We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Palm Nest(Colombo)(Great Value!)
US$41
US$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colombo Beach Hostel(Colombo)(Great Value!)
US$30
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    US$175
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    US$214
    US$170
    Cinnamon Grand
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    US$164
    US$147
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    US$176
    US$158
    Orbitz.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Omega Regency(Colombo)
    US$50
    US$48
    Hotels.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    US$127
    US$113
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Ceylon City Hotel, Colombo(Colombo)(Great Value!)
    US$66
    US$51
    Priceline
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    US$129
    US$107
    Priceline
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (301)
    Filter reviews
    301 results
    Traveller rating
    253
    40
    5
    1
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    253
    40
    5
    1
    2
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewscommunal spacefantastic hostelsri lankainternational plugcalendar of eventsspacious kitchendouble bunkcoconut pancakesindividual lockersfree tea and coffee all daysocial hostelbig lockersnational museumrecycled materialshelped us plangood vibesair con
    Filter
    Updating list...
    39 - 44 of 301 reviews
    Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

    We stayed in the double bunk room as a group of 3. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, good size and a good bathroom. Location is ideal in a really nice area in the centre of Colombo. Staff are friendly and helpful and breakfast is great. Only comments for improvement is check in process is pretty long, check all guests passport and have a form for everyone and take a deposit for towels and key. Also better internet in the rooms would be good. I understand they want people to be sociable in the common area but some things such as making travel plans, facetime etc. it is more convenient to do in the rooms. Would stay again!

    Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    Thank c_varney333
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    bunkyardhostels, General Manager at Bunkyard Hostels, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

    Hi c_verney,

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. We're glad you enjoyed the double bunk room, that is one of my favorites :). We do apologize about the check in process taking a while. We are currently in the process of training new staff and we do have a through check in process to ensure accountability, a great service and guest safety at the same time. In regards to the internet, as you mentioned we do stand by our policy of having it only available on the ground floor. However it is available in both our dining area and our common area. Our dining area is more of a quiet secluded place to do all of the aforementioned and we even have desks set up for people to work on. We hope to see you again before you leave Sri Lanka.
    Cheers and happy travels!
    Kiran

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 April 2018

    We had a pleasant stay, the personell was very nice and co-operatief for recommendations in the City and further travel, good atmosphere, excellent breakast, quiet neighbourhoud. The breakfast is worthstaying at the hostel.

    Room Tip: Shower with a view
    Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank marliesbaijer
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    bunkyardhostels, General Manager at Bunkyard Hostels, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

    Hi Marliesbaijer,

    Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review us. We're glad that you enjoyed our recommendations and I will let the kitchen staff know that you really enjoyed breakfast. We hope that you enjoyed travelling through Sri Lanka and we hope to see you back here in the future!
    Cheers and happy travels!
    Kiran.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 April 2018

    Not only was the customer service great, but the place was awesome too.

    I was tired after two weeks of traveling for work and on my last end of a 5 country trip. I walked in around 10pm and was probably the knit pickiest customer earlier on earth to them, but they were really friendly. I wasn't horrible, but I just moaned about things that most people would have at worst listed as a con on a review. The staff was friendly and professional. I had a nights sleep and decided I was probably a backside hole and was wrong. I talked with the manager about her great night staff and she was the nicest lady as well.

    They have a well thought out hostel. From the time you get in the place the friendly staff are their to greet you at the door. When I arrived after 10pm at night most the people staying were socialising in the downstairs courtyard. They have designed it nicely and functionally as well. Internet works great.

    The kitchen and eating area is really nice as well. The breakfast was really cool. They had a few items included with the stay and a few you had to pay for. I'd take advantage of the authentic dishes they have.

    I happen to stay in a mixed dorm. It was big and spacious. The toilets and showers were near by. Everywhere in the hostel was well kept and clean. It was a really cool hostile who customer service shined when I was probably not the best customer in the building.

    The entire vibe of the place was really good as well. If you are trying to stay in a hostel with great breakfast, and in a great area, I'm 100% recommending this place.

    Room Tip: The free wifi tends to work better in the social area....
    • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank 370larryj
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    bunkyardhostels, General Manager at Bunkyard Hostels, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

    Hi 370larryj,

    Thanks so much for the long and glowing review, we really do appreciate all of the kind words and i will definitely share it with the rest of the staff. Don't worry about a thing, we understand that travelling can tire people out sometimes and it happens to the best of us :). We're glad that you ended up enjoying the rest of your stay at Bunkyard and we hope to see you back here again when you finish your travels through Sri Lanka.
    Cheers and happy travels!
    Kiran.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 April 2018

    Bunkyard Hostel is a modern, clean and vibrant hostel- well located in a quiet and high end area of Colombo. Many parks, sites, and restaurants/cafes/shops are in walking distance or a quick Tuk Tuk ride away. Staff were hospitable and helpful in planning the next journey ahead. I stayed in the girls only hostel- for $12 (including two different fresh breakfast choices), it was excellent value for money!! It is a perfect launching pad for all your Sri Lankan adventures :)

    Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Meghan O
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    bunkyardhostels, General Manager at Bunkyard Hostels, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

    Hi Meghan O,
    We appreciate you taking the time to write us such a lovely review :). There is quite a bit to do in Colombo and we are happy that you were able to see a lot of it from Bunkyard. We hope that you enjoyed your time around the island and we hope to see you at the end of your travels.
    Cheers and happy travels!
    Kiran.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 April 2018

    Great location and amazing helpful staff, who go out of their way to help you out. The breakfast on site is amazing, and the rooms are clean. Overall, this place has such a great vibe, definitely one of the best hostels I’ve stayed at.

    Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank sgs88
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    bunkyardhostels, General Manager at Bunkyard Hostels, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

    Hi Sgs88,

    Thanks for taking the time out of your day to write a review for us. Our staff work tirelessly to ensure that they are helpful for all of our guests and I will definitely pass on your kind words to the kitchen staff. We really do appreciate the high praise!
    Cheers and happy travels!
    Kiran.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews