We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveller rating
368
104
38
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
104
38
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snorkelers cove azure restaurant infinity pool waterfront fare splash tour iririki island sunset bar ferry service damage caused minute ferry ride tennis courts overwater bungalow main restaurant cruise ship cyclone pam fish staff were amazing
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 532 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2018

We travelled earlier in the year and the setting was great. The island is conveniently located close enough to Port Villa that you can grab the ferry over, but distanced enough to afford privacy. The nightly activities were good and the staff at the tour desk were brilliant, our biggest issue was the owner of the place.

I don’t mind if the owner of an establishment wants to introduce themselves to the guests to make sure they are enjoying their stay.
I also don't mind if an owner wants to have a few drinks in their bar.
But when an owner drinks so much that they can't help but tell everyone in ear shot that they own the place - and then proceed to fall down the stairs of the casino, it casts the place in a very poor light. I would like to say this was an isolated incident, but it seemed every time we saw him he had a drink in his hand, making a mess of himself and telling whoever he could who he was.

Food was good when it came out, but the service was slow and confused. The supervisor was walking around more confused than anything looking for where food was to go. By the time it got to us it was too cold to eat and needed to be sent back. Trust me, we are not those people, but when you get served a cold plate of chicken wings you have to draw the line somewhere.

So it gets 2 stars from me, purely for the friendliness of the staff. But it is clear that the resort needs a fair bit of money spent on it and the owner is more interested on getting drunk and big noting himself than to pay attention to what is going on around him.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank Cbo_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmiririki, General Manager at Iririki Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Cbo_007,
Thanks for your feedback regarding our loverly island resort, as the incident was indeed an isolated one its hard to throw stones on somebody for over celebrating ones birthday, indeed our staff are wonderful and we treasure them greatly.

Thanks again for your review.

Warm Regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

We arranged our transfers with Iririki and although our transfer was waiting for us as soon as we landed, we had to wait almost 30min in the van to wait because the driver was waiting for someone else to give a ride to. (I think it was one of the airport staff) so we didn't arrive till after midnight. Despite it being midnight check in was good and staff was friendly and quickly arranged for us to be taken to our room and we were told to come back in the morning after breakfast to complete check in.

We booked the island fare which was nice for 2 people. They are positioned strategically so no matter which one you get, you will get a nice view of the water. Room was clean and comfortable. It was also serviced promptly each day and plenty of toiletries provided.

Food was a bit of a disappointment. Breakfast was so so and on one of the days there were so many flies that you couldn't eat in peace. Choice was meh! We also had the seafood platter which was also so so. Presented nicely and service was good but lacking in taste. The lobster tasted weird because it wasn't fresh.. probably defrosted because the meat was mush.
We also had the BBQ and Fire show. Because of the weather, the BBQ was held at the restaurant and the show near the pool area. The fire show was really good! but the BBQ wasn't much to rave about. It was a buffet and there were BBQ items which looked good but had no taste.
We had lunch at the restaurant and also at the bar and service is always good but the food had no wow factor. It was either tasteless or salty.
The only good thing about the food served was the bread rolls and pastries! (so keep the pastry chef!)

Snorkeling at the resort was really fun and plenty of fish to see. We would go back to Iririki just for this!
We also kayak around the island which was also fun.

The resort is nice and staff are very friendly and there are a lot of them. Areas of improvement would be : The food.. need taste please!, do something about the flies.. put some traps out or something so they aren't around the food, give more info to guest who have booked transfers through the resort. (we had a 7am flight and we had to ask what time our pick up will be and was told 4:30am - which was fine, but it would be nice to be given more info about what time we can check out and if we need a buggy to help with luggage etc.)
Another thing that was a let down was the noise coming from some night club (not at the resort but sound travels) We could hear screaming and partying going on each night till around 3am! If you are a light sleeper, this could be an issue.

Overall, it was a good stay.

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper, ask for rooms which aren't affected by the noise from the night club across the river.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank stugs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmiririki, General Manager at Iririki Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Stugs123,
Thank you for your review, the premium over the water fares are one of the most popular choices as well as the premium water front fares
our snorkeling is truly magnificent so much so snorkeling tours from the mainland moor their boats 10 meters off our island and our guests can enjoy it for free everyday, next time your here grab some bread from one of our friendly staff and see the fish come alive as you feed them.

Thanks again for your review.
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

My wife and I returned to Iririki resort recently for a quiet and most relaxing holiday. It was our fourth visit so we had done a lot of sight seeing on past visits. We stayed in a Deluxe apartment with a ocean view. It has a small kitchenette and a outside spa. The island itself is iconic and the staff very friendly. The snorkeling was good but a lot of the reef at the cove is still to recovery from the cyclone a few years ago. Plenty of interesting fish to see. Canoed around the island again which was a lot of fun. The meals very OK. We also celebrated my wife's birthday with an in room balcony meals and the which was lovely as 5 staff turned up to sing happy birthday with a cake which a really touching.

Room Tip: We preferred the ocean apartments to the smaller traditional faras
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmiririki, General Manager at Iririki Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Richard P,
Thank you for your review I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay at our "iconic" island, the Delux Apartments sit on the western side of the island so no doubt you would have sat on your balcony and enjoyed the most beautiful sunsets, I am also pleased to hear your wife enjoyed her birthday as indeed our friendly staff are a great asset to our island.
Hope to see you back here soon and thanks again for your review.
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

For my first resort experience, im glad it was at Iririki. Great accom,yummy food,beautiful views,lovely staff, to name a few Tehar,Tom,Darla,Frank,John...so much to do at the resort...buggy just a phonecall away if you need to get around the island, quick ferry ride to town anytime of the day, casino if thats your thing, gym,Tennis Courts, watersports, 2 pools,Snorkelers Cove.

Different activities everyday, an different entertainment every night. So much to do here you dont have to get off the island if u just want to chill out.

There was a minor issue with booking tours and we wasted a day, however a pamper by the lovely ladies at the spa and a romantic dinner at snorkelers cove certainly made up for it..

Thankyou Iririki for an amazing experience I will never forget.. Tanku Tumas xo
#Room 210
#Aotearoa

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KayW1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmiririki, General Manager at Iririki Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kay W,
Thank you for your lovely review,

Iririki Island indeed has lots to offer whether to sit and relax or enjoy the beautiful surroundings or participate in our water sports and activities, here at the island we certainly appreciate our wonderful staff as much as the guests do, they are wonderful asset to us.

Thank you again for your review and hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed elsewhere thank god, but we did pay good money to go over to the island on a Saturday night for the beach bbq and fire show, well we have learnt that it was a waste of time, we were told the event goes from 6pm till 10 pm, the night didn’t start till 6.45pm and it was introduced as the jewel casino beach, bbq and show, nothing about iririki, the food was stone cold, the host of course from the casino sat at the table of asians that he was trying to get into the casino and was overheard saying I only have get them in there once and it will be worth it. When dinner served his table just pushed and shoved in to get what they wanted first, and when the fire show started he moved his seat from the table and sat in everyone else view, even though he see the show every Saturday night, he was rude and abrupt with everyone else except the people he wanted in the casino, the drinks were very expensive so I only had 1 Tusker for $8. The night was done and dusted and we were home by 8.30pm, but the joke is now on the casino host as we then went to the grand casino and played till about 3am as we were not playing at the jewel casino because of the rudeness of the host. So he lost some revenue just because of the people that he had been shouting since there arrival including taking them to the waterfall free of charge. I just hope they didn’t waste to much money on that germ of a person (host). If you want to see a really good fire show go to Erakor island on Friday nights the food is awesome and the show was better than the jewels and it was the same fire dancers.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
10  Thank Chris an Avri... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmiririki, General Manager at Iririki Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Chris an Avil...P
Thank you for your review, our beach BBQ is one of our most popular nights with a beautiful setting great entertainment and overall a fun night, it was only last Saturday night I witnessed about 15 of our guests joining in with our staff doing the congo dance on the beach this was followed by a great night in the casino enjoying our karaoki room.

Thanks again for your review and enjoy your stay at Erakor.
Warm regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews