We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
W Labes

Amazing hostel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Aug 2019
Amazing hostel, with a very respectful staff. I've slept very well due to the cleanliness and safety - one of the safest hostels I've ever know.
The breakfast is complete and delicious. Happy house has also a good localization, close to La Moneda and other attractions and the staff is prepared to give advice about the city.
I strongly recommend Happy House in Santiago.
Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review
Responded 20 Aug 2019
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit.

Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$96
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $60
  • Agoda.com
    $52
  • StayForLong
    $60
2.7 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
$402
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $400
  • Vio.com
    $259
  • Hotels.com
    $400
5.2 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
$133
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $133
  • Agoda.com
    $107
  • Hotels.com
    $133
2.0 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
$386
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $385
  • Vio.com
    $370
  • Hotels.com
    $385
5.1 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$218
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $218
  • Priceline
    $260
  • Hotels.com
    $217
5.9 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$234
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Pullman
    $277
  • StayForLong
    $190
  • Expedia.com
    $233
7.1 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior view
$158
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    $133
  • Expedia.com
    $133
  • Hotels.com
    $133
2.6 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$398
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Mandarin Oriental
    $473
  • Destinia.com
    $319
  • Expedia.com
    $397
8.5 km from Happy House Hostel
Free parking
Pool
$287
No prepayment needed
  • Novotel
    $396
  • Expedia.com
    $333
  • travelup.com
    $327
9.0 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$85
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    $94
  • Priceline
    $94
  • Vio.com
    $94
2.7 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Santiago
Reviews (900)
Filter reviews
900 results
Traveller rating
433
315
92
43
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
433
315
92
43
17
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 900 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2019

Really enjoyed our stay here, there were 3 of us and we stayed in a large private room but we used the shared bathroom. It was about a 10 minute walk from the city centre allowing us a good base to explore Santiago. The staff were all incredibly helpful, and breakfast was good and varied - including cuts of meat, cheese, bread, cereal, yogurt, bananas, apples, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and eggs on request.

Room tip: We really enjoyed our room on the first floor with a view of the main road.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina-Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2019

Dear Nina,

We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit.

Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2019 via mobile

The staff was lovely and the building was beautiful.

The breakfast was really good, and they even made eggs on request. This was inclusive.

I stayed for 4 nights however, and there was no hot water for 3 of them. They said that it was “getting fixed”.

For all the positives about this hostel, no hot water for 3 consecutive days is a deal breaker. I wouldn’t take the risk, the mornings are too cold.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Dhowes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2019

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your evaluation and suggestions. We have verified our hot water system and it is working correctly, however, we will carry out a much deeper technical investigation because it is strange that this has happened 3 days as you have indicated.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2019

I spent 2 days with my friend at this hostel.

Just entering this old beautiful house we got a good feeling that we chose the right place. A big reception hall, very friendly and helpful staff, spaceful corridors, and the bedroom with 2 comfortable beds fully satisfied our expectations. In addition our room was close to the cosy terrace in front of the swimming pool where we could relax on soft pillows after a walk in the town. Fast Wi-Fi as well as computers with internet are available. The kitchen also spacious with all necessary equipment. The breakfast with a wide variety of food.

Everything clean and pleasant, and you feel like at home. The hostel is located close to the main squares, and it takes 10-15 minutes by foot to be in a very downtown.

I would recommend this place for everybody who likes quiet and cosy atmosphere. It matches the name “Happy House” very well, and I with a big pleasure will return here again.

Room tip: I liked the room close to the terrace on the second floor
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sherpa656208
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2019

Dear Sigitas,

We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We really appreciate the time that you have taken to write this review and for the email that you personally sent me to say thank you for the good experience. We´d love to have more customers like you :)

Greetings from the entire Happy House Hostel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2019

We shouldn't have taken the private bathroom as it cost us more but neither the shower (only cold water) nor the toilet worked properly. Staff was friendly but in the end not really helpful with the bathroom problems. Furthermore, we read that the hostel had been renovated, but this must have been a long time ago. The room didn't look renovated. It didn't look as good as the pictures on the hostel website make you believe. For the price we paid I would rather take a shared room or another accomodation.

Room tip: Don't take the private bathroom, it's absolutely not worth the extra money.
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FarAway07824116317
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2019

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment, however, we´d like to clarify some negative points mentioned here. This a colonial house built in 1910. Apart from being renovated for us to convert it in a hostel, there places that are part of the architecture itself and difficult to handle, like the wooden floors for example. Nevertheless, we are actually working on an improvement for these. Rooms are very spacius, well decorated and with high ceilings, never categorized as average. The hot water works well. We have a reliable system of boilers to heat the water that is tested daily. If there are many people in the hostel and they just agree to take a shower at the same time the only thing that happens is that the water takes a little longer to warm up, but guess what, it keeps coming hot in all the showers.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2019 via mobile

The staff at Happy House made our first visit to Santiago so easy and pleasant! From booking shuttles to storing luggage, they are so friendly and helpful. Rooms w/ private bathrooms are beautiful and spacious. The atrium and courtyard are wonderful places to wind down from one outing and plan the next! We will be back.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lanigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2019

Dear Lanigal,

Thanks a lot for your good evaluation and the great description about what we do at Happy House which is to try to provide the best experience to all our customers. We hope to get your visit again soon.

Greetings from the entire Happy House Hostel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews