We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Sunset Grill & Bar

Sunset Grill & Bar
Reserve with
Sunset Grill & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #271 of 15,721 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$57
Cuisines: Japanese, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Besiktas
Description: Open since 1994, Sunset is one of the leading fine dining restaurant in Istanbul.Located on a hilltop in Ulus Park in the European side Istanbul, the restaurant has a spectacular view of the Bosphorus and the Bosphorus Bridge and overlooking to Asian shoreline. Sunset has a longstanding reputation of excellent cuisine and impeccable service. The menu includes a vast selection of specialties from Mediterranean & Turkish cuisine and a Sushi Bar was added in 2000. Additionally, in 2006 internationally acclaimed Japanese Master Chef Hiroki Takemura joined Sunset Grill&Bar and his menu includes selections from "New Japanese Cuisine". Besides being a member of the Chaine des Rotisseurs since 1999, Sunset is the recipient of many international and domestic awards. In 2002 and 2009, Sunset was selected among the best restaurants in Europe by the Zagat Survey and was selected the best restaurant in Istanbul in 2004 by Time Out Istanbul. Also, in 1998, Sunset was invited to make a presentation at the James Beard Foundation. Sunset Grill&Bar Wine Cellar Besides offering an exceptional dining experience for our customers, comprised of Turkish and International culinary aficionados , we introduced a new concept to diners in Istanbul: some of the most valuable and rarest wines from around the world are available at Sunset Grill&Bar since 2004. Our stellar wine cellar includes everything from Petrus to La Tache, Chateau Latour to Sassiccaia, and Opus One to Chateau d'Yquem - all considered some of the finest wines in the world. Since 2012, Sunset Grill&Bar is being rewarded with "Best of Award of Excellence" by Wine Spectator and is the first restaurant in Turkey to receive this award. Also in 2014, Sunset Grill&Bar is rewarded by The World of Fine Wine's Best Wine List Awards.
Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

This place gets 10/10 for the best view ever. The food is nice. It doesnt suit picky eaters. The food is like french food. Excellent for fine dining.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank bahrainia991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset Grill Ba... I, Director of Sales at Sunset Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Dear bahrainia991,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you on behalf of the entire team at Sunset Grill & Bar for selecting to dine with us and for your beuatiful words to describe your experience.

It was our sincere pleasure to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you again at Sunset in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ebru Tansever

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,087)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

Sunset grill restaurant is a place with good food and atmosphere. Looks posh and expensive. Our experience was not really good - we came for seafood and 3 out of 4 was out of stock. The only one that was left was Octopus - which was not really good. We had to go for sushi and sashimi though we didn't want it. There were not bad but far from great.
The managed refused us any discount or compliment for the inconvenience. The restaurant is not special at all - will be happy not to come back again

Date of visit: October 2018
44  Thank Reloncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Great place to get a feel of the city from a perfect curing spot! Nice drinks area with good service all around. Very well served dishes, simple but very tasty.. will definitely visit again next time I get to this majestic city

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 574anestisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset Grill Ba... I, Director of Sales at Sunset Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear Anestis K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your experience with us . We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your dinner and we've shared your compliments on the service you received with our team.

We look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards,
Ebru Tansever

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Had a family evening for a special occasion. My initial perception having pre-dinner drinks was excellent. Very attentive service with a nice atmosphere. Moved into the main restaurant for dinner which was very poor. We had seafood, Crab, Shrimp etc. Food was overcooked and generally well below average. The views are ok, if you go outside on the deck although there are many restaurants with similar views. Prices are in the higher bracket as it seems to be a very high end place. After so many reviews and recommendations to visit i left very disappointed. The drive to the location is quite a trek especially if you are staying in central Istanbul, in my opinion its poor value for money and not worth the 1 hour drive through traffic to get there, that said i have many friends who have been an enjoyed the place, but i wont return.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset Grill Ba... I, Director of Sales at Sunset Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018


Dear pburns,

As being a team in Sunset, our first goal is to serve and host our customers in the best way and make them leave satisfied from our services. Your complaints or compliments are always considered with high priority to improve ourselves.


We regret that we provided you a poor customer experience – it is exact opposite of we pride ourselves on. We value our customers and understands how important it is to offer exceptional service. We have also reviewed your additional comments so we may take every opportunity to improve moving forward.

Please feel free to contact us directly at info@sunsetgrillbar.com with any questions, requests or comments you may have in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Sunset in the near future,

Kind Regards,
Ebru Tansever

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful diner at sunset. We were wanting to go to Ulus next door but we arrived in Istanbul very late and were very pleased with Sunset

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank mv948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset Grill Ba... I, Director of Sales at Sunset Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018


Dear m v ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your experience with us We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your dinner and we've shared your compliments on the service you received with our team.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Ebru Tansever

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunset Grill & Bar also viewed

Istanbul, Turkey
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Sunset Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing