We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, wonderful staff and great food and drinks!”

The View Rooftop Bar
Ranked #105 of 7,098 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Diner, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The View Rooftop Bar is located on the rooftop of Duc Vuong Hotel. There is no better way to experience Ho Chi Minh City than from a lofty rooftop with buildings and streaming cars spread out far beneath you. But some bars in Vietnam’s biggest city are now charging sky high prices to go with the sky high view. That’s why The View rooftop bar at Duc Vuong Hotel is such a great place for a drink: prices for a beer start from just 20,000 VND ($1 US), and the panorama from the ninth floor takes in the full cityscape of Ho Chi Minh for some great photographs. Located on the backpacker street of Bui Vien, The View rooftop bar is easy to find; it is housed atop one of the tallest buildings on the street.The bar is spread out across the entirety of the roof and split into two main sections providing plenty of seating. In addition, there is a sort of tree house structure made out of wood and an indoor ‘party room’ with disco lights (although this is almost always empty). The most pleasant part of the bar is the area stretching off to the right as from here there is the clearest view of Bitexco Tower and the neighbouring skyscrapers of Ho Chi Minh City’s financial centre. Wherever you look in The View rooftop bar you will see colourful strips of neon lights and plenty of trees, shrubs and flowers; like its Christmastime in a garden centre! It’s a charming and easygoing interior which matches the vibe of Bui Vien Street perfectly.Beers for $1 and cocktails for $3 is unheard of at any other rooftop bar in Ho Chi Minh City so if you want to capture a breathtaking background but don’t want to break the bank The View Rooftop Bar at the Duc Vuong Hotel should be your first choice. It must be said that service at The View is excellent and the English speaking staff are happy to chat and offer advice about where to go in Ho Chi Minh. They also serve a reasonable menu of western and Vietnamese standards but ultimately it’s the cheap cocktails that keep people coming back for more.
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

If you are walking by 185 Bui Vien in the evening, most likely, you will be stopped by a very beautiful girl named Hanna. She has a smile and personality that will melt your heart - men and women alike. She will direct you to head upstairs to The View Rooftop Bar and Restaurant located on the roof of Duc Voung Hotel. Hannah is the perfect person to get people to visit but once you visit the first time, there will be a second and third and more if you have the time and Hannah will become the perfect girl you say Hi to as you visit again.

The View Rooftop is an open air bar and restaurant. You can chose several views outside or sit under the roof. Of course the view is limited if you chose to sit under roof.

I have been to the Rooftop many times and not so I can just say Hi to Hannah, although it is a perk. The views are stunning, the staff is wonderful and at your beckon call, and the food and drinks are delicious and very reasonably priced.

The Rooftop menu has all the local foods and a wide variety of Western foods. There are plenty of items to choose from. The drinks are excellent - you may choose a standard drink or you may want to be adventurous and try one of the Rooftop's own drinks. Either way, you can't go wrong.

So, come by and meet Hannah and enjoy one of my most favorite places in Asia.

Date of visit: August 2016
3  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tuan A, Manager at The View Rooftop Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear Mark A,

Thank you for having dinner at our restaurant and for leaving a review as well.
At The View Rooftop Bar, we do our best to deliver the best service and a wonderful dinner with the nice and romantic views and cooling open air for you.
I am pleased to read that you liked what we provided, found the foods were lovely, the drinks were excellent and enjoyed the service of the team. Hannah (Ms. Phung) was very happy to have taken care of you in your visit and she spoke highly of you. She cannot wait to see you again at our rooftop bar, so please do come by if you visit Ho Chi Minh city.

Thank you once again for the very kind words in your review and we do look forward to welcoming you back,
Kind regards,
The View Rooftop Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 712 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2016

Go here whenever I'm in Saigon for cold beers and rooftop breeze and a cool view. Winning. Really friendly service and reasonable prices. Good to escape the hot streets. :)

Date of visit: December 2015
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tuan A, Manager at The View Rooftop Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear James R,

Thank you for writing your kind review and for visiting our rooftop bar. The staffs and I are delighted that you have an enjoyable time at The View Rooftop Bar, from service to drink. I am very gratefull your feel "the view" was one of the highlights of your trip.
We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staffs as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We look forward to another opportunity to host you at The View Rooftop Bar and once again, thank you for your nice comments!

Kind regards,
The View Rooftop Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Great views. Hannah and Long were very friendly and helpful to us as visitors to the area sharing heir experiences with us. Well done and keep it up.

Date of visit: August 2016
3  Thank kreilly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Clover H, General Manager at The View Rooftop Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Dear kreilly2,
Thank you very much for your visit to The View. We make sure to share your compliments to our staffs and they would be very pleased to know that as well. Thanks again for sharing your experience at our place and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

We spent a great couple of hours in the rooftop garden indulging in some of the happy hour cocktails. The free chips with the original cocktails (I think that's what they called it on the menu) were really welcome - a large plate full and perfectly cooked! The coconut smoothie is also very delicious and highly recommended. A really chilled out vibe which is in stark contrast to the street below.

Date of visit: August 2016
2  Thank Dirk_Schmoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Clover H, General Manager at The View Rooftop Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Dear Dirk_Schmoker,
A warm welcome back to The View! Thank you so much for the kind words that have brightened our day here! Your continuous support gives us a great deal of motivation to keep up the good job. We will make sure to relay your compliment to the service team, who we believe would be vey happy. With them, all of us look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Bui Vien is fun, noisy and chaotic. If you want to escape for a while this hotel has a rooftop bar with friendly staff, modestly priced drinks and a great view. It was nice to be able to chat to my waitress Hannah in perfect English about my son's travels and her plans.

Well worth at least a drink and some photos.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank robtrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Clover H, General Manager at The View Rooftop Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Dear robtrust,
Thank you for visiting The View and writing us your feedback. We really happy to hear that you enjoy your time with our drinks. Hopefully, we have a chance to welcoming you again.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The View Rooftop Bar also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to The View Rooftop Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.