We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner time with friends ”
Review of Sunset Grill & Bar

Sunset Grill & Bar
Reserve with
Sunset Grill & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #267 of 15,504 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$56
Cuisines: Japanese, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Besiktas
Description: Open since 1994, Sunset is one of the leading fine dining restaurant in Istanbul.Located on a hilltop in Ulus Park in the European side Istanbul, the restaurant has a spectacular view of the Bosphorus and the Bosphorus Bridge and overlooking to Asian shoreline. Sunset has a longstanding reputation of excellent cuisine and impeccable service. The menu includes a vast selection of specialties from Mediterranean & Turkish cuisine and a Sushi Bar was added in 2000. Additionally, in 2006 internationally acclaimed Japanese Master Chef Hiroki Takemura joined Sunset Grill&Bar and his menu includes selections from "New Japanese Cuisine". Besides being a member of the Chaine des Rotisseurs since 1999, Sunset is the recipient of many international and domestic awards. In 2002 and 2009, Sunset was selected among the best restaurants in Europe by the Zagat Survey and was selected the best restaurant in Istanbul in 2004 by Time Out Istanbul. Also, in 1998, Sunset was invited to make a presentation at the James Beard Foundation. Sunset Grill&Bar Wine Cellar Besides offering an exceptional dining experience for our customers, comprised of Turkish and International culinary aficionados , we introduced a new concept to diners in Istanbul: some of the most valuable and rarest wines from around the world are available at Sunset Grill&Bar since 2004. Our stellar wine cellar includes everything from Petrus to La Tache, Chateau Latour to Sassiccaia, and Opus One to Chateau d'Yquem - all considered some of the finest wines in the world. Since 2012, Sunset Grill&Bar is being rewarded with "Best of Award of Excellence" by Wine Spectator and is the first restaurant in Turkey to receive this award. Also in 2014, Sunset Grill&Bar is rewarded by The World of Fine Wine's Best Wine List Awards.
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Location and view is very nice.
The restaurant is located on hill and you have two side, where you can find nice view of magnificent Istanbul.
To be honest, I can’t say that food is exceptional, but is good.
Beef tartar is really good!
Probably the best time for visiting is summer time, because you can sit outside with magnificent view.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank PeterBakalski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset Grill Ba... I, Director of Sales at Sunset Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018


Dear PeterBakal,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your experience with us in Sunset Grill&Bar.

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your dinner experience and we've shared your compliments on the service you received with our team. We have also reviewed your additional comments so we may take every opportunity to improve moving forward.
We look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards,
Ebru Tansever

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Sunset is (used to be) an old well known restaurant in Istanbul with its food and service. So when you book a table there in advance for special occasions, your expectation is naturally high. But this time it was extremely disappointing. Especially the service was very very bad.. you wait half an hour for a sushi, you have to wave multiple times to call a waiter to refresh your drink, they don’t change the plates... seriously no one deserves such poor service in a fine dining restaurant like this when the price you pay considered. I think they just target majorly tourists who are basically one timers. Anyways, I wouldn’t go there again. Definitely over-rated!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank yigitTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

We had to wait 1h for the table we had reserved. Furthermore, we had to ask 4 times for the olives we ordered. Finally, we didn’t get the food we ordered. On top of all of this, the staff was impolite. Sure the view is nice from the restaurant, but so is the view from other restaurants nearby. Avoid this place!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank GM-Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

We went for dinner with my wife for our wedding anniversary. The place opens at 6 pm. The restaurant area an hour later. You can sit at the bar at first and enjoy some drinks before getting to your table. The venue has a great atmosphere. The music is calm, the waiters friendly. We ordered Peking duck and BBQ Chicken breasts. Especially the duck was amazing. The only downside is, that it is kind of expensive. For entree, 2 wines, main dish and a desert we payed 650 TL. Might be cheap if you are a tourist and pay with euro but for Turkish citizens it might me a little too much. Nevertheless, you get a luxurious dinner experience for it. Maybe not a place for "casual every day dinner". But for romantic special occasions it might be excellent

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank idris5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset Grill Ba... I, Director of Sales at Sunset Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018


Dear İdris A,

We would like to thank you very much for having taken the time to share your impressions and recommendations about our restaurant on Trip Advisor.
We are very pleased to hear that your kind words about the ambiance, the food and our service. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon for another beautiful time with us,

Kind regards,
Ebru Tansever

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

The place is stylish and elegant. The view is great, although we were indoor yet it's amazing. Our host was very professional, I believe his name is Talat. The food was really tasty . I believe in the outdoor setup will be lovely in summer.
The only disturbing thing was that I booked on line at 6 pm, I was instructed not to be late more than 15 minutes. I did my best to be there at 6,yet we waited for 35 minutes in the bar to have our table ready.. yet this didn't affect our time there.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Ihab A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset Grill Ba... I, Director of Sales at Sunset Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018


Dear Ihab A,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you on behalf of the entire team at Sunset Grill & Bar for selecting to dine with us and for your beautiful words to describe your experience.
We appreciate your recommendations to our upcoming guests and look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Ebru Tansever

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunset Grill & Bar also viewed

Istanbul, Turkey
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Sunset Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing