We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Better than the photos! Wonderful stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Main King size en-suite bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main King size en-suite bedroom
Cottage from the garden Plant filled comfotable cypress patio.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Main King size en-suite bedroom
Cottage from the garden
Plant filled comfotable cypress patio.
Very well equipped open plan Kitchen and breakfast bar.
Graden Queen bedroom.
Twin bedroom
parking entrance from the quiet road
bathroom with high powered twin showers.
Ping pong, darts and parking area.
View from main car entrance.
garden view from the cypress patio
Santa Fe fire place
Living room
8 place dining table.
patio and front door.
Flyin over Lake Atitlan
View 3 mins walk from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan, Solola Department, Western Highlands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
KATHY J
Waterloo
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Better than the photos! Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 22 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Everything was just right for our family of 4 at this home. More than enough room, excellent water pressure, electricity and wifi - all reliable. Very clean. Pleasant gardener who was attentive and friendly.
The host Matthew and his family were very welcoming. The shuttle Matthew arranged for us from Guatemala City airport was great and met up without a hitch.
Same with our return trip.
This house is away from the hustle and bustle of the main part of town which we appreciated each time we returned back after a busy day. Felt like a peaceful sanctuary!
Only issue was we had to leave too soon!! Would most definitely stay here again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina F
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Adorable, super comfortable home away from home”
Reviewed 28 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

This lovely house, located in a quiet street within 5 minutes' walking distance from the beach and within 20 mins of Panajachel´s main street, was the perfect place for our family to stay. I particularly loved the second floor master bedroom, with a big, comfortable bed and two balconies where we could comfortably sit and read or chat for hours. We found Matthew, the owner, to be super friendly and helpful. The house was equipped with everything we could think of, including kitchen utensils, spices and condiments, books to read, very useful information on local services, etc. We loved it so much we definitely plan to return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJCPat
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Matt was a wonderful host,communication with him was very easy and he provided great info. The house was perfect for what the family needed and well stocked. Will defiantly go back if we are in the area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2016
Thank you. Hope to see you again soon. Matt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivierabu...
Orange County
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Comfortable and nice location”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Stayed here mid March 2016 with my husband, parents,sister and auntie. Overall we found it to be a very comfortable stay.

When we arrived, there was no one there. Luckily we had phone access and I called the number that was provided to me. Upon entering, we enjoyed how green and lovely the yard is kept up. Lots of tall trees, grass, flowers. There was plenty of space for our van inside the property. The property is private and gated and we felt completely safe.

The inside was very clean and neat. The beds were comfortable and the showers working very well. The kitchen was well equipped to our needs. We enjoyed the tv and dvd's provided, the bikes that were provided, and the convenience of the washing machine. My father enjoyed the relaxing swing in the hammock, while we got massages done on site. Ask the owner for her info, shes great. The weather was great so we enjoyed setting up lunch outside in the patio. I like how there's a table and chairs out there.
My husband and I stayed upstairs in the master room. We had a nice balcony but upon arrival we noticed there were bats or bats nest there. We didn't want to make a big deal about it upon arrival but after the trip we realized how it would have been nice to have enjoyed the balcony but because the bats were there, we didn't feel comfortable. It was also hot at night and we would have liked to open up the windows or door but we were afraid the bats would come in. If you book and you see this, tell the owner get rid of the bats. The ceiling fan helped much though. There was no view of the lake.
The location is as described, few minute walk from the lake, near the cemetery.

Overall, my family was very satisfied and content with the home. Its nicer in person than the pictures. Everything seems to be well taken care of. Its definitely a place for small groups or family. Nothing fancy, just comfortable private and a relaxing place. It definitely lives up to its description and more. I recommend this place for family and small group gatherings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the privacy of the property
Liked least: the bats that were on the balcony
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Thank you so much. We do always ask our guests to call or write to us to state an arrival time so that we can be waiting to meet guests and show them around. I live 2 minutes from this property and so does the cleaner / cook , Juana. So it's never any problem if you arrive without prior warning. The bats are now gone. We didn't want to kill them and they are good for keeping mosquitoes away. We put a net up after the babies flew away so that they couldn't nest again. We have a very warm down duvet, but now give guest the option of a cooler blanket. Hope you can return, regards Matt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hansondeb...
Ames, Iowa
2 reviews
“Comfortable, clean, well equipped cottage run by friendly, nice man named Matt”
Reviewed 16 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

About a 5 minute walk from the lake or downtown. Easy access via 'tuk tuk' taxi's. A week included bedding change in mid week, use of a washing machine with a clothesline, room for 3 vehicles to park. Small but well maintained yard. House was clean and well maintained.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Hi. We're so glad that you enjoyed the house. Hope you return soon. Matt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing