We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to hang out ”

The View Rooftop Bar
Ranked #105 of 7,107 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Diner, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The View Rooftop Bar is located on the rooftop of Duc Vuong Hotel. There is no better way to experience Ho Chi Minh City than from a lofty rooftop with buildings and streaming cars spread out far beneath you. But some bars in Vietnam’s biggest city are now charging sky high prices to go with the sky high view. That’s why The View rooftop bar at Duc Vuong Hotel is such a great place for a drink: prices for a beer start from just 20,000 VND ($1 US), and the panorama from the ninth floor takes in the full cityscape of Ho Chi Minh for some great photographs. Located on the backpacker street of Bui Vien, The View rooftop bar is easy to find; it is housed atop one of the tallest buildings on the street.The bar is spread out across the entirety of the roof and split into two main sections providing plenty of seating. In addition, there is a sort of tree house structure made out of wood and an indoor ‘party room’ with disco lights (although this is almost always empty). The most pleasant part of the bar is the area stretching off to the right as from here there is the clearest view of Bitexco Tower and the neighbouring skyscrapers of Ho Chi Minh City’s financial centre. Wherever you look in The View rooftop bar you will see colourful strips of neon lights and plenty of trees, shrubs and flowers; like its Christmastime in a garden centre! It’s a charming and easygoing interior which matches the vibe of Bui Vien Street perfectly.Beers for $1 and cocktails for $3 is unheard of at any other rooftop bar in Ho Chi Minh City so if you want to capture a breathtaking background but don’t want to break the bank The View Rooftop Bar at the Duc Vuong Hotel should be your first choice. It must be said that service at The View is excellent and the English speaking staff are happy to chat and offer advice about where to go in Ho Chi Minh. They also serve a reasonable menu of western and Vietnamese standards but ultimately it’s the cheap cocktails that keep people coming back for more.
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

This is a first time I been The View Rooftop Bar. In my opinion, the food and beverage were extremely good with reasonable prices. The staff was very friendly and useful. I will come back next week.

Date of visit: September 2016
3  Thank phutruongthang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Clover H, General Manager at The View Rooftop Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Dear Thắng T,
Thank you for visiting The View and writing us your feedback. We really happy to hear that you enjoy your time with our food and drinks. Hopefully, we have a chance to welcoming you again.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 703 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2016

Wandered up here right before close on my only night staying in the attached hotel. It wasn't very busy so I had my pick of the seating, and chose a spot right next to the balcony on the top, with a beautiful view of the city. It was nice to be higher up to enjoy a little peace and quiet (relatively, compared with the rest of HCMC, haha) after a long day of traveling. While the drinks were a little pricier than most spots, I'd say the view and the breeze made up for it. Staff was also very friendly! I had a nice chat with Ichiru Kiriyu, and she helped to make it a memorable little night-cap.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank LucyP2230
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Clover H, General Manager at The View Rooftop Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Dear Lucy P,
Thank you very much for your feedback. It's really nice knowing you enjoyed the atmosphere and the cocktail at The View. Much appreciate your recommendation. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Great view from the rooftop. The night I visited there was a live band. The staff tried to charge 3 times the normal price for a beer because of the live music

Date of visit: September 2016
2  Thank Dream809184
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tuan A, Manager at The View Rooftop Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2016

Dear Barry,

Thank you indeed for choosing our rooftop and for taking the time to write your review. The View Rooftop Bar would like to apologize for any inconvenient caused on the last event. At The View Rooftop Bar, we take our customer feedback seriously and we promise we will improve our services and adjust the menu price based on your feedback for our upcoming events. Therefore, we are really looking forward seeing you again at our rooftop bar.

Kind regards,
The View Rooftop Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We heard great things about this rooftop bar and that it a great place to visit. which it was with a great view and friendly staff but the fact that their drinks specials were misleading possibly because of translation just put a damper on our night out. charged a lot more than what we thought. Great place, good drinks and friendly staff just make sure you read everything and understand what you are getting in return

1  Thank Reagan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tuan A, Manager at The View Rooftop Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Dear Reagan K,

Thank you indeed for choosing our rooftop and for taking the time to write your impressions. The View Rooftop Bar would like to apologize for any inconvenient caused on last Saturday night. Reading your review, we believe that you may not have noticed that last Saturday night we have Acoustic Night in which we invited a band come to our rooftop bar and perform live music. We still provide a regular drink menu whereby we only charged 10000 VND (0.45 USD) per drink as a small entry fee for our event, no other hidden fees were charged on that night.

In addition, we are still offering our Happy Hour + promotion whereby you can get 1 free cocktails (either signature or classic) when you buy 2 cocktails from 5pm to 11pm at our rooftop bar. The View Rooftop Bar admitted this misunderstanding was caused by one of our staffs who had not explained to you clearly about the event and the menu on that night. For that reason, once again, we deeply apologize to any of your dissatisfaction and we truly hope that you can visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The View Rooftop Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Visited on a Saturday night. The waiter gave us a menu and we immediately found the price to be extremely higher than market. We asked for the Vietnamese menus and were told they didn't have one. We finally got one and the prices on the English menu are 2.5x more than Vietnamese. Total scam. Even hotel reception desk lied to us, and swore at us when we said we would post to trip advisor. Avoid at all costs

4  Thank bradleyo809
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tuan A, Manager at The View Rooftop Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Dear Bradley O,

First of all, on the behalf of Duc Vuong Hotel, The View Rooftop Bar would like to apologize for any inconvenient caused on that night. We would like to clarify that the menu that we used on that Saturday night was the special menu that only being used for our events. Since you may have noticed that last Saturday night we have Acoustic Night in which we invited a band come to our rooftop bar and perform live music to all of our guests.

On the other hand, we still provide our guest a regular drink menu for cocktails whereby we only charged 10000 VND (0.45 USD) per drink as a small entry fee for our event, no other hidden fees were charged on that night. In addition, we are still offering our Happy Hour + promotion whereby you can get 1 free cocktails (either signature or classic) when you buy 2 cocktails from 5pm to 11pm at our rooftop bar.

Once again, we deeply apologize to any of your dissatisfaction and our rooftop bar would like to seek for your understanding and we truly hope that you can visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The View Rooftop Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The View Rooftop Bar also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to The View Rooftop Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.