We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Nearby Hotels
New World Beijing Hotel(Beijing)
US$253
US$245
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$280
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$227
US$203
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$234
US$206
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$234
US$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Prime Hotel(Beijing)
US$127
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$131
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,881)
Filter reviews
1,881 results
Traveller rating
1,391
417
53
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,391
417
53
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding suitedongsi subway stationtraditional chinese furniturefamily roomnarrow alleytraditional hotelchinese experienceforbidden citytaxi driverreal chinahutong areamodern amenitiesbeijing experiencedumplingsbreakfast roomloved this hotelsmall hotel
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,881 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In the cities of China charming hotels are hard to come by. This hotel was a nice exception. In a country will an overall higher quality of charming hotels I probably would have rated this one 4 dots, but because of China 5 it is. Even though I don’t think anything was really authentic, the place was relatively small and very friendly.
We had a Chinese weddingstyle room on the ground floor with plenty of space, nice furniture and a small but adequate bathroom. The bed looked short, but was actually 2 m long and the matress was one of the softer ones we encountered on our trip. The hotel has two courtyards with seating where you can enjoy the sun.
Staff is very friendly and their English is good. Breakfast was nice and varied, it was served in a small breakfastroom. We didn’t try the bar or restaurant. There are a few good restaurants nearby. The nearest metro is at the end of the Hutong, about 10 minutes walk.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Reception staff very kind, english speaking and available.They help you for touristic guided tour and restaurant.
Chinese breakfast (vegetables salted and cooked, sesam pans, cookies) with some continental food.
Good Jasmine tea in room.
It's possible to buy souvenir in the hotel and take picture with local clothes.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Doriana70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is located in Beijing's Dongcheng District, in the middle of a traditional Chinese residential neighborhood. The hotel staff is friendly, courteous and most importantly, an English speaker. At the hotel you can eat a large and varied breakfast, which includes Chinese and Western dishes.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yair1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The reception staff at this hotel were fantastic! From allowing us to relax, and providing a cup of tea as we checked in - to organising an alternate room for us because of a smoky smell, nothing was too much trouble for them. They really wanted to make our stay a special one, and we really felt well cared for. Jaclyn in particular went above and beyond helping us many times - including booking a concert for us on a chinese website. Such a pleasure to stay and be looked after.

The hotel itself is many rooms within the a traditional Chinese Hutong compound. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, with delightful traditional chinese furnishings.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tim_Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were in Beijing for a short visit, and booked the Double Happiness because we were looking for a traditional Chinese hotel, and because of all the fabulous reviews. We were not disappointed! The building is absolutely charming with all the tapestries and artwork throughout. Each room is decorated with beautiful, different, vibrant colors and ornate furniture. The beds are on the firm side, but overall the amenities are pretty modern for such a historic-feeling place. We spoke with the manager, Oliver, who told us they are constantly upgrading to keep things looking nice, which speaks to the hotels commitment to providing a quality experience. Breakfast was amazing for such a small hotel - eggs, pastries, fresh fruit, cereal, pot stickers, and a variety of other Chinese food were available for free. We are so much we were barely able to make it out the door for our tour of the Great Wall that the hotel desk was able to secure for us.
One tip: We found out taxi drivers will say they cannot drive down the alley, but that's just because they do not want to. If you are not interested in walking the last 800m, make them drive you to the door of the hotel.
Otherwise we had a wonderful experience and would definitely stay here again should we come to Beijing.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews