We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (747)
Filter reviews
747 results
Traveller rating
282
339
95
18
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
339
95
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ban thai village night market old city main pool tucked away pool area boutique hotel an oasis hot water great boutique traditional style family room easy walking distance small hotel stayed here for nights the ground floor lovely pool
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 747 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2018

True to the reviews, this is a rustic and comfortable hotel hidden just behind the main thoroughfare. It is a short walk to the old city Tah Pae gate and a short walk in the opposite direction to the day, as well as night market. The room is rustic, yet clean and comfortable. We stayed at room 526 (which I figured, was the 5th block and on 2nd floor). It couldn't have been any better as it is away from the dining area and pool. blocks facing these can be rather noisy. And being on the 2nd floor we had a very nice veranda and bench just outside our room that we can relax and read a book. The ground floor and 3rd floor bench are not as nice.

Room Tip: Block 5 and on the 2nd floor
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kylehor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Thank you for your high rating in here and we're very happy for your comments and all staffs are delighted for your comments , we hope to welcome you at our Banthai Village for your next visit in Chiangmai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Clean, comfortable rooms with large bathroom. Located in quiet area a short stroll or tuk tuk to night market & old quarter, short taxi ride to shopping centres. Enjoyed cocktails by the pool after a hard day shopping. Highly recommend.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SanMeiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Thank you for your high rating in here and we're very happy for your comments and all staffs are delighted for your comments , we hope to welcome you at our Banthai Village for your next visit in Chiangmai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

The hotel is great, a hidden gem in the city, the staff is very friendly but the room was a mess, the DVD, the telephone, the AC remote, the safe, the sink didn’t work, for every complaint they send maintenance staff that even tho they were friendly they couldn’t fix the problems, the first night we couldn’t sleep because of the mattress,pillows and the laundry (they seemed to be washing since 10 pm to 6 am).
the second night we couldn’t turn the A/C (I called staff but after the third unsuccessful visit I just gave up) so we spent a very uncomfortable night.

It’s a good hotel but have to pay attention in the small details to be great.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Enrique N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you for your comment and your comments and complain are concerning about Banthai Village property which caused you unsatisfied staying with us, please accept our apologize for all. Let me clarified your complain and comments as follow;
-DVD, the telephone didn't work during your recent stay period we have the big problem with the main electricity transformer this problem is affected to our intern telephone and for some electronics in guests room and we can't immediate fix during we wait for the spare parts from Bangkok but now everything is OK.
Safety box in room the receptionists who escort you to the room and showed How to use it and we have 24 hours receptionists standby at the front desk for assist all in house guests solve the problem.
-Air-condition: I’ve received the report from my colleagues about AC remote in room 524 were lost in the room and the guests couldn’t find it in their room anymore, please accept our apologize for misunderstood due to my college he brought you with wrong remote which different brand of AC in your room but in the next day morning we bought the new one for you .On your check out after your leave the housekeeper they have found the original AC remote under the mattress in the room .

-Laundry in the night time our hotel hasn’t laundry room and all of laundry we be sent to the laundry factory outside. We wonder the noise came from and we will recheck for this noise.

Thank you for you kind understanding and Happy New Year 2018!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

We were booked in for 3 nights but could barely stay 1 night.. no hot water, no hot water for standing shower not even warm, couldn’t get hot water in sink because the more water was turned on it sprayed all over counter!
Would not recommend for people who enjoy quiet room and not recommend for people who have hard time going up and down stairs.
The room was clean but very small no place to put luggage and the wifi didn’t work, called front desk a couple if times and they kinda seemed to care but didn’t do anything to help except reset wifi but that didn’t work so we left, they gave us no refund.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Flyer477201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you for your comment and your comments and complain are concerning about Banthai Village property which caused you unsatisfied staying with us, please accept our apologize about our style the main theme of us are the Village in the North of Thailand.
(No lift and no hot water in the sink) Our main materials are teak wood and the buildings are Half-timbered.Let me clarified your complain and comments as follow;
-No hot water for standing shower we assumed that you were here during the period that Chiangmai temperature is reduce to 09-10 C' the hot water boiler machine can't adjust the temperature of water to be hot as normal.
-Couldn’t get hot water in sink because the more water was turned on it sprayed all over counter as the 1st paragraph that mentioned about our style Thai houses haven't hot water in sink and for water sprayed all over counter, please accept our apologize for this problem. No report about this problem and you didn't mentioned your recent room number which we will recheck for this problem.
-Wi-Fi not stable for many reasons such as the weather ,heavy raining and storm etc. but the technician always check it and tried to improve the quality of signal, adding the signal spots and recheck quality of signal in everyday but this problem is still remain.Once again ,please accept our apologize.I reported to our GM for the 1st priority problem should be immediate improved.
-No refund ,please understanding us the reason we may not refund for the guests check out before their schedule are the room were confirmed and blocked since we have received the booking. We have rejected the other bookings that request in the same period that we were blocked for this booking. We try to solve this problem by offering the alternative chances to the guests such as change the room. If it's not immediate we will do it in the next day or try to solve this problem for the guests until they satisfied.

Thank you and Happy New Year 2018!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for two nights and we the first night we had a lot of noise from pool bar and no hot water in shower. Staff nice but not a real good knowledge of english language. Second day no hot water in shower. Pool has only sun until 1530 hours and only 4 sunbeds for the whole hotel

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Mariette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2017

First of all thank you for recent stay with us during your last visit here in Chiangmai.
Regarding to your comments I would like to explain as follow;
-Noisy from pool bar every evening at 16H30-18H30 we have Lanna folk song show around the pool area but after 18H30 this playing will be finished and all the noise will be finished before 23H00 because of the bar will be closed.
-Hot water , we provided hot water in all rooms but sometime the guest don't know "How to use the tap " but this problem will be solved by inform our staffs and we will ready to help for all guests.
-Sunbeds we have all around the pool with 07 sunbeds and 05 sun chairs but we can't add the picture to show you in this comment due to they don't have this feature to add pictures option.

Thank you again and Merry Christmas and Happy new year to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews