We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Caesarea and Haifa Private Tour from Tel Aviv
8

Book in advance
from
$1,700.63
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Stella Maris Monastery
from $1,700.63
More Info
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
171
136
55
9
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
171
136
55
9
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews virgin mary mount carmel overlooking the mediterranean sea holy land cave elijah prophet view hermit leaflet testament latin crusader prayer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Stella Maris ( star of the sea ) is the name for this extreme location of Mount Carmel and has a few interesting sights, including the Carmelite Church, a cable car ride down to the coast area, a former monastery that serves the Israeli Navy, and a cave where the profet Elijah hid while on the run...a small parking area is available ( Tourist buses can park at the restaurant parking next to the church )

In front of the church a memorial to French soldiers massacred by the Turkish forces in 1799 while on retreat from the defeat at Akko

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Easybob2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Visited the church with friends. When we got there a Mass was going on, so we walked to the other side of the street and looked out at the view of Haifa.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank lornen407
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 June 2016

If you love sunsets like I do, or you want to understand why people love them, this is the spot.
after unfairly ignoring the fact that there is a beautiful monastery and lighthouse and even the burial spot of Eliyahu Hanavi walking distance away... all you have to do is take a short walk from the parking lot to get an incredible panoramic view of the northern coast of Israel and the city of Haifa, with a cherry on top: the perfect view of classic sun setting into the Mediterranean 365 days a year.
there are plenty of places to sit (benches or natural) and room for couples, groups and families without disturbing each others moments.
try it, you will thank me.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Daniel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 May 2016

I felt disturbed by the way tourists are allowed to move about in the church and the cave. Groups pile in, make noise and like people visiting a zoo went about taking pictures. The area outside the monastery was not beautified as befits the place and collection boxes everywhere and a souvenir shop with a mass of Christian images through which people rummage as if it were a jumble sale.... They should have enough money to beautify the garden I would think. Standing at the entrance I compared it with the Baha'i gardens ...it was day and night...and no collection boxes or souvenir shops there.... it made me really think!

Date of experience: April 2016
2  Thank Vera919
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Nice place to walk. and see the great veiws from Carmel Mounten to the beach. and be in a green area with trees shade. light walk and at the end, Bat Galim promenade.

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank hanoch1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews