We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bread of the highest quality”
Review of Bakehouse

Bakehouse
Ranked #18 of 284 Bakeries in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Tai Fat Hau
Description: Bakehouse is an artisan bakery & café born in Hong Kong. We craft artisanal baked goods in house, for you. Our selection of products are ever-changing, in harmony with Chef Grégoire Michaud’s inspiration and seasonal products’ availability. We create naturally leavened sourdough breads, danish and fine pastries using time-honoured artisanal traditions and methods. All our baked goods are handmade every day with fine flour from the traditional Suire Mill in France and the best premium and seasonal ingredients, by a team of passionate and highly skilled bakers and pastry chefs led by Grégoire.
Reviewed 11 June 2021

Wanchai has a fair share of bakeries. Gone are the days when sourcing decent bread was an issue. Bakehouse has raised the bar to a whole new level, and the quality of the produce could easily hold its own against European equivalents.
The egg tarts are iconic, and the limits imposed on purchases (12) are a result of that.
The sourdough bread is addictive.
Downside is the queue outside which is 20-30 people deep. However the staff are BRILLIANT and move everyone along quickly. I visit multiple times a week, and it never gets old.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank geophilhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2021 via mobile

We had breakfast that day.
This was our order: Matcha donut and mocha, very creamy matcha custard. Waffle with Blueberry and americano.
A lot of ppl come to line up for freshly baked pastries, especially for the egg tarts (just my observation). When i was dining in, the egg tarts were already sold out. I had to wait for another round after i checked out, very popular even early in the morning ;) i admit i love their egg tarts too haha

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank lumic0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2021 via mobile

...which seemingly stand permanently outside this branch as well their one in Soho. (Though I was lucky enough to walk straight in, which is rare.) My Cubano sandwich and pain au chocolat were both wonderfully tasty, especially the former, which is often done badly the world over. It had a perfect balance of taste and texture and I loved it! Service was super quick and friendly too, meaning that people who are waiting outside always have a hope of getting a table soon.

Date of visit: March 2021
25  Thank TheOExpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2021

It's possibly one of the best pastry and egg benedicts in HK that always has a line up.

The reason for their good reputation is about the fresh baking, gd value for money.

However, i don't recommend for spending so much time lining up, given there are plenty similar cafe nearby.

Let's try to pick the table near the open bakery where you can perk the baking process, it's part of the delight in dining in BakeHouse.

recommended dish - shakshuka, mushroom toast, all pastries, egg tart

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DayTrip816575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2020 via mobile

Honestly, so overrated. Prices for the pastries are more expensive than four seasons.

The croissants are nice. Crispy, flaky and soft on the inside... similar to M&S but half the price.

Admittedly, I haven’t tried everything... but so far I’m disappointed.

Date of visit: November 2020
3  Thank bettycJ5030QN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bakehouse also viewed

 

Been to Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.