We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit Pricey, Average Food, Unsmiling Staff”

Crystal Jade La Mian Xiao Long Bao (IFC)
Ranked #434 of 14,738 Restaurants in Hong Kong
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central
Reviewed 21 January 2014

At Tsuen Wan Plaza we were attracted by chefs preparing shao lum bao in rainbow colors so we went in to try. Greeted by an unsmiling staff who seemed unhappy to see us, we were served by an equally grumpy server who did not speak much english. Although the ambience was very good, we felt unwelcome. Another server however came to our rescue with a smile and was ready to entertain our questions. We were happy to tell her that black truffle meant mushroom and foie gras meant duck liver which were two of the flavors featured in their multi flavored pork dumpling (shao lum bao). Although tasty enough, I was not impressed by the various flavors except the black truffle which was very good! Other flavors were vegetable, shrimp, spicy beef, spicy chicken and cheese. Cost: HK$88. The rice ball in the middle is dessert- cloying, excessively sweet, not a good companion for the sho lum bao. It was not explained to us so we were surprised that it was not pork dumpling. Be careful as they charge HK$4 for cold water and another HK$4 for hot tea which they automatically serve to you without informing you that they charge you for it See if you can order just the black truffle flavored shao lum bao, then it will all be worth it.

Date of visit: January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 68faithn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 126 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Everything I have ever tried here is delicious, the dumplings, vegetables and meat dishes, but the pork and black fungus noodles beats them all, the bezt ever. Come before 12 for lunch to avoid waiting 20+ minutes.

Thank Brazuca00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Our daughter took us for lunch here and it was very well organised, with well prepared, tasty food. The menu is in English, with accompanying pictures so it is easy to order, although you may be surprised (but pleasantly) with what turns up at the table as it is not the usual traditional Cantonese dimsum. We were not disappointed as the quality of the food is good and well priced, which is surprising given the upmarket location. Tea is frequently topped up. In addition to dimsum items there are a variety of noodle, rice and meat /fish dishes. Get a number as you arrive and look at the electronic board for your number to come up. There is no pre-booking but we didn't have to wait for long-weekends would be much busier.

Date of visit: January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wrinklyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Great value, broad menu and good food. Sampled a bunch of dishes from Shanghai dumplings, to noodles to vegetables. All the dishes had great taste and delivered quickly. We actually ordered another set of the dumplings, just too good!

Date of visit: December 2013
Thank Jedda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

For excellent dim sum make Crystal Jade your first choice. Amazing Xiao Long Bao (my favourite in the city), great green beans and mince and also chicken with chlli and cashews. Our only problem is we love these dishes sooo much we never seem to select anything else from the menu!
Head before or after lunch as you can guarantee from 12-1, there will always be a queue.
The best quick, easy and cheap meal in HK.

Date of visit: November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HollyPollyPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Crystal Jade La Mian Xiao Long Bao (IFC)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
New Zealand
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.