We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”

The View Rooftop Bar
Ranked #108 of 7,121 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Diner, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The View Rooftop Bar is located on the rooftop of Duc Vuong Hotel. There is no better way to experience Ho Chi Minh City than from a lofty rooftop with buildings and streaming cars spread out far beneath you. But some bars in Vietnam’s biggest city are now charging sky high prices to go with the sky high view. That’s why The View rooftop bar at Duc Vuong Hotel is such a great place for a drink: prices for a beer start from just 20,000 VND ($1 US), and the panorama from the ninth floor takes in the full cityscape of Ho Chi Minh for some great photographs. Located on the backpacker street of Bui Vien, The View rooftop bar is easy to find; it is housed atop one of the tallest buildings on the street.The bar is spread out across the entirety of the roof and split into two main sections providing plenty of seating. In addition, there is a sort of tree house structure made out of wood and an indoor ‘party room’ with disco lights (although this is almost always empty). The most pleasant part of the bar is the area stretching off to the right as from here there is the clearest view of Bitexco Tower and the neighbouring skyscrapers of Ho Chi Minh City’s financial centre. Wherever you look in The View rooftop bar you will see colourful strips of neon lights and plenty of trees, shrubs and flowers; like its Christmastime in a garden centre! It’s a charming and easygoing interior which matches the vibe of Bui Vien Street perfectly.Beers for $1 and cocktails for $3 is unheard of at any other rooftop bar in Ho Chi Minh City so if you want to capture a breathtaking background but don’t want to break the bank The View Rooftop Bar at the Duc Vuong Hotel should be your first choice. It must be said that service at The View is excellent and the English speaking staff are happy to chat and offer advice about where to go in Ho Chi Minh. They also serve a reasonable menu of western and Vietnamese standards but ultimately it’s the cheap cocktails that keep people coming back for more.
Reviewed 13 March 2024 via mobile

We stumbled across this hidden gem while looking for somewhere a bit quieter than the bars along Bui Vien street. The bar is quite big so we were able to find a table. We had cocktails during happy hour which were decently priced and tasted good! It had a bit of a romantic atmosphere with nice music and cute lanterns and of course, you can’t beat the view from the terrace.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2024

This is a great spot to step away from the wild Biu Vien street. A good chilled bar atmosphere and generally busy with a good vibe. Gave us exactly what we were looking for - an in between of Biu Vien and a fancy cocktail bar

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Ally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 November 2023

This is great if you want to get away from the madness of Biu Vien street 8 storeys below.
Good chilled atmosphere, reasonably priced drinks (happy hour) and excellent staff.

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank GAZZA1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2023 via mobile

We went for a happy hour drink, a bite to eat and the view.

Loads of staff, but we were early, so it might pack out later.

The view really good. The food was OK, Beef with noodles (mmmm what else would you order) but seemed a little “westernized” and lacking that local touch.

BEWARE on the drink offering. See the photo. We were offered the day’s 2 for 1 cocktails (Tequila Tuesday). We did not expect other cocktails to be discounted, but it did seem that other drinks on their menu were also 2 for 1. We asked this and the answered seemed to be that wine was included. It was not.

We ordered 2 glasses of Prosecco and ended up paying for both. The first two were actually flat. Not sure two waiver realised that Prosecco should have had bubbles (lost in translation). The senior waiter did get the message and they were replaced with fresh, bubbly wine and an apology - which was good.

All in all, it sort of met the brief, just make sure the sparkling really is fresh enough when poured.

Date of visit: September 2023
Thank boxy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 August 2023

Firstly the service is terrible even though they have many staff. Lots of them standing around not attending to customers. Secondly I ordered a bramble and my partner a whiskey no ice. The waiter asked if he wanted a double and he replied yes but was served 2 shots instead of a normal whiskey glass. My bramble was certainly not one will post pictures below. I then ordered sangria to share and I specifically pointed at my partner after saying It. After about 20 mins I was given one glass of sangria and at that point we decided to leave.

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The View Rooftop Bar also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to The View Rooftop Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.