We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome spot away from the crowds and chaos!”

The View Rooftop Bar
Ranked #103 of 7,060 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Diner, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The View Rooftop Bar is located on the rooftop of Duc Vuong Hotel. There is no better way to experience Ho Chi Minh City than from a lofty rooftop with buildings and streaming cars spread out far beneath you. But some bars in Vietnam’s biggest city are now charging sky high prices to go with the sky high view. That’s why The View rooftop bar at Duc Vuong Hotel is such a great place for a drink: prices for a beer start from just 20,000 VND ($1 US), and the panorama from the ninth floor takes in the full cityscape of Ho Chi Minh for some great photographs. Located on the backpacker street of Bui Vien, The View rooftop bar is easy to find; it is housed atop one of the tallest buildings on the street.The bar is spread out across the entirety of the roof and split into two main sections providing plenty of seating. In addition, there is a sort of tree house structure made out of wood and an indoor ‘party room’ with disco lights (although this is almost always empty). The most pleasant part of the bar is the area stretching off to the right as from here there is the clearest view of Bitexco Tower and the neighbouring skyscrapers of Ho Chi Minh City’s financial centre. Wherever you look in The View rooftop bar you will see colourful strips of neon lights and plenty of trees, shrubs and flowers; like its Christmastime in a garden centre! It’s a charming and easygoing interior which matches the vibe of Bui Vien Street perfectly.Beers for $1 and cocktails for $3 is unheard of at any other rooftop bar in Ho Chi Minh City so if you want to capture a breathtaking background but don’t want to break the bank The View Rooftop Bar at the Duc Vuong Hotel should be your first choice. It must be said that service at The View is excellent and the English speaking staff are happy to chat and offer advice about where to go in Ho Chi Minh. They also serve a reasonable menu of western and Vietnamese standards but ultimately it’s the cheap cocktails that keep people coming back for more.
Reviewed 8 September 2016

An oasis in Bui Vien! Came here with a few friends for some drinks for the first time, and we loved it! Great location with fabulous views of the city, extensive and affordable drinks menu provided by awesome staff! Will definitely come again...soon! Highly recommended!

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank TheGypsyClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tuan A, Manager at The View Rooftop Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016

Dear Chris E,

Greetings from The View Rooftop Bar. How wonderful to receive such a nice message of compliments. Thank you indeed for choosing our rooftop and for taking the time to write your impressions. It is always a pleasure to be able to pass on such positive feedback to the team members who contributed to the success of your visit. I am delighted that you liked the dinner from our service to our menu. At The View Rooftop Bar, we always try to strike the balance between the affordable prices and the variety of food, drink on our menu. I am happy that that is noticed and appreciated by you.

Thank you for the recommending words. Please do visit our rooftop bar often as we always have the new events coming, looking forward to it.

Kind regards,
The View Rooftop Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

704 - 708 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Amazing service, waitress Phuong was very helpful and really kind! She gave good menu suggestions. Would recommend coming, prices are really good, they have a happy hour with some dishes from 35000 which I often used. Thank you everyone at the View!! :)

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank georgeaS9771EP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tuan A, Manager at The View Rooftop Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear George A,

Thank you for your review and we enjoyed providing you with a good dining experience. We are glad that you liked the dishes served and setting of the restaurant. It is also very great to read that you pleased with our service. Furthermore, Mrs.Phuong would like to send her thank to you as well, she is very happy to hear that you liked her food suggestion and service. Thank you for finding the prices we charge excellent value. It would be nice to welcome you back again, looking forward to it.

Kind regards,
The View Rooftop Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

This place is super lovely. Comfy couches, fans to cool you down, friendly service and reasonable prices. We spent the best part of an afternoon here while staying at the hotel in the same building. It was very relaxing! The serving sizes for food are very generous, and lovely cocktails as well. Such a highlight of our time in HCMC!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ms_LJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tuan A, Manager at The View Rooftop Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear Ms_LJ,

Thank you for leaving a review and for choosing The View Rooftop Bar. I am glad that you liked the lunch experience and commented positively on our food, drinks, and service. Our staff takes great pride in what they do and are always more than happy to assist you and contribute to a most comfortable lunch. I am also very grateful your feel our place was one of the highlights of your trip.

Thank you once more and it would be nice to welcome you back again, Ms_LJ. Until then may all the best things be with you.

Kind regards,
The View Rooftop Bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

I love this place
Quit
very clean
good staff
it's in the busy area but you can have rest here cause it's very quit
specially the roof terrace
nice place for a coffee

Date of visit: August 2016
2  Thank Romain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tuan A, Manager at The View Rooftop Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear Romain B,

Thank you for your review and we enjoyed providing you with a good experience in a relaxing atmosphere. We are glad that you liked the setting of our rooftop bar. It is also very great to read that you pleased with our service. It would be nice to welcome you back again, looking forward to it.

Kind regards,
The View Rooftop Bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

If you are walking by 185 Bui Vien in the evening, most likely, you will be stopped by a very beautiful girl named Hanna. She has a smile and personality that will melt your heart - men and women alike. She will direct you to head upstairs to The View Rooftop Bar and Restaurant located on the roof of Duc Voung Hotel. Hannah is the perfect person to get people to visit but once you visit the first time, there will be a second and third and more if you have the time and Hannah will become the perfect girl you say Hi to as you visit again.

The View Rooftop is an open air bar and restaurant. You can chose several views outside or sit under the roof. Of course the view is limited if you chose to sit under roof.

I have been to the Rooftop many times and not so I can just say Hi to Hannah, although it is a perk. The views are stunning, the staff is wonderful and at your beckon call, and the food and drinks are delicious and very reasonably priced.

The Rooftop menu has all the local foods and a wide variety of Western foods. There are plenty of items to choose from. The drinks are excellent - you may choose a standard drink or you may want to be adventurous and try one of the Rooftop's own drinks. Either way, you can't go wrong.

So, come by and meet Hannah and enjoy one of my most favorite places in Asia.

Date of visit: August 2016
3  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tuan A, Manager at The View Rooftop Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear Mark A,

Thank you for having dinner at our restaurant and for leaving a review as well.
At The View Rooftop Bar, we do our best to deliver the best service and a wonderful dinner with the nice and romantic views and cooling open air for you.
I am pleased to read that you liked what we provided, found the foods were lovely, the drinks were excellent and enjoyed the service of the team. Hannah (Ms. Phung) was very happy to have taken care of you in your visit and she spoke highly of you. She cannot wait to see you again at our rooftop bar, so please do come by if you visit Ho Chi Minh city.

Thank you once again for the very kind words in your review and we do look forward to welcoming you back,
Kind regards,
The View Rooftop Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The View Rooftop Bar also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to The View Rooftop Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.