We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for business or tourism”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Continental Saigon
Ranked #66 of 475 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 22 June 2016

The Continental is an historic building and makes a great base in Saigon. It doesn't offer 5 Star luxury but it is charming, comfortable, right in the centre and a delightful place to hang out for a few days. Pluses: great location; old world feel; very pleasant staff in general; breakfast pretty good (although bread/pastries disappointing); very large rooms and ensuites; pleasant having a drink at the street-side tables outside the hotel. Drawbacks: somewhat worn at the edges - 4 star not 5; the lift is very slow so take the stairs if you are in a hurry; disappointingly the rather characterless restaurant only serves western cuisine although you can order a few Asian dishes via room service; no bar as such. Concierge/room service generally very helpful (although command of English can be limited at times) and happy to bring you an iron/ironing board etc. Note that the room has a handy 4 x multiplug in the wardrobe. Free wifi which was acceptable for email etc. Small gym has a few cardio machines and multi-weight stations. I was attending a conference at the Park Hyatt (next door) - whilst the (new) Hyatt was very smart the Continental was about a third of the price and evoked the charm of an earlier era.

Room Tip: Cheap rooms are internal. Rooms overlooking the Opera House or courtyard more expensive but the form...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheRainIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelcontinental2015, Director of Sales at Hotel Continental Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Dear TheRainIn,

We thank you for your very detailed comment which give us a chance to self evaluate our services and operation.

It's great to know that our hotel could meet your expectation and could make your trip be enjoyable despite its disadvantages. Your comment on our restaurant not having many Asian dishes available is submitted to the Food and Beverage Director for further improvement.

We look forward to your next stay with us, hopefully in the very near future.

Faithfully yours,
Tran Quynh Chi
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 243 of 1,396 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2016

A fine stylish building built in 1880 its architecture is typical of the time - designed to withstand tropical heat but with the grace and elegance of a top class hotel. The design is still relevant, with a glorious courtyard which is used for breakfast and old world common areas which have a calming affect when arriving from the hustle and bustle and heat of the streets outside.
Opposite the Opera House and in a prime location near many restaurants, cocktail bars, shops and places of interest, it is very convenient.
We booked a junior suite which was 45sq m with a large well appointed bathroom, roomy bedroom and seating/lounge area with TV.
Service was good, staff were very helpful and I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelcontinental2015, Director of Sales at Hotel Continental Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Dear Michael,

Thank you for posting an excellent review on Tripadvisor.

It is with great pleasure to understand that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are motivated by your compliments about our helpful staff, service, room and hotel location.

We would appreciate your recommendation our hotel to the public and look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely yours,
Tran Quynh Chi
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016

Was in Ho Chi Minh City last weekend to attend a wedding. Groom recommended this hotel as he used to stay here before.
It is a very old hotel but got maintained well. It is also close to many attractions, such as Opera (next door), Independent Palace, Notre Dame, and War Remnants Museum. The breakfast buffet offers a good variety of food selection.

Room Tip: Get taxi from the airport (USD 7-10), instead of using hotel limo service (USD 34)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Stayed two nights and travelled on business. Was very nice. It's an old colonial type of hotel. The breakfast was good and loved the restaurant atmosphere. The staff was always serving with a smile. The rooms although had a smell of smoke. That was the only downside.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sawasdee Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelcontinental2015, Director of Sales at Hotel Continental Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Dear Mr. Sawasdee Z.,

We thank you very much for valuable comment on tripadvisor.

It's great that you had a good time and enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We truly appreciate your generous comments on our helpful staff, breakfast in the courtyard and especially our colonial hotel.

We sincerely hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in near future.

Sincerely yours,
Tran Quynh Chi
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Excellent location next to the Opera House and central to the market, shopping, the cathedral, the river precinct etc.. Historical hotel from the French colonial era so old world charm. Big rooms and good breakfast. The rate I received was excellent value.

Room Tip: Inner facing rooms to courtyard probably the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelcontinental2015, Director of Sales at Hotel Continental Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Dear Grant T,

We thank you very much for your valuable comment of our hotel's location, room and breakfast. It is well understood that you had good time stay with and and you had enjoyable vacation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Tran Quynh Chi
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#41 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,106 reviews
0.1 km away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#21 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,854 reviews
0.2 km away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#57 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#46 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,334 reviews
0.5 km away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#19 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,795 reviews
0.7 km away
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
#28 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Saigon

Address: 132-134 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#44 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $125 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Continental Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing