We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,262)
Filter reviews
1,262 results
Traveller rating
881
249
80
35
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
881
249
80
35
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscellar bareast jerusalempasha roompalm housesummer gardenlawrence of arabialeading hotels of the worlddamascus gateold citycall to prayermain buildinghistoric hoteljunior suitemodern amenitieswonderful hotelnice poolbreakfast buffet
Filter
Updating list...
462 - 467 of 1,262 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2015

The American Colony is completely unique. It is well located (7 minute walk to the Old City and a two minute walk to the Anglican cathedral), as well as being a relaxing oasis when it all gets a bit too hot. There is a strong sense of heritage and history in the general architecture, decor of common parts and the rooms. There are lovely gardens and niches to sit, drink or dine outside. There is a natural but impeccable customer service (they remember what you like very quickly!) and the food is delicious. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a courtyard room this time which had one of the few terraces overlooking the pool area. But everywhere is nice here (or at least all the rooms we've had - it was our fourth visit). This really is a very special place and, I think, very good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 16 was a real treat. Thank you American Colony
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vicki O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015

Close to the historic Old City of Jerusalem, set amongst beautiful gardens, the American Colony Hotel lived up to its boast of being a home from home to my family who enjoyed good service from friendly staff plus advice and assistance regarding the outings and trips we wanted to make. We were relieved to find that European and oriental dishes were on offer at mealtimes which suited all ages of my family. The hotel is very comfortable, architecturally beautiful, with a great atmosphere and excellent facilities. I shall definitely stay there again when I visit Jerusalem.

Room Tip: That's a hard question. All rooms are individual and beautifully decorated.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Full amenities in the room, which was very comfortable. The room would benefit from coffee and tea making facilities. The air conditioning was good and the room cool, despite the heat outside (36C). Service was at times a little slow.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015

We were staying in a nearby hotel and had read up on this place and wanted to see it. The gardens are beautiful and tranquil. We just went inside the lobby but it was nice. I bet it would be nice to stay at, maybe next time.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank LisaWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015

We chose this hotel partly for its history and partly for its reputation. We upgraded our rooms at check in to junior suites and we were not disappointed. Large, high-ceilinged rooms which have large bathrooms and secluded terraces. The hotel bar is excellent (the barman remembered our 'usual' drinks order every evening before dinner...). The restaurant is also very good with a selection of international and Middle Eastern dishes. The pool is also a great asset, especially after a hot day of exploring Jerusalem. The bookshop and gift shop are also two of the best in Jerusalem and perfect for hassle-free quality shopping.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ullans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews