We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (771)
Filter reviews
771 results
Traveller rating
415
282
60
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
282
60
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town tuk tuk night market free shuttle pool area quaint hotel lanna style fried rice small gym wat phra the hotel offers relaxing stay thai food loved this hotel large room mini bar stayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 771 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2018

We stayed here for four nights and used the hotel as a base to explore the Chiang Mai area. The location is convenient to the airport (circa 10 minute taxi ride) and is situated on the west side of Chiang Mai Old Town. The east side of the city is probably livelier at night time. However, this is just a short taxi ride away and the hotel offers a complimentary shuttle transfer each night. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from Wat Phra Singh so is a good base for exploring Chiang Mai's many temples.

The decor and layout are distinctive and lend the hotel a boutique feel. Our room was excellent - very large and comfortable. The mini bar was reasonably priced in comparison to other hotels and complimentary water was replenished daily. The wifi was to a good standard. Breakfast was excellent with a vast selection available.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OC86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Rim R, Senior Sales Executive at The Rim Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear OC86,

Greetings from The Rim Resort, Chiangmai!

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay with us. We are pleased that you liked our location with shuttle service. We also glad to hear that you enjoyed our room and breakfast. Thank you once again for your kind feedback. We wish we will have another opportunity to welcome you soon.

Best Regards,

Nantuschaporn Ekonsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

The hotel is wonderful and traditional. The swimming pool is atypique and the rooms are well equipped. The WiFi is working quite well and the breakfast is more traditional than international. I recommend families to have an experience in this hotel!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Rim R, Senior Sales Executive at The Rim Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Emma L,

Greetings from The Rim Resort, Chiang Mai!

Thank you very much for your great review shared on Trip Advisor and for choosing us for your holidays, we are pleased to hear that you were impressed with our hotel and room features. We truly appreciate you recommending us to other travelers and we hope this is not your last visit to The Rim Resort as nothing would give us greater pleasure than by having the opportunity to welcome you again.

Best Regards,

Nantuschaporn Ekonsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

We visited Chiang Mai after Bangkok. The private tour included all 4 Star hotels as a part of the package. I would not rate this as a 4 Star but more 3 Star. The room is large and the facility is very nice, I absolutely love the landscape but I did not plan to stay for just the landscape alone. Breakfast selection was not only limited but food was cold and dry due to low volume of hotel guests. 3 out of 4 nights, we were the only table having breakfast. One morning I had to ask the waiter to warm up my corn soup. However, the soup was delicious. Not located in a convenient location. Not much activities around. Since it was May and hot/humid. We weren’t able to enjoy the city by walking around. Everyday we had to take a cab to have dinner.

Stayed: May 2018
5  Thank aroundtheworldAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Rim R, Senior Sales Executive at The Rim Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear aroundtheworldAZ,

Greetings from The Rim Resort, Chiangmai!

May I begin by offering my most abject and humble apologies for your experience.
Your feedback regarding our breakfast variety and quality is very valuable to us and will be shared with our Food and Beverage team to continue to improve. I am very receptive to feedback from our valued guests suggesting ways it might be enhanced. If you could kindly take the time and trouble to contact me directly via thecanal@therimchiangmai.com with your ideas I will discuss them with our Executive Chef.

I truly wished you had mentioned your disappointment at the time as we would have done everything in our power to rectify the situation to your satisfaction. If I may take this opportunity to mention to any TripAdvisor readers considering staying with us that our guests’ total satisfaction and the prompt handling of any issues which may arise is our overwhelming priority. If you encounter anything whatsoever which does not meet your expectations kindly let us know immediately and it will be our pleasure to attend to matters.

May I end by saying that we hope to see you again in the very near future as one of our valued returning guests.

Best Regards,

Nantuschaporn Ekonsang
The Rim Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

This is a nice hotel with very traditional furnishings - if you’re looking for modern, this will not be the place for you. The garden is beautiful with fruit trees and beautiful plants. The breakfast is not the best, however, the orange juice was really delicious. Shower area needs work - lack of good ventilation creates mold - seems to be common in the region?

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank SylviaP6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

The Rim is an oasis in the centre of the historical city, the rooms are bright and big with a kingsize bed and bathroom with both shower and bath. The staff is friendly and willing to help and breakfast was delicious with a big variance. If we would visit Chiang Mai again in the future we will definitely go back to the Rim.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank arianevdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Rim R, Senior Sales Executive at The Rim Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear Arianevdp,

Greetings from The Rim Resort, Chiangmai!

May I begin by thanking you for sharing your The Rim Resort, Chiang Mai experience and it was a genuine pleasure to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and to know that the hotel facilities and surrounding area provided such a great experience for you. It was my great pleasure to know that you will return to stay with us once you have plan to Chiang Mai and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the very near future.

Best Regards,

Nantuschaporn Ekonsang
The Rim Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews