We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
296
18
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
296
18
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our honeymoon mara river game drives fantastic knowledge safari experience balloon trip the hot air balloon ride wake up tent number watching hippos luxurious tents spent nights once in a lifetime food was fantastic maina patrick elephants
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2020 via mobile

Il Moran is simply the best Mara experience. The camp tents are luxurious and provide security and safety so you can enjoy the sounds of hippos bellowing and lions roaring at night. The common rooms and bar areas allow for various degrees of sociability as one prefers. The service is excellent and the food delicious - with Chef happy to cater for all preferences.

This time we were guided by Enos, who has an extensive knowledge of the park and its fauna and flora, and is a gifted vocal mimic and story teller as well. He made the game drives a thoroughly unique experience!

This is our 5th time to the Mara and 2nd to Il Moran... and I cant wait to go back. Please can we book Enos for the next one too?

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KirriAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
governorscamp, Service Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2020

Hi Kirri,

Thank you for the review!
It was a pleasure to have you back with us again this year and so glad that you are already planning your return.
If you would like to be guided by Enos next time please request for him when you are making your booking, until then, kwaheri from all of us and see you soon.

Regards,
Trix

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2020 via mobile

We loved every aspect of this camp. Only 10 luxurious tents so it is a very personal experience. Patrick the manager took an interest in each and every guest, as did his colleagues. The food was fantastic and the game drives nothing short of incredible, Kerore our guide made sure we saw everything, really close up too. The camp has no fences so you quite often you do not need to go out looking for animals, they pop by. That said the focus on safety of guests is impressive. Highly recommended.
PS splash out on the balloon trip, seems expensive but worth every penny.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Keenjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
governorscamp, Service Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Dear Keenjersey,

Thank you for this great review, I will make sure this gets to Patrick, Kerore and the rest of the IL Moran team.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the Balloon safari over the Mara, We hope to see you again one day soon.

Kind regards,
Trix Hartley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2020

There are no words to truly do Il Moran justice. We visited for our honeymoon thinking it would be a once in a lifetime trip and we left desperate to go back. We spent 4 nights at Il Moran and saw absolutely everything. All of the big 5, 4 river crossings, and so much more. The tents are incredible and the service is second to none. Special thanks especially go to Lillian the chef who couldn’t do more to please everyone and made the nicest food we have ever eaten. An incredibly humble lady who deserves a lot of recognition. Secondly, Jackson who woke us up (tent number 1 is the best!) with a beaming smile every morning and tolerated our interesting attempts at Swahili whenever we saw him (Jambo Jackson!). Finally, Maina, our guide...just wow. Maina made our experience all the more special with his fantastic knowledge of the Mara and everything within it. Every day we told him he needed to try and beat what we had been lucky enough to see the day before, and every day he did! We very much went with his guidance for what to see which paid off massively rather than asking to see a crossing and spending several hours sat waiting for one to start which we know others at the camp had done. Maina said he had been a guide for 18 years in the Mara but on our final drive, heading back to camp in the morning, he spotted a baby Dik Dik which he had been looking out for for his 18 years. This felt incredibly special to share with him and shows that there is always a surprise round the corner. Maina was the loveliest soul who we will remember forever. I cried a lot when we left! We were in a vehicle with another couple who had been to South Africa a few years before and said they had left a bit of their heart behind when they left. Initially we thought wow that is deep but now we completely and utterly understand. The Masai Mara, it’s wonderful wildlife and the fantastic team at Il Moran will always hold a very special place in our hearts. The most magical place on earth.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank HDeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
governorscamp, Service Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Dear HDeeley,

Thank you for such an excellent review!
It really sounds like you had some amazing wildlife sightings with Maina during your stay at IL Moran. Safari really does get under your skin.
Lillian, Jackson and Maina will be really thrilled to read this.

We so look forward to having you back again one day. Karibu!

Kind regards,
Trix Hartley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2019

We have been lucky enough to visit Il Moran 3 times and are about to book our 4th visit for 2020. During 2019 we visited for 5 nights in late September. Since our last visit the main area of the camp has been very tastefully upgraded with a new dining and bar area and decking overlooking the river. The tents have nice new patio areas with sloping access and the tents themselves are as usual very spacious, and very grand. The service from arrival to departure is wonderful. From the guards to the cooks to the waiters to the bar staff are great. Special mention to the guard at the gate who salutes you in and out of the camp, Philip who ensures your drinks are always ready, the drivers who are all wonderful and Patrick who manages the camp and ensures your stay is fantastic from start to finish!
From the time you wake up to the Hippos and birds in the morning, with coffee and biscuits in bed, then to the Mara and the wonders to be seen – the big five, the herds, the birds, the cats, every day is different, every corner turned an adventure. Sun rises, sun sets, wonderful landscapes. Breakfast on the plains, lunch on the Mara triangle, Sundowners under a tree watching a Leopard sitting above, or on a hill watching an Elephant herd, or seeing a new-born Tommy.
Everyone should visit Il Moran and once is not enough!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevejulieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
governorscamp, Service Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2020

Dear Stevejulieh,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for continuing to visit us at IL Moran! I am very glad you like the new style and service of the camp. We look forward to having you back this year to make more memories.

Kind regards,
Trix Hartley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2019

Our 3 night stay at IL Moran exceeded all our expectations in every way. Beautiful and well appointed luxury huge tents, amazing location on the Mara River bank, friendly staff, excellent food and most of all the wildlife sightings that were amazing. Even a glimpse of migrating zebra's between the huge crocodiles where a bonus we had not expected this time of year on this famous (National Geographic) migration hot spot. Lions crossing the river, lion kill, cheetah kill, leopard kill, we had it all thanks to our excellent and skilled guide Enos.

Room tip: All tents are located on the Mara River Bank, they are all recommended
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
governorscamp, Guest Relations Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2019

Dear Maya O,

Wow! you really did have it all, what an incredible safari. Please do return again one day for some more wildlife adventures with Enos!

All the best,

Alisa, Service Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews