We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Bryony T

Okay but needs a few improvments

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Sept 2019
This was a place full of character with nice friendly staff . I felt safe staying here. Downstairs was quiet from traffic but had very squeaky floors and noise from rooms above and the foyer. Upstairs was very loud traffic noise all night.if you're a light sleeper not great to stay. Using laundry was expensive and only one washer and dryer. Breakfast was good with eggs happily provided if you asked. The lighting was very poor and its quite dark in there. Just needs a bit of modernising and brightening up.
Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review
Responded 11 Sept 2019
Dear Bryony,

We have renovated a colonial house from 1910, so some of the characteristics of the building are wooden floors that are not easy to replace and that also give the place charm. Many positive aspects on your comment are also praised by most of our guests and do not deserve an evaluation of only 2 points in our opinion.

Greetings
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$132
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $132
2.0 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
$351
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $351
  • Booking.com
5.1 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$297
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $297
5.9 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$314
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $264
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
7.1 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
$321
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $258
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
6.0 km from Happy House Hostel
Exterior view
$171
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $147
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $147
2.6 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$492
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $414
  • Hotels.com
9.0 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $384
  • travelup.com
5.2 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    $53
  • Hotels.com
2.7 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $335
  • Mandarin Oriental
8.5 km from Happy House Hostel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Santiago
Reviews (900)
Filter reviews
900 results
Traveller rating
433
315
92
43
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
433
315
92
43
17
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 900 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2019

I stayed at Happy House on a recent trip, for two stays of two nights each, passing through Santiago. This is an old colonial era converted mansion or embassy, we were so curious what it had been in the past. It is an amazing space, gigantic and with many extra wings. We really liked the back yard patio area although in August everything was closed, which was disappointing, as we thought the bar would be open in winter (clearly the pool was closed). In summer I'm sure those spaces are amazing. They did seem to be doing free walking tours or pub crawls, although I did not go. If that stuff is really important you might want to ask what is open. The staff are beyond helpful and eve went so far as to explain how to use the Santiago metro, which saved me money on cabs plus made getting around easy. I had zero issues with hot water. It is an old building and retains that flavor so if you want super modern you will not be happy. As a colonial building with 12+ foot ceilings it is chilly, but both rooms I had included space heaters, which kept it cozy enough. I stayed in private rooms with private bathroom, first on the 1st floor, and then on the 3rd floor. The 1st floor is quite noisy as you hear everything through the walls. The 3rd floor was much quieter but there is no elevator. Both rooms were spacious and had comfortable beds. It did take a while for the hot water to get to the 3rd floor but if you know anything about buildings especially those with older plumbing this is common, you just let the water run for a while until it gets hot. Breakfast was filling and they make eggs to order, plus have fruit, bread, yogurt, coffee, and many types of juice. I will also note that on our trip we ended up staying at another converted colonial mansion in Santiago, a bit on the higher end, and they had the exact same situation - stairs, hot water and plumbing idiosyncrasies. Happy House also had really fast and consistent Wifi which made communicating and looking up your trip very easy, which was not true on our trip as many places had broken or slow wifi. I would definitely recommend and would likely stay there again.

Room tip: Stay on 2nd or 3rd floor if you want quiet and check out the huge 2nd floor kitchen patio
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2019

Dear Melanie,

We are very happy to have received your great and detailed feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit.

Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2019

Amazing hostel, with a very respectful staff. I've slept very well due to the cleanliness and safety - one of the safest hostels I've ever know.
The breakfast is complete and delicious. Happy house has also a good localization, close to La Moneda and other attractions and the staff is prepared to give advice about the city.
I strongly recommend Happy House in Santiago.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank wtrlabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2019

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit.

Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2019

Really enjoyed our stay here, there were 3 of us and we stayed in a large private room but we used the shared bathroom. It was about a 10 minute walk from the city centre allowing us a good base to explore Santiago. The staff were all incredibly helpful, and breakfast was good and varied - including cuts of meat, cheese, bread, cereal, yogurt, bananas, apples, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and eggs on request.

Room tip: We really enjoyed our room on the first floor with a view of the main road.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina-Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2019

Dear Nina,

We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit.

Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2019 via mobile

The staff was lovely and the building was beautiful.

The breakfast was really good, and they even made eggs on request. This was inclusive.

I stayed for 4 nights however, and there was no hot water for 3 of them. They said that it was “getting fixed”.

For all the positives about this hostel, no hot water for 3 consecutive days is a deal breaker. I wouldn’t take the risk, the mornings are too cold.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Dhowes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2019

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your evaluation and suggestions. We have verified our hot water system and it is working correctly, however, we will carry out a much deeper technical investigation because it is strange that this has happened 3 days as you have indicated.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2019

I spent 2 days with my friend at this hostel.

Just entering this old beautiful house we got a good feeling that we chose the right place. A big reception hall, very friendly and helpful staff, spaceful corridors, and the bedroom with 2 comfortable beds fully satisfied our expectations. In addition our room was close to the cosy terrace in front of the swimming pool where we could relax on soft pillows after a walk in the town. Fast Wi-Fi as well as computers with internet are available. The kitchen also spacious with all necessary equipment. The breakfast with a wide variety of food.

Everything clean and pleasant, and you feel like at home. The hostel is located close to the main squares, and it takes 10-15 minutes by foot to be in a very downtown.

I would recommend this place for everybody who likes quiet and cosy atmosphere. It matches the name “Happy House” very well, and I with a big pleasure will return here again.

Room tip: I liked the room close to the terrace on the second floor
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sherpa656208
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2019

Dear Sigitas,

We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We really appreciate the time that you have taken to write this review and for the email that you personally sent me to say thank you for the good experience. We´d love to have more customers like you :)

Greetings from the entire Happy House Hostel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews