We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
85
60
29
6
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
85
60
29
6
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews airport rail link station big balcony deluxe room nice pool rooms are large nice breakfast clean hotel buffet breakfast mak hua rajamangala gym refrigerator gm
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2021

We chose this hotel for the 45 sq. meter room size and large balcony which wasn't a disappointment. The room was clean but had seen better days, the furniture is simply functional, totally lacking in charm. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Room cleaning was strange, first week nothing (we didn't think to ask) and second week every two days. As as ASQ hotel, our expectations were low so we weren't disappointed, except for the food. Meals were served at 8 am, 12 and 5 pm, (not our usual eating hours). Luckily you can heat up the food in the kitchenette. Ask for a pot and pan. Food quality was irregular, sometimes tasty, sometimes tasteless. Thai food is better than Western, but the options are limited and the cuisine was very monotonous. Since we already felt like we were in a hospital, we were resigned to mediocrity. My advice would be to bring your own condiments or seasonings to improve on the food experience. There is also the option of 7/11 but we had no idea what to order, if not junk food and drinks. So, other than fresh orange juice and honey, we ate what came. After day 6, (first covid test) you can go out for an hour a day, but walking around the pool 40 times to get some exercise is quite boring. Bring an exercise mat, (I did yoga on the balcony). The view from our 2nd story room was pleasant, lots of trees, but the noise from the overhead train and local mosque nearby was sometimes annoying. All in all, we found the hotel quite acceptable for the moderate price. We were especially grateful for the balcony, watching birds and an occasional squirrel were daily highlights. I'm sure even an expensive hotel would be frustrating, so overall, the experience was okay, given the circumstances..

Room tip: We were in building C.
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank catmonnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assistant Director of Sales, Sales at The Silver Palm Rama 9 - Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2021

Thank you very much for your review and sharing your experience staying with us. We have taken your comment to make it improvement.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards
The Silver Palm Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2020

I am staying here for ASQ. I write the review on day 8 of quarantine knowing that quite a few people are looking for ASQ specific reviews currently.

Room: I am staying in a deluxe room. Room and balcony are spacious. The room is well maintained, everything is working but you can see that the last renovation is a couple of days ago. Part of the furniture has been removed, there is for example no deck chair/sofa on the balcony. This might be due to ASQ regulations, but the interior does not correspond 100% to the pictures. Still over all I am ok with the room.

Staff/Service: Staff is very friendly and helpful, absolutely positive, Thank you! They will deliver you stuff from 711 to the room (within ASQ regulations). A hint: be precise with your order, use google translate or pictures in case of doubt.

Food: That is the downside. They claim to have a fixed schedule for meals. But except for breakfast the food is served at pretty random hours. Lunch anywhere between 11:00 and 12:30 and so far the earliest time for dinner was 15:50 (a bit like in a home for deranged elderly), the latest was 19:50 (caused by a traffic jam?). That would not be such a big issue, but also the food is lukewarm in the best case, most of the time simply cold. Taste of the Thai food is ok (farang compatible, not thai spicy unfortunately, but understandable). The quality of meat, poultry, fish and seafood is more on the cheap side. I once ordered Pad Krapao outside the included menu (extra cost) which was very good. I once ordered western food by accident, not good. My recommendation: don't order western style food, but I guess this would be a general recommendation except for 5 star ASQ locations like Shangri-La, Conrad...

Looks like they have an organizational/management issue here or just cost reduction.

Over all: if you are looking for an ASQ place with a big balcony (the key point for me) Silver Palm is a good place. Come with very low expectations regarding food, bring chili and other ingredients and you won't be disappointed. If good food is important for you, don't come here.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JohnDoeMUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2020 via mobile

I am on day 12 of my 14 day hotel quarantine here. I have read the other 2 reviews by fellow inmates and i sit somewhere in-between.

I chose this hotel simply based on the size of the room and the fact i could have a large open outdoor terrace - nothing else. And because of those 2 factors alone i have been really happy here. I opted for a 1BR residence so i could have more space and the feeling of an apartment.

The issues mentioned by someone else here, i have experienced most but have gotten over/overlooked them. I have had friends bring me 2 lots of large grocery shops to keep me going and chosen to just overlook the rest and get on with it.

I think its rough to judge a hotel based on these circumstances so i wont do so for a general stay.

I can say that in the last day or so, i have been given new towels and sheets that don’t have holes and the food has improved a little. Perhaps the feedback has been take on board.

If you want space with an outdoor terrace at what is really an inexpensive rate compared to many others then you will be happy as i am. I have spent my days working so that has helped.

Tips - bring your own soaps (neon liquid provided) plan for food alternatives. There is no booze allowed or provided - do what you must...
if you like sun, ask for an “open” terrace as some are closed and limit the sun coming in. Ask for a room that gets all day sun like mine. I also moved an indoor desk outside as there was no outdoor table provided.

Yep there is noise but i have lived in bkk for 8 years, its a noisy place.

Honestly if i had to so this again, which i probably will. I would really consider this place again and just prepare myself a little better. The terrace was and is the game changer for me.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Melbandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2020

Terrible, the food is always cold and the cheapest cuts of meat are used, full of fat and gristle, meals are served in plastic boxes at 8am, 12pm and 5pm, you might think it's a nice idea to have hot plates the kitchenette so you could warm the food but there are no pots or pans in which to heat it, the room is clean but very tired, holes in the bed sheets, plastic covers on the sofa means you stick to it when you sit on it, you can order things from the 7-11 via reception (if you know exactly what you want) but make sure you do it before 2pm and it might be delivered by 5pm, miss the deadline and you will have to wait until 5pm the next day. Problem with the internet cutting out and intermittent TV. Constant noise from the train line and main road. Do your research and choose somewhere else

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2020 via mobile

I was not looking forward to this but I have to say that the management and staff did everything they could to make my stay comfortable. Now on Day 13 the time has flown and I am almost sorry to leave. The room was large (40 m.sq.) bright and with excellent AC. There was a good sized balcony running the full length of the room. Fridge, hairdryer, kettle etc all in good working order. Shower large and fine. Bed large and very comfortable. Food Thai and European. The latter was very tasty (well done chef). The logistics of feeding so many in their rooms inevitably it is not hot when you get it but that's often the case in Thailand.
This is an inexpensive hotel for quarantine and if I need to do it again I will certainly come here. It's also good for a few nights if the location suits you Thank you Silver Palms.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank johnwD6860ZU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews