We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Hotels.com
US$123
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/04/21
Priceline
US$133
View deal
Agoda.com
US$111
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/04/21
Expedia.comUS$123
Booking.comUS$137
eDreamsUS$137
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (637)
Filter reviews
637 results
Traveller rating
233
267
98
29
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
233
267
98
29
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews iririki island central location a harbour view room small casino pool area watching the sunset happy hour tour desk vila pokies vanuatu port balconies sylvie ferry supermarket locals
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 637 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2020

Stayed here for 3 days on a work trip. The view is the best aspect. Even lying in bed you look out to the water and it is amazing to wake up to. The room is comfortable, good bed and the bathtub long enough for an evening soak. Room wifi catches well though be sure to register onto the 'rooms" wifi as the general hotel wifi drops alot or just does not catch at all. Restaurant food is amazing, tried their Sunday night roast special , had the lamb, absolutely delicious, the roasted potatoes were a plus plus. Breakfast is pleasant and a great variety to start the day off. Erima is worth mentioning as she always had a smile on which is not easy in the restaurant scene.
Beware of taxi drivers who will rip you off (as in other countries im sure) Semi, a taxi driver the hotel calls is not an honest man and will charge you at least 3 times the normal rate. The buses are a better option and you get to sightsee on the way too (bonus)
Overall a lovely stay and would recommend to others visiting Port Vila.

Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wailoku02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettina Mahieu, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2020

Dear Wailoku02

Firstly many thanks for choosing the Grand Hotel & Casino upon your recent business trip to Port Vila.
Many thanks for the fabulous review and pleased to hear that you enjoyed, our service, facilities and of course the views.
Until when next visiting,
many thanks and kind regards
Bettina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2020

The restaurant was empty apart from one other table, should have taken this as a sign and gone elsewhere to eat.
Of the 4 of us only one of us was happy with their meal.
My lamb curry was inedible, must have been reheated a number of times to be so dry, sent back to the kitchen ordered ravioli instead, this was awful and absolutely tasteless.

I have never also seen a pad Thai with chilli flakes, how on earth do you expect a child to eat that is beyond me.
The chicken curry was dry and not very tasty, the food was presented nicely, that being the only good thing about it.
The taste of Vanuatu was good, just too much sweet potato though.

And this mostly bad meal, cost us AU $231.00, very very disgusted and I didn’t eat the ravioli either, will be recommend to anyone I know travelling to Port Vila not to eat at your restaurant

Date of stay: January 2020
1  Thank JacintaNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMahieu, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2020


Dear JacintaNe

We thank you for your time to review your recent dining experience with us.

If you wish to discuss this further, please contact me directly on:
gm@grandvanuatu.com

with thanks and regards
Bettina Mahieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2020

The room, sheets and towels were always very clean and comfortable. All the rooms have an amazing sea view, even on the lower floors. We had a cocktail in the pool at the end of most days. The staff were all very friendly and often remembered our names. This hotel is very good value for money.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank zoeclipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMahieu, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2020


Dear zoeclipp,

Firstly thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel & Casino and your fabulous review.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, indeed the harbor views are wonderful and sounds like the sunset were complimented well by the cocktails.

We pride ourselves with our Melanesian hospitality, glad to hear you enjoyed our friendly team members

with thanks and regards
Bettina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2020

My wife and I stayed for eight nights in the Penthouse over Xmas / new year. We have stayed at this hotel a number of times. Rather than go through detail of the problems we encountered, we would like to thank Roy who heads up maintenance, for his input as all issues were fixed thanks to him. Again, the restaurant had issues with wait times and cold food being served. The manager got involved with our problems as we were not happy and gave us a complimentary meal. Sylvie was a real highlight amongst the wait staff and deserves a pay rise,The view from the 6th floor was divine. Charlie as usual very polite and helpful on the front desk.

We think we will need coercion to stay at the Grand again.

Overall an enjoyable holiday as the locals are so friendly which keeps bringing us back.

Mike and Joanne

Room tip: Room 603 best value in the hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike12372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMahieu, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2020


Dear Mike and Joanne

Firstly thank you for returning to the Grand Hotel and Casino and our Melanesian hospitality.

We shall pass on your comments to Roy and those team members that were highlighted and mentioned above.

Our team endeavor to extend a level of service and we do apologise for issues that were encountered during your recent stay.

We do hope that our team have the opportunity to 'welkam' you both back again in the future and please email me directly [gm@grandvanuatu.com].

with thanks and kind regards
Bettina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2020 via mobile

I was very impressed with the quality of the meals here and the service. The setting is beautiful over looking the water and irirki island.
It was however a tad expensive. Our family of 6 cost around $350 aud and one child only had a bowl of chips. They do have a happy hour, so I would plan my meal around that if you wanted to save some money.
They also have a small casino with around 6 tables and maybe 50 pokie machines. Definitely a fun environment and they serve drinks at the tables.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank SarahG363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMahieu, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020


Dear SarahG363

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the fabulous harbor views and dining experience.

The main floor of the Casino boasts 10 gaming tables and in total 130 slot machines over two levels.

Until more fun next time,
with thanks and regards
Bettina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews