We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great day in Bangkok

Myself and three of my friends spent the day touring around Bangkok with guide Kob. She was very... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
JImboNet
,
Berkeley, California
via mobile
Customized 12 day trip - loved every minute!

We (mother and daughter) corresponded at length with Smiling Albino before trip. We said we loved... read more

Reviewed 5 November 2018
Lynda T
,
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Read all 60 reviews
  
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
53
2
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
2
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews halong bay multi country elephant farm private tour of bangkok day trip ancient city tuk tuk ride grand palace golden mount adventure itinerary company asia sites guide nepal hiked
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

I’ve been traveling with Smiling Albino and their amazing team for the past 15 years through most of Asia and even into Nepal.

This trip was another that left me smiling :) After an amazing stay in southern Thailand, we headed to Vietnam for a week of relaxation and adventures. Seamless transfers and expedited airport and immigration are always a welcome treat and a signature of the Smiling Albino brand. Our guide Duc was friendly and accommodating and very knowledgeable. The hotel in Hanoi was outstanding as was the service.

We then headed south for some Nha Trang beach heaven! Even having to accommodate our pained schedules, the Smiling team met us at 3:30am for early transfers with a smile!

After a week of beach we headed back to Bangkok for two amazing nights of food and adventure. Dan and his team have an incredible ability to keep a finger on the pulse of a constantly changing and dynamic city. 80/20 was one of the best meals I have ever had - Michel starred or not. The layered and colorful evening showed the best and hidden and evolving spots in Bangkok - a treat when you want to avoid the zombied travel blog masses.

Overall another perfect trip!

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank davidcC416RW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiling_albino, Owner at Smiling Albino - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thanks David! You are the special type of guest that Smiling Albino has evolved over the years to provide great experiences for. We couldn't have done it without you. And that meal at 80/20 was exceptional. We've added it to our recommendation list!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Really disappointing experience for both of our tours. I'm a food reporter in Chicago, so the Bangkok experience had been recommended by others. Tour guide was great, and some of the stops were o.k. (satay skewers, pad thai, congee and noodle soup in Chinatown), but we spent too much time in the van, and $170 per person for four of us was just obscene. Also, having to wire the money ahead of time via bank transfer was a pain. Also, they don't take pics of the experience like every other tour company.

The Chiang Mai experience was worse. Told that the cave visit was cancelled due to low oxygen there, we drove 90 min. to see a very touristy (and sad) elephant camp where we spent 30 minutes. Great tour guide had the sense to stop on the way to show us a local market that was super cool. Then they drove us another hour to a touristy orchid farm, where we spent 20 min. Had a leisurely raft ride, but nothing special. Spent 4 hours in car for a 6.5 hour tour day. Have asked about partial refund, but company dragging its feet. Again, extremely expensive for the experience you get. Would seek out other tour companies.

Date of experience: December 2017
2  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiling_albino, Owner at Smiling Albino - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Hi Steve and Amy, we are sorry to hear of your disappointment and do appreciate your feedback here. It is a rare review and we have examined every aspect of your trip. We don’t usually visit touristy elephant camps or orchid farms on our trips, and in this case were trying to find the best fit with the time available and your interests, and we can see that the experience did not live up to your, or our own expectations.
Our trips are carefully planned and tailored for each guest. The challenges of peak high season can sometimes interfere with these plans as on your Bangkok excursion on Christmas day and your Chiang Mai adventure on New Years Eve. In both cases, our guides made changes to the itinerary to avoid crowded sites and heavy vehicle traffic. They had learned from you that these were important concerns of yours.
On a happier note, we are pleased you enjoyed your Smiling Albino guides. The training and experience they have are part of the crucial difference that make trips memorable and sets us apart from other touring companies.
Once again we do appreciate your comments and thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We did two Smiling Albino Tours on our trip - one night food tour in Bangkok and one day trip in Chiang Mai. Our guide on the food tour was great but it was a lot of stops so beware. The food was incredible and she found some of the most unique and interesting places. One of the best soups I've ever had was on this night street food tour of Bangkok.

The day trip in Chiang Mai was disappointing. We were picked up in a very nice van with a great driver and tour guide but were told we could not do the cave part of the tour we had booked. Instead we would be visiting an orchid farm. He did make a quick stop on the way out of town so we could see a local market. That addition was the highlight of the trip as it was the most local and least touristy aspect.

After that we drove 90 minutes to an elephant ride that was very disappointing and rather upsetting. The elephants are forced to take tourists on a ride and for a 90 min drive we had a 20 minute ride. I also felt terrible for the elephants as I suspect they are beaten with the hooks the riders have in their hand. I should have researched more before the trip and asked that we go to a sanctuary instead of doing a ride. We then drove another 45 minutes to a touristy orchid farm where we only spent 20 minutes there. So it was a lot of driving for not a lot of sightseeing. Lastly we did a raft ride which was nice but not that special. If you are booking a day trip make sure you know what you are getting and if all of the driving will be worth it.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank amydordek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiling_albino, Owner at Smiling Albino - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Hi Amy and Steve, we are sorry to hear of your disappointment and do appreciate your feedback here. It is a rare review and we have examined every aspect of your trip. We don’t usually visit touristy elephant camps or orchid farms on our trips, and in this case were trying to find the best fit with the time available and your interests, and we can see that the experience did not live up to your, or our own expectations.
Our trips are carefully planned and tailored for each guest. The challenges of peak high season can sometimes interfere with these plans as on your Bangkok excursion on Christmas day and your Chiang Mai adventure on New Years Eve. In both cases, our guides made changes to the itinerary to avoid crowded sites and heavy vehicle traffic. They had learned from you that these were important concerns of yours.
On a happier note, we are pleased you enjoyed your Smiling Albino guides. The training and experience they have are part of the crucial difference that make trips memorable and sets us apart from other touring companies.
Once again we do appreciate your comments and thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

This company was fabulous!!!! They heard what we wanted to do and customized the trip for us. Fabulous guides, unique ideas and wonderful surprises for us!! They could not have done a better job in any way!!!!!!!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Sfpol40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiling_albino, Owner at Smiling Albino - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Wow! Thank you so much for the rave review! We'll pass your kind words along to the entire team. Fabulous guests make our work so much easier. We hope this trip's experiences remains with you forever. We'd be overjoyed to host the next big family adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Our guide Pete tailored our time in Bangkok to our interests, allowing us to cover a lot of ground in our short 3 days! We were greeted in our hotel room with a personalized guide book from Smiling Albino that included a variety of recommendations around the city. We traveled by foot, BTS, tuk-tuk, city boat, long tail boat, and taxi to incredible pagodas, the flower market, the Grand Palace, and through canals. Pete knew a ton of history at each landmark, as well as the best restaurants and sights that weren’t overrun by tourists so that we could get the best local experience! Would definitely use Smiling Albino when traveling back to SE Asia.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank bridgetsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiling_albino, Public Relations Manager at Smiling Albino - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Thanks so much for this great review Bridget! We are so happy you and Thomas enjoyed your trip with us. Your experience in Bangkok is exactly what we try to custom make for each one of our guests, and we are glad Pete showed you both a good time! We look forward to helping you plan any Southeast Asian adventures in the future! Vietnam next? :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews