We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
JESSESPRING413
Wendell, Massachusetts

Nice hostel in Santiago

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Jun 2016via mobile
I stayed here for a week, and had a good experience, the staff was friendly, and spoke some English. There is a pool area , and pool table(not in the best shape, but), and ping pong, lots of space to chill, and free internet. But I really appreciated the staff when I had a a bunch of friends over for a going away bbq/party, in the common area with the pool and all. They were very cool about it.
Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review
Responded 28 Jun 2016
Dear Jesse,

Thanks a lot for your great your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit.

Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$220
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.9 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$138
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
$309
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $229
  • Booking.com
7.1 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
$245
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
5.1 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$253
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Novotel
    $314
6.0 km from Happy House Hostel
$199
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Mercure
    $228
1.6 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $59
  • Booking.com
2.7 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $301
  • Priceline
8.5 km from Happy House Hostel
Free parking
Pool
  • Novotel
    $350
  • Expedia.com
    $295
  • Hotels.com
9.0 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Aerial
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $214
  • Expedia.com
    $265
9.6 km from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Santiago
Reviews (900)
Filter reviews
900 results
Traveller rating
433
315
92
43
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
433
315
92
43
17
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 900 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2016

We stayed at the Happy House for a week while building with Habitat for Humanity. The staff were wonderful and helpful and the rooms were very cute and clean. Great experience. Breakfast daily, free wi-if, and lots of events through the hostel. Also a great place to make new friends!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LFS1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Dear LFS,

It´s always a pleasure for us to have you here. We are very happy to have received your great feedback and hopefully we can se eachother again soon.

Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

It was great. It was very quiet. Rambling authentic building with good services and amenities. Good breakfast and friendly staff. Front desk staff helped me a lot with some IT problems. And then the airport bus was only a block away and a few blocks into the cbd. I'll stay there again.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodney E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

Dear Rodney,

We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit.

Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

The building is old and beautiful and they have done a great job remodeling and decorating, you kind of feel like in a palace. There are plenty or areas to lounge and relax indoors or outdoors, by the pool. The rooms are spacious, beds wide and comfortable. The bathrooms are big and clean.
Staff was friendly and helpful. We came back to stay here on our second stop in Santiago.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahbnyc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

Dear Sarah,

We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit.

Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

The staff were very helpful and friendly. The whole place was overall clean and tidy but being an old building the sounds travel a lot - from squeaking floorboards to other guests talking in the kitchen until 1am...which is ok unless you are a light sleeper.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank fhshewj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2016

Dear Jessica,

We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit.

Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here to attend the Lollapalooza Concert. We had not booked and they were able to book us in for 5 nights on the spot which was great.

We stayed in a private room with private bathroom. Gorgeous high ceiling and period window with shutters.

Breakfast was good, staff lovely and English speaking. Location was great also.

Only concerns were poor wifi connection and being on the ground level it was extremely loud and disturbing hearing people walk on the higher levels.

I used ear plugs when I sleep anyway so it didn't affect me, but my boyfriend didn't use them and was really frustrated.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 362belindah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Dear Belinda,

We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment. Regarding to the wi fi connection, unfortunately it gets slowly when the hostel is full and most of guests are using it. We have tried to get a better connection from the supplier (Movistar), however and because of the area we are located, it`s not available at the moment. Same similar situation with the noise when the hostel is full, especially for these massive events like Lolllapalooza. Anyway we are working on our procedures in order to improve this matter.

We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit.

Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews