We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Continental Saigon
Nearby Hotels
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$71/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Silverland Yen Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$146/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$93
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Duc Vuong Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)(Great Value!)
US$22
US$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Huong Sen Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$73
US$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Nikko Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sofitel Saigon Plaza(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$205
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$75
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Reverie Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$366
US$314
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,478)
Filter reviews
1,478 results
Traveller rating
438
620
279
85
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
438
620
279
85
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgraham greeneopera houseopera viewoldest hotelfrangipani treeshistorical hotelold damecentral courtyardrooms are hugeclassic hotelsitting areaan updatefirst floorcolonial stylejunior suitelocation is fantasticgrand hotel
Filter
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 1,478 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2016

A fine stylish building built in 1880 its architecture is typical of the time - designed to withstand tropical heat but with the grace and elegance of a top class hotel. The design is still relevant, with a glorious courtyard which is used for breakfast and old world common areas which have a calming affect when arriving from the hustle and bustle and heat of the streets outside.
Opposite the Opera House and in a prime location near many restaurants, cocktail bars, shops and places of interest, it is very convenient.
We booked a junior suite which was 45sq m with a large well appointed bathroom, roomy bedroom and seating/lounge area with TV.
Service was good, staff were very helpful and I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelcontinental2015, Director of Sales at Hotel Continental Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Dear Michael,

Thank you for posting an excellent review on Tripadvisor.

It is with great pleasure to understand that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are motivated by your compliments about our helpful staff, service, room and hotel location.

We would appreciate your recommendation our hotel to the public and look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely yours,
Tran Quynh Chi
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016

Was in Ho Chi Minh City last weekend to attend a wedding. Groom recommended this hotel as he used to stay here before.
It is a very old hotel but got maintained well. It is also close to many attractions, such as Opera (next door), Independent Palace, Notre Dame, and War Remnants Museum. The breakfast buffet offers a good variety of food selection.

Room Tip: Get taxi from the airport (USD 7-10), instead of using hotel limo service (USD 34)
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Stayed two nights and travelled on business. Was very nice. It's an old colonial type of hotel. The breakfast was good and loved the restaurant atmosphere. The staff was always serving with a smile. The rooms although had a smell of smoke. That was the only downside.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sawasdee Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelcontinental2015, Director of Sales at Hotel Continental Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Dear Mr. Sawasdee Z.,

We thank you very much for valuable comment on tripadvisor.

It's great that you had a good time and enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We truly appreciate your generous comments on our helpful staff, breakfast in the courtyard and especially our colonial hotel.

We sincerely hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in near future.

Sincerely yours,
Tran Quynh Chi
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Excellent location next to the Opera House and central to the market, shopping, the cathedral, the river precinct etc.. Historical hotel from the French colonial era so old world charm. Big rooms and good breakfast. The rate I received was excellent value.

Room Tip: Inner facing rooms to courtyard probably the quietest.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelcontinental2015, Director of Sales at Hotel Continental Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Dear Grant T,

We thank you very much for your valuable comment of our hotel's location, room and breakfast. It is well understood that you had good time stay with and and you had enjoyable vacation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Tran Quynh Chi
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016

I stayed here because of the hotel's history and superb location. I was ecstatic to find myself in the very room where Graham Greene wrote The Quiet American (although the Metropole in Hanoi claims the same but no doubt he wrote bits of it all over the place) but was rather disappointed and will not stay here again.

First the good:

Unbeatable location in the very center of Saigon overlooking the opera house.

Large, clean rooms (although mine had 2 columns in the middle) with a comfortable bed.

Very effective double glazing so the rooms are very quiet despite being in a busy location.

Friendly staff.

The not so good:

Stained carpet which looked like it had been left from Greene's time. I don't understand why hotels even have carpets in the Tropics.

Very slow internet in the room.

No bell hop to help take bags to the room and no umbrellas. I was there in the rainy season.

No pool.

Bland breakfast buffet (as as you might expect from a government owned hotel) with undrinkable coffee.

Room Tip: Room 214 was Greene's room. it is a corner room with terrific view over the opera house.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamvong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelcontinental2015, Director of Sales at Hotel Continental Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Dear Tamvong,

We thank you very much for your booking at our hotel and for your time sharing your experience of your stay at our hotel. We would appreciate your generous comment on our hotel's location and our friendly staff.

Room 214 is really worthy to stay as it locates right in the corner directly faces the opera square where Graham Green could view what happening during the war despite the 2 columns inside.

We are so sorry for some inconveniences. Your comment on these issues was forwarded to authorized department for further improvement. We are now in the process of replacing carpet by wooden floor for all of our rooms. Hopefully when you come back next time, you will be more satisfied with our hotel.

Faithfully yours,
Tran Quynh Chi
Director of Sales




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews