We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful National Park”

Purple Mountain (Zijin Shan)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$96.00*
and up
Private Nanjing Sightseeing Day Trip from...
Ranked #7 of 403 things to do in Nanjing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

This park is easily accessible by metro from Nanjing. We got there late afternoon so didn't get to see everything. Go earlier in the day especially if you want to walk between the historic sites. They also limit number of people at a time so you might have to wait.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Jammie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"cable car"
in 18 reviews
"purple mountain"
in 37 reviews
"sun yat sen"
in 13 reviews
"great hike"
in 3 reviews
"tourist attractions"
in 4 reviews
"natural beauty"
in 3 reviews
"scenic area"
in 5 reviews
"historic sites"
in 2 reviews
"dr sun"
in 4 reviews
"nanjing city"
in 5 reviews
"taxi driver"
in 2 reviews
"take photos"
in 2 reviews
"lots of shops"
in 2 reviews
"ming dynasty"
in 5 reviews
"walk around"
in 3 reviews
"metro station"
in 2 reviews
"long walk"
in 2 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2018

It's a great hike. Or catch the cable car. Potentially great views if smog/haze isn't too bad. The nature park is very nice

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank cricketfanBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

A wonderful area near Nanjing on a huge site. As with alot of Chinese parks they still have busy roads going through them and lots of shops. Very few English signs so take a translation app. If you are visiting the mausoleum, make sure you book before hand or check that it is open access.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Iain K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

This place is hige which involves lots of walking. Suggest to get a tour guide & private car to get to this place.
Dr Sun Yat Sun mausoleum had a great view of nanjing which is rewarding at the end of your walk.
Go to the Ming Xiaoling Mausoleum is situated closed to Purple Mountain.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Fun8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

We visited the Purple Mountain park today and we believe it might be a bit overrated. I believe it is because we were finishing our tour around key Chinese cities of Beijing, Shanghai, Hangzhou, Wuzhen so Nanjing was the last one on our way. After 5 star views from skyscrapers and pagodas in Shanghai and beautiful palaces and water parks of Beijing and Hangzhou I doubt that you will be impressed by Nanjing.. so it really depends what’s your itinerary. Also, as we didn’t have a guide, it was extremely (!!!) hard to navigate around park. During approximately 5h there we met 2 people who were able to speak English. Even though, some people were willing to help (using dictionary etc.), others were basically just saying ‘no’ in a super rude way...It was disappointing... especially in the area where there was no other service desk, so you basically had to handle the situation by yourself. You have to have lots of patience to stay calm in that kind of situations.
The park area is itself huge! Be ready for multiple pathways and stairs. If you’re not too much into walking/climbing- follow the tourist buses but keep in mind that staff might speak only Chinese and not be able to read latin letters in your English map.
Also- we were not able to reach famous mausoleum of Sun Yatsen because it was only on appointment - which had to be made 1 day before visiting.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Oli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Purple Mountain (Zijin Shan) also viewed

 

Been to Purple Mountain (Zijin Shan)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing