We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$79
View deal
Expedia.com
US$79
View deal
Trip.com
US$74
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/05/21
Booking.comUS$98
eDreamsUS$98
PricelineUS$100
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
73
95
34
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
73
95
34
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews harbourside room air con close to town free breakfast overlooking the water great place to stay wifi sunset vanuatu cereal vila anita cocktails vatu port
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2020 via mobile

We booked and paid through through Expedia to stay at the Moorings in March 2018 for a very special celebration.

Unfortunately our flight was cancelled. Whilst our reservation was made on the basis of no cancellation, despite our pleas to the hotel to give us a credit for us to stay at a later date our request was denied.

I believe this is grossly unfair and despite my assurances to the hotel that we would spend money in their bars and restaurant at a later date.

We’re now thinking of going to Vanuatu when we’re allowed to travel but will have second thoughts about staying at The Moorings!

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank geoffm59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2020 via mobile

We stayed in March 2020 when the Covid-19 pandemic started and we could not get flights home, we met other guest from many other countries in the same situation as us stay at the hotel. We all became great friends with guest and with Anita and all the staff at The Moorings and became known as the “Corona family. The staff treated us very well in the difficult times as we didn’t know when we could get home and how long we were staying in Vanuatu. The food was very delicious and great value, as were the drinks, rooms were comfortable and clean, location is very handy to the centre of town. Definitely will come back and stay at The Moorings next time we are in Vila. Thanks again Anita and staff for taking great care of us, hope to see you soon.
Regards Frank and Sarah

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 524frankm524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2020 via mobile

It’s a great base to stay as it’s close to town and a nearby plaza. Staff are lovely and rooms are fine. Could do with better wifi it drops out all the time and barely connects. Pool is nice and the bar cocktails are yum. Breakfast is average cereal, toast etc
Just check your bill at checkout they tried to charge for the free breakfast and the two nights we had already paid.
Was going to stay two nights but we stayed for our whole stay. Thanks guys!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank aussietravel1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita Ambong, Guest Services / Front Office at Moorings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2020

Hi Aussietravel1977,

Thank you kindly for staying with us and taking your time to review our property.

We do appreciate your comments on the location ,Lovely staff with fine rooms, Nice pool and Yummy cocktails. We consider your points on Breakfast charges and will checkout the issue and ensure not to happen again.

Once again thank for your rating and sharing the moments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2020 via mobile

We stayed at Moorings and were very happy with our stay. We only planned to stay for 2 nights but decided to stay on for a further 3 to keep enjoying the beautiful sunsets and view of the lovely harbour from our room. Rooms are basic but have everything you need for a good stay. Staff are very friendly and interactive.

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank 344kirstyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita Ambong, Guest Services / Front Office at Moorings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2020

Hi 344kirstyc,

The Management and staff of Moorings Hotel , we are glad to hear that you were very happy with your stay that you had to extend for another 3 nights and enjoyed the beautiful sunset and lovely view of the harbour, thank you for your feedback on the facilities and friendly staffs. We kindly thank you for your stay with us , and for sharing your experience

Kind regards

Anita Ambong
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2020 via mobile

5 night stay with family. Rooms a little outdated, but clean and air conditioning works great. Only a 10 minute walk to centre of town . Staff are fantastic. Breakfast is very basic. Most of the meals we had at resort were great. The resort could do with updating, but it has a good friendly feel as soon as you walk in . They charge 5% credit card fee and also only give you 65 Vatu against AUS dollar when all other exchange shops pay 77 Vatu. Little disappointing.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita Ambong, Guest Services / Front Office at Moorings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2020

Dear Ben M,

We kindly appreciate your time taken to review our property with your positive feedback on the clean rooms with great air condition, Fantastic Breakfast and great meals with friendly feel/atmosphere.

We do consider your comments on the exchange rate of 65 vatu,however we do always advice our clients of that there is much better rate at the bank and Goodies Exchange in town as each property have their own foreign exchange rate.

The 5% credit card charge information is displayed on our website to inform our guests and to avoid credit card fees then cash payments should always be made, Sorry that you have found this a little disappointing.

Kind regards

Anita Ambong
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews