We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The BEST house to stay in Lamu”
other traveller has booked this property
Beach and Sea Views from the main lounge.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beach and Sea Views from the main lounge.
Forodhani from the sea, on the beach. Forodhani swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Beach and Sea Views from the main lounge.
Forodhani from the sea, on the beach.
Forodhani swimming pool
The front entrance.
The main lounge, spacy.
View from all terraces.
Entrance to the dining room.
View from the dining room.
One of the double bedrooms.
The master bedroom.
Forodhani terrace on the beach
Sunset from the terrace.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Lamu Island, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
taterpeac...
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
“The BEST house to stay in Lamu”
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Stayed here with my two young kids (6+9 y/o), my wife and my parents. Amazing. Great combination of quiet seclusion and close to everything. The simple yet gorgeous construction transported you to far off places, and away from the pains of Nairobi! Plenty of room, lots of privacy, great communal spaces, your own splash pool, and the sea steps from your door. And its location on the corner meant we had a steady, soft and refreshing breeze. (A few friends stayed at a few places just off the coast and complained about mosquitos and too hot. We were so lucky that Forodhani house's ideal location made it immune to all of these.)

If you're going to Lamu, try everything you can to book Forodhani house! We're going back with an even bigger group next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and construction
Liked least: Tricky to find late night snacks, if that's your thing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
Assante saaaaaaaana, it was a pleasure, and that's not just words, to have you here :-) Welcome back !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma W
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
2 reviews
“Family”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in October 2015

This perfectly situated house is not only idillic but filled with excellent staff, fantastic contacts for all the fun things to do and the most amazing corners to relax in for all whom stay. Thank you to them ALL for our perfect stay and for those yet to book- don't hesitate!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
THANK YOU :-) Much much much... xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I'll Be Back!!”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in October 2015

We visited Forodhani with friends and family including young children. Our stay was nothing short of perfect. We had the most amazing time. The house is in a fantastic location with all amenities either nearby or easy to access. The community around the area are friendly and accommodating. Best of all is the service within Forodhani. We were never lacking for amazing food from Amos the chef, laughs from the rest of the staff, advice and local knowledge. We felt very welcome and very much at home. Leaving was very very difficult and we shall definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location, house and staff.
Liked least: The group before us......were a bit late checking out.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
It's your Home here, really it is :-) Much welcome anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1972Sylvi...
Nairobi Region, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A place in heaven!”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We travelled as a group of 7 (two couples, 2 teenagers and a 7 year old) and could not be more happy with our Lamu experience at Isabelle's Forodhani House. We booked directly with the owner via the website and she was extremely responsive. We discussed our beverage needs - which were in the fridge as we arrived! The menu was discussed every morning and it did not disappoint! The house is well and tastefully appointed with all of the modern requirements one may expect. It even has a projector which we hooked up to a laptop for movie evenings for the kids! The house team is great and the chef is fantastic - Ask for his home made lime ice cream pie...we still long it! The house is centrally located close to the shops and the famous Peponi Hotel for drinks. During our stay we were even blessed by the arrival of the President of Kenya right at our door steps on the pier which gave us a chance to demonstrate that a house full of Canadian, Bolivian and Venezuelan did not fear coming to Lamu - but rather embraced it. The location entails that beach-goers will need to walk down Shella for a few 100 meters to get the peace and quiet beach stretch, but this is all welcome as the place is wonderful. The activities, such as sundowners were very welcome - enabling us to "chill" at sea. The only "bemol" I would give to this property is that it can be rather busy (loud) in the morning or late at night as boats and people congregate at the bottom of the pier which can be annoying to some. We had a 3am discussion below our window and after making them notice that the house was occupied they gently moved their animated discussion away. The rooms situated at the back or on higher floors were not bothered by this. All in All would certainly return to Lamu - it has a "je ne sais quoi" feel that will not be find in any other Coastal resort in Kenya!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view when sitting in the lamu terrace chairs while sipping wine or coffee!
Liked least: The noise from passerby
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
Merci :-) Much much much. Karibu tena anytime, Sylvie!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villemus
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A whole new experience”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in July 2015

A wonderful stay, love the deco love the service love everything about the place!

Don't forget to check out the turtle reserve (organise with the hotel next door).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing