We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“an excellent way to see HaLong Bay, comfort and...”

Review of Garden Bay Cruise

Garden Bay Cruise - Triple cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden Bay Cruise - Triple cabin
Garden Bay Cruise - Halong Bay - Overview Garden Bay Cruise - deluxe twin cabin with large window.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
77 reviews
Garden Bay Cruise - Triple cabin
Garden Bay Cruise - Halong Bay - Overview
Garden Bay Cruise - deluxe twin cabin with large window.
Garden Bay Cruise - Open Sundeck
Garden Bay Cruise - Private Balcony
Garden Bay Cruise - early morning taichi lesson
Garden Bay Cruise - Waiting Lounge at Hon Gai Pier
Garden Bay Cruise - Waiting lounge at Hon Gai Pier
Garden Bay Cruise - Fishing Village
Visit Surprise Cave ( Sung Sot Cave)
Visit cave with Rowing boat
Private bathroom with full- toiletry
Private bathroom with full- toiletry
Restaurant - dinning room with sea view
Garden Bay Cruise - Open sundeck with sea view
Garden Bay Cruise - Overview
Garden Bay Cruise - Morning Tai Chi Lesson on Sundeck
Garden Bay Cruise - Morning Tai Chi Lesson on Sundeck
Garden Bay Cruise - visit fishing village
Garden Bay Cruise - Including Kayaking
Garden Bay Cruise - Cooking Class
Garden Bay Cruise - Overview
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
12 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Jan M
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“an excellent way to see HaLong Bay, comfort and friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 13 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We spoke to people who had also stayed on other boats who said Marguerite was a much better experience.
The boat was clean and comfortable with good bathroom facilities.
All staff very friendly and helpful with good English language skills. Food was excellent, with outstanding presentation.
Our guide was knowledgeable and informative as well as being friendly and committed to making everyone welcome and fostering communication between all groups of passangers.
Would definitely recommend this cruise

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chk86
india
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good cruise experience”
Reviewed 10 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

I had chosen Marguerite cruises based on TA reviews, and had made my booking through Brilliant cruises.
1. The tour guide Mr.Thung was a great, fun and jovial guide. He made the trip very memorable for all of us.
2. The junk itself is very well appointed, I loved the wooden decor and luxurious oriental feel inside. Impeccable cleanliness.
3. We were vegetarians, and were sceptical about food. But the food was phenomenal, and we had as many dishes as the others. We absolutely enjoyed the food.
4. The pick up/drop was to and from the hotel, and the pick up vans were very good and comfortable.
5. Great value for money.

If I had to complain, it would be only that I took a pedicure in the cruise and it was one of the worst I have ever had. And it was priced too high. I heard a few other cruises offer WiFi, there was a router here but we didn't have WiFi. These are the only two complaints.
But I would definitely go with them again, as Mr.Thung said in the beginning , they had only objective, to ensure we keep smiling, and they certainly succeeded in that.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tour guide, Junk interior
Liked least: Pedicure in the spa
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edtkh
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Impeccable Service and Unforgettable Experience at a UNESCO World Heritage Site.”
Reviewed 26 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

For the benefit of potential travellers considering Marguerite for their trip to Halong Bay, note that all Marguerite Junks currently operate under the umbrella of a recently-established company Tonkin Cruise.

I have actually been on Marguerite junks twice (on board Marguerite 01 and Marguerite 02 junks) with the most recent experience coming in April 2013. My family and I had booked a 2D1N overnight cruise to Halong Bay on the Marguerite 02 junk.

All in all, we thought the junk offered terrific value-for-money and a very memorable experience to view the mesmerizing sceneries of Halong Bay. From the hotel pick-up to the actual boarding of the Marguerite junk at the Bai Chay wharf, everything is arranged seamlessly (now, passengers actually get to rest at a lounge across the Bai Chay wharf should they arrive too early for boarding the junk). On board the junk, we were well looked after by the cruise manager Mr T who takes much interest in the welfare and comfort of travellers through ensuring everything is well-explained and understood by the passengers (from safety evacuation procedures to detailed explanation of itinerary for the cruise and brief introductions of the delicacies served during meal times).

Beyond the exceptional service rendered, what marks Marguerite out is the fact that the value for money offered comes as promised - there are no hidden costs, shortchanging of travellers through cutting corners in the menu or activities listed in the itinerary (which is commonplace based on the tales offered by other travellers we met). For instance, kayaking and the hiring of a rowing boat to visit the Luon Cave (or Tunnel Cave) is completely covered by the fare you pay when booking your trip - even tips are collected on a voluntary basis through leaving an envelop at your dining table during your last meal (as opposed to having someone walk up to you with a "Tip Box" to pressurize you into giving something which is fairly common across Vietnam).

In short, what we really appreciate about Marguerite is that they truly offer what is promised at the point you sign up for the cruise. There are no schemes in place to either shortchange what you paid for or "extort" you through hidden costs.

More amazingly, the dedication and commitment of the staff we encountered from Tonkin Cruise are brilliant beyond question. On my first trip back in April 2012, I made my booking with Hoan and had arranged to meet her at my hotel on the day I arrived in Hanoi to make my payment as we planned to depart the following day. Due to a flight delay, we missed the appointment time and Hoan did not have any reservations about dropping by at our hotel again later that evening to (this occurred against a backdrop where no payment - not even a deposit - had been made prior to my arrival) finalize arrangements for our departure the next day. At the end of both my trips in 2012 and 2013, I had separately requested that I would like to have some tickets to the areas we visited as souvenir and Hoan did not hesitate to mail these tickets to my residential address as souvenir. In many ways, while we were first acquainted with many of the cruise's staff as strangers, we pretty much parted as friends.

Simply put, for a Halong Bay cruise of similar budget, the quality of amenities and service offered by Marguerite is unparalleled and would certainly serve as my port of call on my next visit to Halong Bay.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of service and amenities offered.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layne01
Palmerston North
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing experience in an amazing place!”
Reviewed 19 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were on Junk number 3 and from the beginning the tour guide (Tien) spoket perfect English about his country and introduced everyone to each other. On arrival we were met with an 3 course lunch (set menu) of seafood which was excellent.

The rooms were clean and well decorated. The dining room was immaculate. The boat was is a good condition.

Day 1 involved the cave tour, which was spectacular. Then there was the option to either kayak or walk to the top of Ti Top island which offers a panoramic view from the 180m high vantage point which was worth the walk.

The evening meal was well cooked and the service from the staff was excellent and professional. An evening activity was planned for but guests opted to relax on the deck in the evening or try their luck at squid fishing.

The morning of day 2 involved a cave tour then a return voyage through more of the spectacular Halong Bay and through one of the many floating villages.

Overall an pleasant and relaxing experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery
Liked least: The bus ride
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna_Murz
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
“a real feast for the eyes!”
Reviewed 18 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

overall my friends and I liked the trip: the boat, the food, the service were good.
And we were lucky to have Hop as our guide!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the visit to the Surprise caves area and the cooking class
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing