We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Koh Yao Yai
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
133
41
18
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
41
18
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peaceful island highly recommend this island glow elixir grand marina other islands ao por authentic thai few hours andaman sea small island seafood street food visit phuket nice beach muslim development pier
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

Big natural island aim for natural beach lovers. This island is for relaxing. Not many restaurants choices and when the sun goes down, so does everything else. This is not a bad thing, just be aware of it. Having said that, there are beautiful resorts and beaches here. I wouldn't say it is the best island in Thailand, but it is one of the most expensive islands for everything. Very friendly locals here, 90% Muslims 10% Buddhist.

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank antonr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

Wau ... that’s my favourite place of whole Thailand
Such a beautiful little island with very friendly local people.
We have been in amazing hotel with own pool in Glow elixir and we rented out scooters to explore this beautiful nature

We have stayed only 3 nights but I am looking forward to come back there with my kids

I am regretting that we stayed in Phuket and Krabi too as we didn’t have more time to stay here.

If you are looking for very calm and relaxing romantic place this is the place

Date of experience: August 2018
3  Thank Monika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

great place to stay that is not westernised or commercial. Locals are lovely and there are all the services you need like medical centre, police, 7 Eleven and local food stalls, restaurants and massage. Nice beach

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank 554haleyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

Spent 5 days at Koh Yao Yai Village resort in May 2018.
The resorts and villages on the island are quite spread out making transport essential unless you enjoy very long walks in hot humid weather.
When we visited the only bar/restaurant within walking distance was closed so we had to travel further afield.
There are numerous places strung along the main road, we ate in two of them, Jingko Bar and another whose name I don't remember but we stopped there as we had a flat tyre on the bike and had to wait or someone to come and fix it. Both places served good food.
There is quite a lot of development going on in various places and my friend mentioned several shops which were not there in 2015 when she last visited.
If you like relatively quiet, laid back places then Koh Yao Yai will suit but the danger is that in a few years' time the touristification of the island may make it more like Krabi

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank CarolineM4737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

If you are traveling to Koh Yao Yai, you must go and eat at Manee Seafood. The food is one of the best. The taste is amazing, the best yellow curry crab ever!!! And there is Wi-Fi

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Q8035GCelenaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews