We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Eco Friendly Concept I Have Ever Encountered”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basecamp Masai Mara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2011

The service at Basecamp Masai Mara was excellent, the food fresh and tasty and the rooms/tents always clean and tidy. I was especially impressed by how well the eco friendly system worked, everything is recycled, electricity run by solar panels and the locals (The Maasai) used as manpower. I really felt as part of the Masai family and it does give great hope to actually live in such a green well functional environment. Congrats!! You made it!!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisDHMagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 221 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2011

What a place!
My partner and I spent New Year at Basecamp and were delighted with everything about the place.
This started with the drive from the airstrip. We saw so many, and such a variety of animals, that we began to think someone was pushing them out of lorries just round the corner! Our knowledgeable driver knew where we would be likely to see animals large and small. At one point he stopped the car for no apparent reason, until he pointed out a huge dung beetle in the road, rolling his dung home to his lady! We even saw a whole family of bat-eared foxes, perched on a mound.
This set the tone for a magical stay. The 'room' perched on an escarpment, overlooking a water hole, which was constantly visited by animals and stunning birds. The comfortable bed and living area with private balcony. The friendly and amenable staff, always welcoming in the bar. The delicious food, eaten overlooking the waterhole and an unimaginably huge view!
The game drives were filled with even more amazing sites in this secluded part of the Mara. Being outside the park made it much more private, unlike the busy areas which are full of minivans & crisscrossed with roads.
We celebrated the new year under the most amazing star filled sky! What a way to start a new year - surrounded by the most glorious and inspiring nature and catered and cared for by the most friendly and informative staff!
I can't recommend this camp highly enough!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunGods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Basecamp is a beautiful, romantic and relaxing bushcamp in the Masai Mara. Most important for us was that is is environmentally friendly. It tries to have as little effect as possible on the ecosystem of the park. And at the same time it was very comfortable. Staff was fabulous helpful and friendly and knowledgeable during the game drives. Food and drink exquisite.
It is close enough to the surrounding community to visit and not only to see animals but to get a taste of the lives of the Masai in the vicinity. It's a must for those who care about the environment and who want to have a few pampered days, away from the hussle and bussle of daily life and experience the beauty of nature in Kenya.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlonaKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We have just spent a fabulous 3 days at Basecamp Masai Mara
From the moment we arrived it felt like we were a part of the family , the staff from the management , waiters, recptionist , guides et al were very attentive to our needs & nothing was too much
We had a great romantic dinner up in a fig tree on a platform overlooking the talek river and the game reserve it really made a special occasion so much more As for the food , this was excellent and far exceeded our expectations
Whilst the grasses were quite long our driver was amazing able to spot wildlife as tiny spots in the distance and we were lucky enough to see 4 of the big 5
The rooms were comfortable & the camp is run on an eco principle with all waste recycled including dry toilets, the power comes from solar and the free camp walk was very educational , we highly recommend it
The lodge also runs a number of community projects which you are able to visit and support
We would highly recommend staying here if you are planning a trip to the Masai Mara

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwise088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Have been to Basecamp Masai Mara twice and will visit again this exclusive safari lodge, winner of several Eco awards!
The location of the camp is superb and the wildlife and safaries are unforgettable. The Masai staff are friendly and serviceminded and make the stay excotic and comfortable. You should plan a couple of days at the Wildernes camp, where you can stay even closer to the wild animals!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kjell46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
18.8 km away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,066 reviews
10.8 km away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
239 reviews
0.9 km away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,056 reviews
10.0 km away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#8 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
224 reviews
36.5 km away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#20 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp Masai Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp Masai Mara

Address: Talek, C14, Masai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $396 - $659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Basecamp Masai Mara 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp Masai Mara provides 12 spacious and luxurious tents, bordering the Masai Mara National reserve, on a lush peninsula in the Talek River, with spectacular views of the savannah. You have your own veranda overlooking the river, bathroom en-suite with a hot solar heated shower open to the sky. Enjoy the amazing wildlife from your tent, the fig-tree platform, or in the open-air bar - a responsible approach to the classic safari ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Booking.com so you can book your Basecamp Masai Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basecamp Masai Mara Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing