We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Wonderful Experience!!!

Our snorkeling excursion was the best thing we did on our cruise. Everything is arranged for you... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
whateveryousaygoes
Upachaya Pontoon Snorkel

Sailing on Symphony of the Seas, we booked this excursion independently after reading the positive... read more

Reviewed 11 December 2018
dcrawford2
,
Rockledge, Florida
Read all 367 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Roatan
from US$35.00
More Info
from US$36.00
More Info
from US$35.00
More Info
from US$45.00
More Info
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
330
29
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
330
29
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pontoon boat snorkel tour vegetarian lunch octopus tour of the grounds lion fish eco lodge huge starfish star fish beautiful property foot drop coleslaw sea life snorkeling experience delicious meal mahogany bay the reefs
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 367 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018

If you want a cruise ship excusion away from the crowds over a pristine reef, this is the excusion to choose. The directions to meet the driver outside the port entrance were very easy to follow. The ride to the property was a short distance from Coxen Hole.

We were met by the owner who gave a lovely tour of the property pointing out bananas, pineapples and other vegetation. There were only 7 people on our snorkel trip over a beautiful, well preserved reef. We saw fish, starfish and many other sea creatures. Lunch was delicious.

This is a wonderful trip for a great price. Do yourself a favor and book this for your next cruise stop in Roatan.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Scooteepuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We were met at the port by their driver. She was very friendly and professional (sorry I forgot your name). She took us to Upachaya. Upon arrival we were suited up and led to our kayaks. Our guide did a great job on our snorkeling tour. After we were done snorkeling and kayaking we had a nice refreshing meal. We could not ask for a better excursion. Thanks Upachaya.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank thisoldcub1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara W, Owner at Upachaya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Eric, thank you for your review and for visiting us here at Upachaya. We appreciate your comments, and happy to hear you had a great time. Please come back in the future should you find your way back to the island.

Warm Regards,
Barb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

What an unbelievable experience! After a short walk out of the cruise terminal we promptly found our driver with the easy to follow directions that were emailed to us upon booking. We then took a short drive, in which we were thoroughly educated about the island of Roatan and the people, to the Upachaya property. When we pulled up Barb the property owner was there waiting for us, after greetings she walked us through the property explaining many of the wonderful things that she has been able to do there since taking ownership. The tour ended us on the end of her boardwalk where we boarded our kayaks with our guides and headed out to the mangroves and then out to the reef. After tying up our kayaks we hopped in the the pristine water to see some of the most beautiful untouched coral reef that we had ever seen. The snorkelling was probably about an hour to an hour and a half. We then headed back to shore where Barb was again waiting for us this time with some bananas that she had pick for us from the property. Next we enjoyed a great homemade lunch that was prepared for us. Barb sat and chatted with us while we ate. Before we left to go back to the ship we asked to see the rooms that she had available, which like the rest of the property were also pristine. We will be going back to Upachaya ASAP and next time will be a much longer stay than just the few short hours we were able to stay this time!

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Nic V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara W, Owner at Upachaya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thanks for spending time with us and for posting your review. We very much enjoyed your visit and would welcome you coming back for that longer stay. Come in season and you'll get lots of additional fresh fruits from the trees: coconuts, mangoes, cashew nuts, and more. Thanks again, and we look forward to your return.
Barb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

We had a group of 8 from a cruise ship and wanted a smaller trip to experience snorkeling the reef. This fit the bill perfectly! Barbara was so quick to respond to emails and so flexible as our group number changed and even what they wanted to do. She has several options - -we ended up all riding the pontoon boat and some snorkeled and some stayed on the boat and took photos and videos -- and just relaxed. She gave complete instructions for us when leaving the ship where we were to find the driver, Samuel. He was easy to spot and took us in a comfortable van thru the town and answered our many questions as we drove about 25 minutes or so to Upachaya. I do feel the need to let you know the road leading to Upachaya is run down, muddy and buildings are in poor condition - -you begin to wonder about the beautiful scenes you saw on Barbara's website! But as you turn that final corner you see lush foliage and well kept cabins and her lodge. Barbara was there to greet us and so gracious. She took time to explain the beautiful plants and their medicinal properties. She had drinks for sale and showed us the kitchen as well as meeting the cook preparing our delicious meal for after our water excursion. There is a beautiful wooden walkway thru the Mangroves to the water's edge where we got onto the pontoon boat. The diver and another man (so sorry I forgot their names!) were so helpful and friendly -- they assisted those wanting to snorkel and answered lots of our questions about the surroundings, the reef and sea life. It was a wonderful experience. We went back to the lodge afterwards and enjoyed a wonderful lunch - light, healthy and very filling! We ate in a screened in thatch-roofed building where Barbara teaches many classes including yoga. She gave us the history of her coming to Roatan from the US -- she had to clear out bush and brush and from scratch, add electricity and running water; even bring in so many of the materials used to build her beautiful place -- she is an amazing woman!! She is living her dream and it was an inspiration to hear her talk and to meet her. I purchased her online cookbook with many many delicious healthy recipes.... I highly recommend it even if you do not book her tour. I hope I have given you an overview of this lovely day we spent at Upachaya. Samuel returned us to the port in plenty of time -- they are very careful to know the ship's port time and location -- she does an excellent job of communication. We tipped them all - they live in poor conditions and really depend on the tourist trade for income -- and it is not an all year long income. They are very warm individuals and made us feel very safe and welcome. ENJOY UPACHAYA!!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Luv_traveling0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara W, Owner at Upachaya, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Thank you for this review. We certainly enjoyed having your group join us here at Upachaya. You were all such a delight to share what we do here. I love sharing information about my gardens, and your group was so accommodating to allow me to rattle on. Kenry is our boat captain, and Vidal our first mate, that took you out for the tour.

It is folks such as yourselves that really draws Upachaya to her. She has been my dream creating,and nurturing, and it warms my heart to have others appreciate nature as well.

I do hope you all come back some time, and enjoy that Recipe Book!

Barb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

We visited Upachaya as a side excursion on our cruise. Our travel to Barbara's place made us a little uneasy. The area out of town is a 'little' unkept...but when we got there it was just lovely!! The grounds and plants were beautiful. Barbara, the owner and host was gracious and very informative of the native plants grown there. The guest house and pool were just lovely!!!
I was brave enough to go snorkeling for the first time!!! SO much fun!! The reefs were nice...lots of star fish! The pontoon boat was a little worn, but we felt felt very safe and secure with the captain and assistant. After the snorkeling we were hungry. The cook prepared a delicious and nutrious lunch that came from at least partially from the vegetation there on the grounds!!! Would do it all again!!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara W, Owner at Upachaya, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Sarah, thank you for choosing Upachaya to be your very first snorkeling experience. Yes, the drive to Upachaya can be a bit unsettling, particularly for people that may not have experienced 3rd world countries previously, but as you stated, once you get past the unkept areas, you will find our little jewel, Upachaya. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves, and hope you come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews