We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,564)
Filter reviews
2,564 results
Traveller rating
1,036
1,038
330
104
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,036
1,038
330
104
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old wing rooftop bar breakfast buffet swimming pool dong khoi street opera house reception staff star hotel tour desk egg station central location post office within easy walking distance location is excellent stayed nights pho mekong delta
Filter
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 2,564 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2017

We stayed 4 nights at the Grand Hotel Saigon at the end of our first visit to Vietnam. We did get a bit of advice on the best part of Ho Chi Minh City to stay and that advice was certainly right. It's easy walking distance to many good restaurants and sits amongst a few of the interesting remains of the French colonial city. Our room was large, the bed the biggest we have seen, and we never heard a sound from staff or other guests. Hotel staff were very helpful, the pool was good (and set within the old section had a feel quite different from the usual resort pools), and the rooftop bar delightful. The pool is in a quadrangle within the 'Ancient Wing', which might be the choice for another visit. Breakfast (included) was the usual sumptuous range but had a strange deficiency; the free espresso coffee offered at all our other hotels was absent and the extra charge it carried was exorbitant.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henrytran1930, Duty Manager at Grand Hotel Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Dear Tom B,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with such kind feedback.

It’s great to read that you found our quality hotel with comfortable room, helpful staff and great location.

We do hope that we will be seeing you back to Grand Hotel Saigon in the future.

Best regards,
Henry Tran
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

Just returned from holiday in Vietnam, had first 2 nights in the Grand then onto Vung tau for 10 days, Back to the Grand for final 2 nights, a beautiful hotel, with friendly staff. Pool area good, rooftop bar is brilliant good views of Saigon river. The river cruise and meal is a must if you are staying in this city. 1

Date of stay: May 2017
Thank winnorthyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henrytran1930, Duty Manager at Grand Hotel Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Dear winnorthyorks,

I am delighted to hear you had a wonderful experience with us at Grand Hotel Saigon.

Please be assured I sincerely appreciate your lovely comments and do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,
Henry Tran
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

This is a great place to go for a drink ...or two. They have a live band/singer from 8pm. The drinks arent cheep however are comparable to other hotels and the atmosphere is relaxed with great views. The hotel is lovely and worth a visit.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank ironfamilyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henrytran1930, Duty Manager at Grand Hotel Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Dear ironfamilyNewZealand,

I am delighted to hear you had a wonderful experience with us at Grand Hotel Saigon.

Please be assured I sincerely appreciate your lovely comments and do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,
Henry Tran
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

Old style built in 1935. Pool relaxing although at ground level.
Good starting place if arriving after 10 8 hour flight from Melbourne.
Located about an hour drive from airport in district 1. Local beer cold but dont get used to automatic cold beer in in Vietnam.
Did tunnels tour and war museum is a short taxi ride.

Room tip: ask about a room overlooking pool
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henrytran1930, Duty Manager at Grand Hotel Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear David B,

Thank you for taking your time to provide your feedback following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear you had a positive experience with us and look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
Henry Tran
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

What a beautiful Hotel. From the moment you enter the foyer you are greeted by very friendly staff and a luxurious, grand marble entrance. Check-in went smoothly but on reaching our room on the 14th floor we were disappointed with the small size of the room and the view from the window. The room was not really big enough for a couple! Don't get me wrong, but on booking, we were expecting a view of the courtyard or the pool not the back of old buildings. The room was very clean, bed extremely comfortable but bathroom quite small as well. The breakfast buffet was the best we had in all of Vietnam and the choice was amazing. Elvis was very welcoming and his staff extremely polite. The Hotel is within walking distance to many attractions, markets and Restaurants. The roof top bar was very pleasant but couldn't believe I paid AU$28 for four scallops for a main meal and a piece of broccolini! Don't order seafood. Reception was very helpful when checking our outgoing flight and their English was very good. The pianists who played every afternoon were absolutely wonderful - we were so moved by their talent. This is a Grand Old Hotel with lots of old world charm but you don't always get what you think you booked!

Room tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a river view. Be careful and choose a spacious room otherwise you will be falling over each other!
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gibbfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henrytran1930, Duty Manager at Grand Hotel Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear gibbfamily,

Thank you for your kind feedback following your recent stay with us and I hope to welcome you back to Grand Hotel Saigon soon.

Best regards,
Henry Tran
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews