We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and happy hour cocktails!”

The View Rooftop Bar
Ranked #106 of 7,108 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Diner, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The View Rooftop Bar is located on the rooftop of Duc Vuong Hotel. There is no better way to experience Ho Chi Minh City than from a lofty rooftop with buildings and streaming cars spread out far beneath you. But some bars in Vietnam’s biggest city are now charging sky high prices to go with the sky high view. That’s why The View rooftop bar at Duc Vuong Hotel is such a great place for a drink: prices for a beer start from just 20,000 VND ($1 US), and the panorama from the ninth floor takes in the full cityscape of Ho Chi Minh for some great photographs. Located on the backpacker street of Bui Vien, The View rooftop bar is easy to find; it is housed atop one of the tallest buildings on the street.The bar is spread out across the entirety of the roof and split into two main sections providing plenty of seating. In addition, there is a sort of tree house structure made out of wood and an indoor ‘party room’ with disco lights (although this is almost always empty). The most pleasant part of the bar is the area stretching off to the right as from here there is the clearest view of Bitexco Tower and the neighbouring skyscrapers of Ho Chi Minh City’s financial centre. Wherever you look in The View rooftop bar you will see colourful strips of neon lights and plenty of trees, shrubs and flowers; like its Christmastime in a garden centre! It’s a charming and easygoing interior which matches the vibe of Bui Vien Street perfectly.Beers for $1 and cocktails for $3 is unheard of at any other rooftop bar in Ho Chi Minh City so if you want to capture a breathtaking background but don’t want to break the bank The View Rooftop Bar at the Duc Vuong Hotel should be your first choice. It must be said that service at The View is excellent and the English speaking staff are happy to chat and offer advice about where to go in Ho Chi Minh. They also serve a reasonable menu of western and Vietnamese standards but ultimately it’s the cheap cocktails that keep people coming back for more.
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

We spent a great couple of hours in the rooftop garden indulging in some of the happy hour cocktails. The free chips with the original cocktails (I think that's what they called it on the menu) were really welcome - a large plate full and perfectly cooked! The coconut smoothie is also very delicious and highly recommended. A really chilled out vibe which is in stark contrast to the street below.

Date of visit: August 2016
2  Thank Dirk_Schmoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Clover H, General Manager at The View Rooftop Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Dear Dirk_Schmoker,
A warm welcome back to The View! Thank you so much for the kind words that have brightened our day here! Your continuous support gives us a great deal of motivation to keep up the good job. We will make sure to relay your compliment to the service team, who we believe would be vey happy. With them, all of us look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

711 - 715 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2016

Bui Vien is fun, noisy and chaotic. If you want to escape for a while this hotel has a rooftop bar with friendly staff, modestly priced drinks and a great view. It was nice to be able to chat to my waitress Hannah in perfect English about my son's travels and her plans.

Well worth at least a drink and some photos.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank robtrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Clover H, General Manager at The View Rooftop Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Dear robtrust,
Thank you for visiting The View and writing us your feedback. We really happy to hear that you enjoy your time with our drinks. Hopefully, we have a chance to welcoming you again.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

We wanted to have a few drinks whilst overlooking the city. It was nice to get above all the chaos and relax whilst looking at all the lights for a while. There was a great selection of drinks which were good value for money also.

Date of visit: August 2016
3  Thank bentI3468MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Clover H, General Manager at The View Rooftop Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Dear Ben T,
Thank you for visiting The View and writing us your feedback. We really happy to hear that you enjoy your time with our drinks. Hopefully, we have a chance to welcoming you again.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

I got in here sick, asking for ginger tea, and I got a delicious one with honey in a beautiful pot :)
so I decided to stay for dinner too! the waitress was so cute, I didn't even ask her and she wrote down the word ginger for me in Vietnamese and explained me where to a get fresh one :)

Date of visit: July 2016
4  Thank litamita
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Clover H, General Manager at The View Rooftop Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Dear litamita,
It was our pleasure to welcome you to The View. We are so delighted that you enjoyed everything at The View and thought well of our atmosphere, service and the food. Please do visit us again!
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

The view is wonderful at night. Sadly the service was beyond horrible. My fiancée ordered a steak, medium rare. What she received instead was a very well done piece of meat. So well done in fact she wouldn't even try to eat it. I thought no big deal mistakes happen just send it back.

Instead of just making her a new steak the staff came out and argued with her. They insisted that the steak was prepared how she ordered it. We then asked for the check and had dinner at a different location.

Date of visit: June 2016
2  Thank LostRonin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shamrock H, General Manager at The View Rooftop Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Dear LostRonin,
Thank you for dining at The View and taking the time write to us. We understand that your dining experience hasn’t met your expectation. Thank you again for the feedback in details that helps us improve our service quality as well. Much look forward to welcoming you back and offering you an entirely satisfactory dining experience.
Best regards,
Shamrock H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The View Rooftop Bar also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to The View Rooftop Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.