We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice cozy house with good views”
other travellers have booked this property
Lara's Dream - from the hammock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lara's Dream - from the hammock
Lara's Dream - From the ocean Lara's Dream
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Lara's Dream - from the hammock
Lara's Dream - From the ocean
Lara's Dream
Lara's Dream - kitchen
Lara's Dream - dining room and kitchen from living room
Lara's Dream - dining room
Lara's Dream - living room
Lara's Dream - bedroom
Lara's Dream - bathroom
Lara's Dream - Bedroom
Lara's Dream - sunset from the deck
Lara's Dream and Beach Panorama Looking West
Lara's Dream - the beach
Lara's Dream - deck
Lara's Dream - from the beach
Lara's Dream - from the beach at night
Lara's Dream - humming bird from the deck
Lara's Dream - the beach
Lara's Dream - woodpecker from the deck
Lara's Dream - From the deck
Lara's Dream - From the deck
Lara's Dream - from the deck (dive boats out at the reef)
Lara's Dream - From the deck
Lara's Dream - From the hammock
Lara's Dream - from the ocean
Lara's Dream - from the ocean
Lara's Dream - humming bird from the deck
Lara's Dream - sunset from the deck
Lara's Dream - Sunset from the deck
Lara's Dream - wading bird from the deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Roatan, Bay Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicki D
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice cozy house with good views”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Lara's dream is exactly what it looks like, no fake pictures. Its right on the water and sits high up (you can lock the gated stairs + security system) so you feel extra safe at night like a tree house. The place itself was clean and had everything we needed for the two of us on our honeymoon. The caretaker, Leonora was very attentive and sweet to us and we felt as though anything we needed, we could have.

We really enjoyed our hammock time and ate breakfast on the porch in the mornings. The neighborhood is relatively quiet, with a mix of locals and friendly expats with docile dogs who love providing extra security. The beach itself you can't really "lay out" on unless you wear bugspray that keeps no-see-um's away, but not an issue so much with flies and mosquitos. Its very shallow for roughly 40 yards out with starfish urchins and young coral so you have to make your way past that to snorkel and swim, there are some sandy patches by the mangroves to do this. Snorkeling is better down your way than it is toward the restaurants as a side note. Can walk to some restaurants right on your beach or walk to the end of your road and hop in a bus / cab for cheap to west end to swim on the beaches and hang out but you're also far enough away that you don't hear anything from that hub so it was a good distance for us. Also relatively close to coxen hole for groceries, too!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jim b
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Private quiet and secure....”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and spent a week at Laras dream and we loved it. The location is great for us. Its away from the busy west end and west bay but close enough to go visit. A couple of good restaurants within walking distance. You can snorkel right out front if you swim past the boat channel. The neighborhood is good and friendly. We rented a car and saw the whole island. Thats the way to go. I would rent the house again for sure....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location on the water.
Liked least: Not a great walking spot.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
We're so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to welcoming you again on a future visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipermora...
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“GREAT Location!”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I cant really say enough about this rental. The owner, Laraine, was so very helpful about preparing to go to Roatan.....she has a GREAT write up she sends to you after you place the reservation! And Leonora, the "girl on site" who takes care of the place was very forthcoming and knowledgeable. Absolutely no issues there! They provided big 5 gallon water bottles for water, a blowup kayak and a inflatable paddleboard. Lara's Dream has a washer and dryer, refrigerator, air conditioning in the bedroom, a microwave, coffee maker, and THEY ALL WORK!
The security is top-notch, on the first day, Carlos, of Bulldog Security stopped by and introduced himself, told us what to expect, etc. A good guy. People back home were aghast we were coming to Honduras for vacation (they think its SO unsafe!), but we felt more safe here than on ANY other island we have visited in our travels. The people are nice, friendly, and helpful.
The rental itself was wonderfully situated on Sandy Bay, not too far from West End and West Bay...maybe a 5 minute drive. We didn't really hear much of the barking dogs that others seem to have mentioned...yea, there was some, but not much...all dogs seemed friendly. It is a residential area, not a lot of traffic. Lara's dream is right on the beach at Sandy Bay....you walk out of the home, maybe 40 feet to the water. I snorkeled right from the home.....its shallow for a couple hundred feet, then, very good snorkeling!
The snorkeling right off the home is some of the best I have seen in the Caribbean...and Ive snorkeled Turks & Caicos, St Martin, St John, Anegada, etc. The reef here seems to be more alive than any of the other locations. If you are a diver, theres ALOT of dive outfits who bring folks out to dive...literally hundreds of places around the island.
For food, we ate at the Beach Grille, was good, quite alot of places in West End, which I wont mention here, but will review later.
Some tips:
1. We weren't thrilled with Coxens Hole. We did grocery shopping at Eldon's after the airport, but avoided it....very busy, crazy drivers, etc....
2. We rented a car.....its just easier....used Avis.
3. Its hot here.....be prepared.....you're going to somewhere tropical!
4. There are 22 Lempira in a dollar. Be prepared, when given change, to get a handful of Lemps for your money. They only use paper money here....yea, they have a bill for one Lemp...so, a bill amounting to 4-1/2 cents! That being said, the US dollar is accepted nearly everywhere, just be prepared to get your change in Lemps!
5. Bring bug repellent...sometimes the sand flies can be bothersome.
6. Take a drive to the east end of the island.....some great views, much less crowded.
7. Island power....same as the US... no need for transformers or converters.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy, but the close proximity to amenities.
Liked least: The trip to get there....tough to get there from Northern New England...2 days!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2016
Thanks so much for the wonderful, detailed review, Kevin. I’m sure it will be helpful to future guests. You’re so right about the “Honduras” fear… but as you know now, having been to Roatan, it could not be more distanced from the mainland in anything but actual geographical distance…. In fact, if you met any island locals you will often hear them say they wish the island was still British as they themselves do not like being linked to Honduras!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sande98
NEW YORK ,USA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“PEACEFUL COSY BEACH COTTAGE”
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The cottage is right on the water. It has everything you need, unless you are a TV addict.
The sticky locks and alarm can be a bit much but you get used to it. There's WD 40 under the sink.
Best things: all most all the windows face the ocean, as does the wrap around porch. There are beach lounges downstairs to use along with water shoes, toys and of course my favorite a washer and dryer. The road down is a cement one right to about 100 feet from the house. When you get to know Roatan you will see why this is so great. There are 2 resorts a few minute walk or drive up the beach both have good food and people. Town is a short drive for anything else. The cd music collection was quite a surprise and joy to us.
The only negatives, The AC is very loud you can't sleep with it on. The house will get quite warm when closed up if you go out all day.The other things are the sand fleas and sea grass.Spray and respray when you get out of the water. There is a small amount of barking and we did hear a rooster a couple of times but nowhere as much as other places we have rented on the island. The electronic safe doesn't work but you can still use the key. The owner says some of these things will be changed so I would ask about them they may no longer be a consideration
Both the owner and property manager are right on top of things, just ask.
A small momma cat from next door was on the front porch the first morning when we got up I think the people before us fed her and she thinks she also lives there. I like cats, but was trying not to feed her but caved, when the second morning she brought her kitten.
You can have your morning coffee and watch the horse back riders go by on the beach (they sometimes come back at sunset).
A week is not enough next time we will make it 2.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: The only AC was in the bedroom and very loud
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such a detailed review. I'm sure it will be most helpful to potential future guests. I'm happy to report that thanks to your notifying us of a couple of these issues – so, much appreciated – a new safe and A/C unit are on their way to the island. Shopping can be bit of a challenge there, so sometimes the best option is to send replacements from the US which, of course, takes a little longer, but hopefully these will have arrived and be installed within the next couple of weeks.
We’re so pleased you had a good time and look forward to hosting you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinnacle2...
Frelighsburg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful on the beach quite location!!!”
Reviewed 6 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved everything about Lara's Dream!!!
The location is perfect, quite, on the beach, short walk to two diving resorts with good restaurants open all day and only a short taxi drive to the very animated West End!!
Good snorkeling right off the several piers and swimming distance or even interesting right in front of the house after a short walk in the shallow water(water shoes a must). It is also possible to catch a boat at the two diving resorts to go snorkeling farther out at sea!
We had a little rough weather for a few days but sitting on the porch watching the high waves was fun. Lots of good books and music (CDS) at the house and all you need to cook good meals. Herbie is a neighbor who goes fishing everyday from whom you can buy fresh fish! We spent 3 weeks here and enjoyed every minute! Leonora, who takes care of the house, is very helpful and can fill you in on everything you need!
We will come back for sure!!!
P.S. We had our small dog with us who also enjoyed his stay!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The direct location on the beach & view.
Liked least: The mosquitos & sand fleas.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing