with private bathroom, first on the 1st floor, and then on the 3rd floor. The 1st floor is quite noisy as you hear everything through the walls. The 3rd floor was much quieter but there is no elevator. Both rooms were spacious and had comfortable beds. It did take a while for the hot water to get to the 3rd floor but if you know anything about buildings especially those with older plumbing this is common, you just let the water run for a while until it gets hot. Breakfast was filling and they make eggs to order, plus have fruit, bread, yogurt, coffee, and many types of juice. I will also note that on our trip we ended up staying at another converted colonial mansion in Santiago, a bit on the higher end, and they had the exact same situation - stairs, hot water and plumbing idiosyncrasies. Happy House also had really fast and consistent Wifi which made communicating and looking up your trip very easy, which was not true on our trip as many places had broken or slow wifi. I would definitely recommend and would likely stay there again.

Room tip: Stay on 2nd or 3rd floor if you want quiet and check out the huge 2nd floor kitchen patio
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2019

Dear Melanie,

We are very happy to have received your great and detailed feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit.

Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2019

Amazing hostel, with a very respectful staff. I've slept very well due to the cleanliness and safety - one of the safest hostels I've ever know.
The breakfast is complete and delicious. Happy house has also a good localization, close to La Moneda and other attractions and the staff is prepared to give advice about the city.
I strongly recommend Happy House in Santiago.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank wtrlabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2019

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit.

Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews