We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,703)
Filter reviews
4,703 results
Traveller rating
2,385
1,778
406
81
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,385
1,778
406
81
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car close to the airport outlet mall big buddha free shuttle tung chung ngong ping lantau island city gate airport hotel premier lounge minutes from the airport shopping centre between flights an early flight mtr station welcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 4,703 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for a couple of hours just for stretching legs between two 12-hour flights. We found the beds very comfortable, and everything in order. However, the food was not that good. The room was a little bit pricey, however, Hong Kong hotels are expensive anyway.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 583rebecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCitygate, Manager at Novotel Citygate Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 583rebecam

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and your 5star review.

We do very much appreciate your positive comments about our comfortable beds.
We have also noted your comment about our food and would like to learn more about which food/dining option was not as per your liking. If you wish you could contact me via greg.hoehn@accor.com and I will share the comments with my team.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we do hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Greg Hoehn
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

As a tourist, my family and I we're looking for a strategic place that would make it convenient for us to commute to Disneyland and back to the airport when it's finally time to depart and Novotel Citygate hotel hit the mark.

It has a very elegant interior and with a relaxing ambience from the lobby all the way to the rooms. The view was spectacular and allowed us to see the cable cars beside the mountains. All these plus the fact that the outlet stores are easily accessible since they are linked with the hotel building.

None of the experiences stated above would matter if it weren't for the very courteous staff this hotel has. We appreciate the very courteous hotel staff especially Mr. Alexei Bautista who like us, also happens to be a Filipino. He assisted us with our baggages upon arrival and was so accommodating. Aside from Mr. Bautista, was another Filipino staff cleaning the room beside ours. While we were unpacking our baggages, he was kind enough to lend his help when we asked for his assistance. The hospitality didn't stop there as we were also assisted by a female staff, who was a Hongkong local.

Overall, the hotel stay was an enjoyable one and given the chance to come vsck, we'd definitely stay at Novotel City Gate Hotel again! It is something worth looking forward to. I invite everyone looking to book a hotel in Hongkong to try their hotel. It is one of the best if not the best in Hong Kong. :)

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank jakeunique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCitygate, Manager at Novotel Citygate Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear jakeunique

Thank you for your 5 stars review.

It is a pleasure to receive such encouraging feedback and we are delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed the warm hospitality extended by our young passionate team. Thank you for the amazing photos you shared and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel during your next visit to the vibrant City of Hong Kong!

Kind regards

Greg Hoehn
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2019

I had a quick layover in HK and booked Novotel Citygate based on a recommendation from a friend.

Getting to the hotel from HK Airport was easy via their complimentary shuttle bus service. Once I go there check in was easy and the rooms were nice. I stayed in a superior room which had everything I needed and had a great view of the mountains and cable cars.

The Essence restaurant was great and the buffet dinner and breakfast had enough variety to cater for most peoples tastes.

The Hotel is connected to the outlet shopping mall if you want to do some last minute bargain hunting and the train station located underneath can take you into the city.

Would highly recommend if you find yourself with a layover in HK.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCitygate, Manager at Novotel Citygate Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Ben M

Thank you very much for your great feedback!
We are very delighted when we receive five star comments from our valued guests.

Thank you also for highlighting our Essence restaurant with its variety for breakfast and dinner.

We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Greg Hoehn
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2019

Sometimes i don't know where to start with this hotel, had such a bad experience. Worst hotel ever, the bathroom had black fungus, stained carpet in the room, old furniture, dusty TV cabinet, loose bulb under bed table and screw on the floor which could have hurt my kids. All the proof on photos i took, when complained with the hotel management via mail, they even proposed a suite which i declined. Well Novotel, Thank you to have your rooms properly cleaned and checked for other guests .

Date of stay: December 2018
1  Thank varmab2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCitygate, Manager at Novotel Citygate Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear varmab2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with our fellow readers here on Tripadvisor.com.

First of all we are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectation during your stay. We are very conscious about the feedback from our guests and we try to make all our guests feel welcome and comfortable.

As soon as we have received your feedback during your stay, your concerns were highlighted within our team and were taken very serious. We have tried to make your stay more pleasant by offering the upgrade, which was declined, and giving small surprises such as amenities and toys for your kids. Once again we are sorry that you had to experience the service shortfalls during your stay.

We would be pleased to welcome you back here at the Novotel Citygate during your next travels to Hong Kong in order to convince you about the quality of our services. Please, don’t hesitate to contact me in order to arrange your stay with us and to give us a chance to revise your opinion about our hotel.

Kind regards

Greg Hoehn
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2019

Hotel was nice, comfortable and fairly close to the airport via a short shuttle bus ride. It is connected to a small shopping mall with some outlet stores for global brands like Coach. We ate in the restaurant on the first floor and the dinner and breakfast buffet were pretty good. We stayed here on our last day/night in Hong Kong so it was convenient and relaxing without having a crazy rush to the airport. I would recommend staying here if you want to be close to the airport or if you have activities in this part of Hong Kong.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Vacation26689351471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCitygate, Manager at Novotel Citygate Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Vacation26689351471

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and your recent stay with us!

We have read with interest your comment about our restaurant and mentioning that you did enjoy the buffet experience.

Hopefully we will able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Greg Hoehn
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews