We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great roof top bar”
Review of Grand Hotel Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Saigon
Ranked #45 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2017

with stunning sights of the whole of Ho Chi Minh.

The location is very good and close the the markets and various other sights and shops that the city has to offer.

The hotel staff are very friendly and efficent. The rooms are a good size and the beds are comfortable. The hotel also offers a wide range of food for breakfast.

There is also a rooftop pool!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 2,338 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2017

Very nice old style hotel. Great comfort and really nicely located to reach all the good night spots such as good restaurants, bars etc.
Very comfortable rooms too.
There is a nice roof-top bar. May be not as trendy, but the good thing is that you can also sit inside when there is an unexpected rain shower.
Only 1 minus point: a hotel of this class should really not charge expresso's at breakfast.
Like very modern hotel nowadays these expresso's and capuchino's should be part of the breakfast menu.
Also try to get a room in the main building. The annex is ok, but then you lose time to get with the elevator (only 3 !!) to the second floor breakfast room.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JobvH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Great location, excellent staff but the desire to make room for more people added negative aspect. Our room was big enough for 2 people but hotel's management placed an extra single bed in addition to existing double bed. That made the room too small. Even access to the both sides of the double bed became impossible as it was only within a couple of inches of the wall.
The other negative side side is the shower over the bath. For people of our age it is hard and dangerous to use it. Nevertheless we were given such a room despite our request to have a walk-in shower made weeks before.
The breakfast, WiFi, aircon were excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank levr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

We chose Grand Saigon hotel because the reviews were good , and we were not disappointed.

The location of the hotel is very nice . All important tourist places like the Municipal postal office, Notre Dame Cathedral , History museum , Binh Tay Markets, opera house,coffee shops, massage Parlous and restaurants are all nearby within a walking distance of half an hour to one hour . We explored the city by walking around .

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful , though their English accent was little difficult to understand and they did not understand my English accent . We stayed on the 3rd floor in the ancient wing . The room was big and clean with a big bathroom but would have appreciated if they had kept a magnifying glass mirror which is usually found in all 5 star hotels . Also I had to ask for iron which was not available in the room. But everyday we got complimentary fresh fruits.

The buffet breakfast was very good with lots of Vietnamese and international food options . They also had a live omelette and hot noodles station .

The roof top bar was also nice , staff very friendly . And they have kept binoculars to view the city and the Saigon river from the 20th floor .

There was some road works going on in front of the hotel and the drilling noise was a little disturbance . But if the balcony doors were closed , we could not hear it very loudly .

We liked the hotel very much. We used Uber which were readily available and less expensive than the taxis .

The city is full of 2 wheelers so we have to be careful while walking and crossing the roads . But the Vietnamese people are very friendly and adjusting while driving their cars or riding their bikes .

Overall I liked Ho Chin Minh city.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Subir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Stayed for four nights recently , Great location , superb roof top bar , Clean large rooms with comfy beds . Breakfast buffet very good catering for all tastes , lovely staff and almost forgot fantastic swimming pool area on the 2nd floor . would definitely recommend .

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Craig-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 km away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#19 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,802 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#39 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,114 reviews
0.5 km away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#57 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#21 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,859 reviews
0.5 km away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#12 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,809 reviews
1.1 km away
Sofitel Saigon Plaza
Sofitel Saigon Plaza
#25 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Saigon

Address: 8 Dong Khoi St., Ben Nghe Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#22 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#23 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#28 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#34 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $135 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Grand Ho Chi Minh City
Grand Hotel Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing