We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bankok city tour, dirtbikes, kayaks and more!”

Smiling Albino - Day Tours
Ranked #38 of 165 Outdoor Activities in Bangkok
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See a different part of the world, differently. Custom luxury tour & adventure travel company delivering unforgettable Asian travel experiences.
Reviewed 15 January 2018

What can I say that isn't fantastic about this company. We have used them several times over the last 6 years and absolutely love them. We trust them exponentially, and have learned to love their guides like family as they have been the same for most trips. This is a company that will take a dream vacation on what ever crazy level that you have in mind and make that dream come true.

We just came back from a trip with them where we used them for the whole 3 weeks with my parents, husband and myself. This included Thailand, Laos and Cambodia. We did the elephants in Chiang Mai but we chose Patara Elephant Sanctuary (Sometimes you have to do your own research on where to go) We have done this 2x and Smiling Albino were very happy to accommodate. The food tour in BKK was great. We had tons of different local dishes but the one that stands out was the fried chicken stand it was the best fried chicken we ever ate. We even stopped at a little shop to try some local "hooch" lol. We dirt biked through Chaing Mai to Chiang Rai and crossed the border into Laos. Our guides cooked for us and we picnicked along the way in the jungle and amongst small tribes in the mountains. My Dad got a little "Thai Tummy" while we were in Cambodia (no more guide cooking) and we received emails from the company (In BKK) wondering if he was ok and if there was anything that we needed to help him feel better. Wow.

The care and consideration that Smiling Albino provides for their customers is one of the best that we have ever encountered and will continue to book with them in our future travels.

Thank you Dan, Eak, Jen, Mr T, Ra, and of course Mr Song the driver. There is always cold beers, ice coffees and cool towels waiting during and after your big days of adventure.

~ Crystal

1  Thank Crystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiling_albino, Owner at Smiling Albino - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thanks for your wonderful review Crystal! Your enthusiasm and adventurous family really made this trip come alive. We're so pleased you had a great time and we are all looking forward to your next adventure with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"halong bay"
in 2 reviews
"multi country"
in 2 reviews
"elephant farm"
in 2 reviews
"se asia"
in 3 reviews
"ancient city"
in 2 reviews
"tuk tuk"
in 5 reviews
"day trip"
in 3 reviews
"long tail boat"
in 2 reviews
"golden mount"
in 2 reviews
"grand palace"
in 4 reviews
"flower market"
in 2 reviews
"adventure"
in 11 reviews
"company"
in 15 reviews
"interests"
in 4 reviews
"guide"
in 35 reviews
"sites"
in 6 reviews
"nepal"
in 2 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

I’ve been traveling with Smiling Albino and their amazing team for the past 15 years through most of Asia and even into Nepal.

This trip was another that left me smiling :) After an amazing stay in southern Thailand, we headed to Vietnam for a week of relaxation and adventures. Seamless transfers and expedited airport and immigration are always a welcome treat and a signature of the Smiling Albino brand. Our guide Duc was friendly and accommodating and very knowledgeable. The hotel in Hanoi was outstanding as was the service.

We then headed south for some Nha Trang beach heaven! Even having to accommodate our pained schedules, the Smiling team met us at 3:30am for early transfers with a smile!

After a week of beach we headed back to Bangkok for two amazing nights of food and adventure. Dan and his team have an incredible ability to keep a finger on the pulse of a constantly changing and dynamic city. 80/20 was one of the best meals I have ever had - Michel starred or not. The layered and colorful evening showed the best and hidden and evolving spots in Bangkok - a treat when you want to avoid the zombied travel blog masses.

Overall another perfect trip!

1  Thank davidcC416RW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiling_albino, Owner at Smiling Albino - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thanks David! You are the special type of guest that Smiling Albino has evolved over the years to provide great experiences for. We couldn't have done it without you. And that meal at 80/20 was exceptional. We've added it to our recommendation list!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Really disappointing experience for both of our tours. I'm a food reporter in Chicago, so the Bangkok experience had been recommended by others. Tour guide was great, and some of the stops were o.k. (satay skewers, pad thai, congee and noodle soup in Chinatown), but we spent too much time in the van, and $170 per person for four of us was just obscene. Also, having to wire the money ahead of time via bank transfer was a pain. Also, they don't take pics of the experience like every other tour company.

The Chiang Mai experience was worse. Told that the cave visit was cancelled due to low oxygen there, we drove 90 min. to see a very touristy (and sad) elephant camp where we spent 30 minutes. Great tour guide had the sense to stop on the way to show us a local market that was super cool. Then they drove us another hour to a touristy orchid farm, where we spent 20 min. Had a leisurely raft ride, but nothing special. Spent 4 hours in car for a 6.5 hour tour day. Have asked about partial refund, but company dragging its feet. Again, extremely expensive for the experience you get. Would seek out other tour companies.

2  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiling_albino, Owner at Smiling Albino - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Hi Steve and Amy, we are sorry to hear of your disappointment and do appreciate your feedback here. It is a rare review and we have examined every aspect of your trip. We don’t usually visit touristy elephant camps or orchid farms on our trips, and in this case were trying to find the best fit with the time available and your interests, and we can see that the experience did not live up to your, or our own expectations.
Our trips are carefully planned and tailored for each guest. The challenges of peak high season can sometimes interfere with these plans as on your Bangkok excursion on Christmas day and your Chiang Mai adventure on New Years Eve. In both cases, our guides made changes to the itinerary to avoid crowded sites and heavy vehicle traffic. They had learned from you that these were important concerns of yours.
On a happier note, we are pleased you enjoyed your Smiling Albino guides. The training and experience they have are part of the crucial difference that make trips memorable and sets us apart from other touring companies.
Once again we do appreciate your comments and thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We did two Smiling Albino Tours on our trip - one night food tour in Bangkok and one day trip in Chiang Mai. Our guide on the food tour was great but it was a lot of stops so beware. The food was incredible and she found some of the most unique and interesting places. One of the best soups I've ever had was on this night street food tour of Bangkok.

The day trip in Chiang Mai was disappointing. We were picked up in a very nice van with a great driver and tour guide but were told we could not do the cave part of the tour we had booked. Instead we would be visiting an orchid farm. He did make a quick stop on the way out of town so we could see a local market. That addition was the highlight of the trip as it was the most local and least touristy aspect.

After that we drove 90 minutes to an elephant ride that was very disappointing and rather upsetting. The elephants are forced to take tourists on a ride and for a 90 min drive we had a 20 minute ride. I also felt terrible for the elephants as I suspect they are beaten with the hooks the riders have in their hand. I should have researched more before the trip and asked that we go to a sanctuary instead of doing a ride. We then drove another 45 minutes to a touristy orchid farm where we only spent 20 minutes there. So it was a lot of driving for not a lot of sightseeing. Lastly we did a raft ride which was nice but not that special. If you are booking a day trip make sure you know what you are getting and if all of the driving will be worth it.

Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiling_albino, Owner at Smiling Albino - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Hi Amy and Steve, we are sorry to hear of your disappointment and do appreciate your feedback here. It is a rare review and we have examined every aspect of your trip. We don’t usually visit touristy elephant camps or orchid farms on our trips, and in this case were trying to find the best fit with the time available and your interests, and we can see that the experience did not live up to your, or our own expectations.
Our trips are carefully planned and tailored for each guest. The challenges of peak high season can sometimes interfere with these plans as on your Bangkok excursion on Christmas day and your Chiang Mai adventure on New Years Eve. In both cases, our guides made changes to the itinerary to avoid crowded sites and heavy vehicle traffic. They had learned from you that these were important concerns of yours.
On a happier note, we are pleased you enjoyed your Smiling Albino guides. The training and experience they have are part of the crucial difference that make trips memorable and sets us apart from other touring companies.
Once again we do appreciate your comments and thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

This company was fabulous!!!! They heard what we wanted to do and customized the trip for us. Fabulous guides, unique ideas and wonderful surprises for us!! They could not have done a better job in any way!!!!!!!

Thank Sfpol40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiling_albino, Owner at Smiling Albino - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Wow! Thank you so much for the rave review! We'll pass your kind words along to the entire team. Fabulous guests make our work so much easier. We hope this trip's experiences remains with you forever. We'd be overjoyed to host the next big family adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smiling Albino - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Smiling Albino - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing