We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location & staff”
Review of Grand Hotel Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Saigon
Ranked #46 of 475 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2015 via mobile

If a regular visitor or your first time to Saigon, you would find it difficult to beat the location and staff for helpfulness.
Business or pleasure being your driver here this spot will enable a great set of local experiences to be had.
Our preference is the original rooms overlooking the pool with the colonial set up, that said the more recent/modern tower attached is also more than well appointed.
Staff are most helpful

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank 763Kiwi_traveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

598 - 602 of 2,334 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2015

We stayed here for four nights at the end of our holiday and it was our fifth hotel, so we had a lot to compare it with. We had a comfortable room on the sixth floor, nice and spacious as was the bathroom, where there was both bath and separate shower. The only negative comment I have about the room would be that the hanging space was extremely limited. The view was just onto other buildings, but then this is more or less what I would expect in a city hotel, so no complaints there.

The hotel is located just a short walk from the river and lots of places of interest. Those places that were a little further can easily and fairly cheaply be reached by taxi, of which there are always an abundance.

We were on a bed and breakfast basis but there are lots and lots of places to eat close by with an large choice of cuisine. Try Jaspas just opposite, in the main road, for a good choice of both local and western food.

Very good selection at breakfast. Free wifi. Staff helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2015

We stayed for a brief weekend back in January. The hotel was the choice of a friend who we were meeting up with and probably not the usual type of hotel we would choose, however having said that we were very impressed.
Our river view luxury suite had a huge bathroom, good size bedroom and living area, a second loo near the front door and was immaculately clean.
The room was very quiet with a beautiful view. The hotel is in a great central location with a very nice rooftop bar. The pool area was small but pleasant with ample sun loungers and all of the staff we encountered polite and helpful.
The breakfast buffet whilst having a reasonable amount of choice was average in quality but overall I found the hotel extremely good value for money and would return.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertyboy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2015 via mobile

The hotel has a policy that couples (with Vietnamese female, whom I am) need to show the certificate of marriage. The receptionist littlerally looked down on me as a prostitute since I was going with a Western boyfriend (and yeah reservation for 2 people under his name). The room welcomed us with not very pleasant and fresh smell, like the window had never been opened and they hadn't used any air freshener. We spent the whole day outside, came back and were about to go up. The other receptionist ran to stop us at the door, asked where we were going. My boyfriend said "we're going to the room", got a follow-up question, attached with a disgusting glance at me "you bring your friend?". "Girlfriend, we stay together", said my boyfriend. The man asked us for the room number and left, no "thank you". And yeah we have actually never got any "thank you" from the hotel staff! With all experiences interacting with the staff, I found it humiliating and we both were very pissed.
This is the worst hotel service I have ever experienced in my life and besides great location, I am not convinced why this is a 5 star...

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nadine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry_T1930, Người quản lý at Grand Hotel Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2015

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay at Grand Hotel Saigon and please accept our sincerest apologies for any disappointment experienced during your stay with us.

We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable accommodations and excellent services. However, We’re sorry you received poor customer service which was unacceptable. Your comment has been shared to Front Office Manager to train the attitude of our staff on guest serving and we are confident the necessary this will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction.

Again our apologies and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,
Henry Tran
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

Traditional in style and comfortable well proportioned rooms. The Grand Hotel is a good place to stay to explore the city on foot. It is close to the river and some of the lovely old colonial buildings such as the French built opera house.
We stayed on a bed and breakfast deal and the variety of the breakfast buffet was amazing. Something to suit all nationalities.
There is also a pleasant rooftop bar which also serves meals. Lovely views of the river and city. Beautiful to sit there at night.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Chrisi1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 km away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#19 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,795 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#41 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,106 reviews
0.5 km away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#57 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#21 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,854 reviews
0.5 km away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#12 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,806 reviews
1.1 km away
Sofitel Saigon Plaza
Sofitel Saigon Plaza
#25 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Saigon

Address: 8 Dong Khoi St., Ben Nghe Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#22 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#23 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#28 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#35 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $132 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Grand Ho Chi Minh City
Grand Hotel Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing