We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local traditional cuisine ”

Nanjing Impressions (Shiziqiao)
Ranked #5 of 2,775 Restaurants in Nanjing
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

I was invited by business friends to this local restaurant to taste traditional Nanjing cuisine
We booked a private room it was nice and cozy the service was excellent and the waitresses were very elegant in traditional silk outfits
The service was efficient and friendly and the food was of good quality
The atmosphere was nice full of local people and families having good food and fun
Unfortunately I do not like some of the traditional dishes but my Chinese colleagues assured me that they were very well cooked
Be prepared for an interesting array of tastes very different from the Chinese cuisine you might be accustomed to
You must try the duck blood soup if you feel up to it
The duck in brine is too salty
Dumplings were good
Sorry but no idea of the price as I was a guest

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank LillyGirl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2018

Located next to the underground train exit, convenience to go. This is one of the must-visit restaurants in Nanjing. Once you enter the restaurant, you may understand why. It may take you back to olden China a hundred years ago. There are a lot of choices for the local foods and prices are considered reasonable.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank d821yip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

1. Interesting great and friendly service
2. Food - pick from a sheet of paper 12-15 dishes by friends. all local imperial dishes that I never had before.
a. We like te pork dish
b. Lamb dish
c. Chicken dish
d. Aviod internal dishes
e. Local Nanjing Noddle dish
f. Dumpling is great too
3. Atmospheric - Different, traditional Imperial model settings.
4. Table and seats - like seating outdoor restaurant. Told was traditional ordinary Nanjing people style.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Fun for a good dinner...cool to take someone who has never been. Lots of great dishes here, especially the vegetable dishes

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DaveR2798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

Very nice deco and made you feel like in old age chinese restaurant.
there are few open kitchen area so you can see what they are making.
Reasonable price , avg.10-15 US per person.
Good food and we will come again for sure

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patrick_batman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Nanjing Impressions (Shiziqiao)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing